We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, well priced city centre hotel”
Review of Hotel Mayorazgo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Mayorazgo
Ranked #178 of 436 Hotels in Madrid
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great location, well priced city centre hotel”
Reviewed December 4, 2013

Had a family trip to here and found it at a bargain price.
Great location -close to everything and just off the Gran Via. Lots of bars and restaurants (of all types) within a very short walk.
Good sized rooms with well equipped bathroom, good choice of hot and cold food at breakfast.
Lovely bar staff.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sultanabran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,778 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    515
    683
    371
    137
    72
See reviews for
481
679
77
119
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2013

Great location. Staff seemed friendly enough. Stayed with two colleagues - floor 6, floor 4 and floor 2, and all suffered from noise. Two colleagues had ill-fitting connecting doors to next room and were disturbed by noise. One was awoken at midnight by couple arriving next door. Sounded like they were in the same room with every word clearly audible. During the night, disturbed by sound of man in next room breathing (not snoring). Sounded like he was in same bed. Very disconcerting. The head of my bed (floor 6) was against wall ajoining bathroom. Man next door had large bladder so awoke in morning to what sounded like a waterfall! Sink was inches from my pillow and I could hear every ching of metal and flow of water as he filled the sink to shave. As if my head was in the sink. Despite the location and good breakfast, I would never stay in this hotel again. If you do use it, take earplugs.

Room Tip: Room 604, 606 & 608 are single and have rooftop balconies & big bathrooms, but you hear bath...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GadgetGal G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2013

This hotel was just what I expected. It had a location close to where I had a meeting, so I could walk to the agency. Also, it was just a couple blocks off the Gran Via, the main shopping, eating, etc. street. Had breakfast there, was typical European breakfast, also had quick meal in the lounge area which was quite good & reasonably priced. They did have a mix-up & didn't order my return shuttle to the airport, they called the shuttle company & found out the hotel staff didn't order it, so I had to take a taxi, which cost a bit more, but I did get to the airport in plenty of time.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank love-the-mountains
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marrakech, Morocco
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2013

The location and price for this hotel is good. It did advertise a hotel shuttle but when I called the reception had no idea what I was talking about. The shuttle was one of the main reasons I booked this hotel. I ended up paying 80E roundtrip for a taxi. When I returned and tried to sort this all out, I was told there is a shared shuttle for 12E back and forth. If you're considering this hotel make sure to sort out transportation issues ahead of time. I had a single room with a large bathroom, cable TV and a decent breakfast. My room wasn't loud but was near the elevators so there was some noise. Overall this is a good downtown location, within walking distance to many things and a good price.

Room Tip: Request a room away from the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marocmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Pola, Spain
Level Contributor
48 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

Next to Gran Via, the location of the hotel is excellent. Well kept and clean the hotel though does need to invest and refurb. The rooms are a good size but traditional, same can be said with bathroom. Staff average, a smile costs nothing. Best asset it's superb location which is a big plus point.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Ian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid
1 review
Reviewed October 23, 2013

only one serious tip is related to noise from near rooms!!
One side it was probably due to comunication door between rooms! Other source of noise was the bath room window and thin bath door not able to reduce noise.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Stefano L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013

We stayed 3 nights at the Best Western Hotel Mayorazgo during 28.08-31.08.2013 . The hotel is very well positioned . Gran Via is full of people until after midnight . There are many teenagers and young cheerful, talking all the time. On the Gran Via , to market Spain, 150m from the hotel is a pub where you can drink juice and Mahou beer for 1Euro the pint . In general, life in Madrid is much cheaper than in Barcelona or Bilbao.
Breakfast is rich, as for a 4 star hotel and the bar can get ice in the afternoon . At the reception are very friendly, gave us a map of the city . They don't took us extra money for a fourth person ( our little girl of 8 years ) .
Triple room was wide, was located on the ground floor with window to rear alleyway , it had worn furniture . The air conditioning did not I used to think was cool .
I have not parked at the hotel, I just stopped the car in front to unload luggage . Then I took the car on a street about a kilometer where parking was free near the white line (40.422677 , -3.719511 ) . You can leave the car there without worrying if it is worth more than 20000Euro , but careful not to crash after 22h00 women who sell sex .

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vdaniel68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Centro
Espahotel Gran Via
Espahotel Gran Via
#182 of 436 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
Malasana
Senator Gran Via 70 Spa Hotel
Malasana
Tryp Madrid Plaza Espana Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Petit Palace Plaza Espana
Petit Palace Plaza Espana
#108 of 436 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 692 reviews
Centro
Hotel Santo Domingo Madrid
Centro
Hotel Exe El Coloso
Hotel Exe El Coloso
#309 of 436 in Madrid
3.5 of 5 bubbles 839 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mayorazgo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mayorazgo

Property: Hotel Mayorazgo
Address: Calle Flor Baja 3, 28013 Madrid, Spain (Formerly BEST WESTERN Mayorazgo)
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Centro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#123 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Mayorazgo 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Mayorazgo's elegant rooms have a flat-screen TV, safe and minibar. The hotel is next to Madrid's Gran Via, a short walk from Plaza Espana and the Royal Palace. Plaza de Espana and Santo Domingo Metro Stations are both 150 metres away. They provide easy access to the Art Triangle, the Retiro Park and Madrid Barajas Airport. The Hotel Mayorazgo has a Mediterranean restaurant and a bar, with classic design and a relaxing fountain. There is an elegant piano bar with live music. Each room at the hotel is air-conditioned and spacious. Rooms come with a trouser press and a full private bathroom with a hairdryer. The Hotel Mayorazgo has a gift shop and a tour desk. The hotel can also arrange airport transfers, car rental and packed lunches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Mayorazgo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mayorazgo Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing