We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heart of the city location but an old hotel with gr8 breakfast”
Review of Hotel Mayorazgo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Mayorazgo
Ranked #178 of 435 Hotels in Madrid
Delhi, Delhi, India
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Heart of the city location but an old hotel with gr8 breakfast”
Reviewed July 9, 2013

This hotel is okay sorts but has a great location. At the heart of the hussle bussle a good price to take this hotel. It misses ramp for use of wheelchair and baby push carts- we had a problem during our stay in the month of June 2013 with the baby push car. Great breakfast.....must njoy the same.

Also beware of the taxi drivers in madrid.....thye overcharge you while reaching this hotel......check your supplements charge

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hurrshk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,869 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    557
    708
    384
    140
    80
See reviews for
512
710
81
131
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Fullerton, California
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

We just returned from a six night stay at this hotel. We were on tour throughout so our six-day stay was divided into three parts. the hotel kept one our suitcases while we were on tour. Had no problem at all retrieving the suitcase we left. As everyone noted the salient point of this hotel is its location. Also the front desk staff is fantastic and helped answered a myriad of questions and make reservations for a tablao and a tour to Aranjuez. We had bought tickets through the Internet to see the National Ballet of Spain and they were kind enough to call for us regarding obtaining the actual tickets. You can tell they have years of experience because they do not get rattle very easily and are very good natured. Hotel is very clean and has a classic world charm. I would recommend this hotel and would definitely stay there when we return to Spain

Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Ibis C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Great location. Very close to center , shopping and tube lines. Old style hotel but in good conditions. Nice and big rooms. Nice breakfast. Negative point : there was no parking place for car ! need to use ( and pay ... ) nearby parking

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank JCM6713
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Reasonably well maintained though old.
Location unbeatable, smack in the middle of the hot spot in Madrid. Walk out about 200m and the Iberico Museum is there. Plenty of shops around.
The single room that I stayed has a balcony bigger that my room.
Bathroom is clean and with bath tub.
Breakfast considerably good, not fantastic.
What I didn't like is the flight of stairs at the entrance. Had to carry my luggage up the stairs without help. No porter to be seen during check in and check out time. Saw some old people struggling with their bags there. Approximately 10 steps. The lift is available from lobby to room though.
My room was facing the back. Middle of the night towards dawn, I could hear the garbage collector truck collecting garbage and banging sounds.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jentmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2013

And that's about it. Beds were very stiff ( good if you like that) and breakfast was ok. The walls were a little thin. i could easily hear the tv next door. But the location is good. Right off the main strip, close to parks, Restaurants, subway and theatre.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank chopstick1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 1, 2013 via mobile

The location is great, close to the gran via and subway stations, and a 30 minute walk from the Prado museum and the Retiro Park. The hotel is old fashioned but clean, housekeeping is splendid. Room and bathrooom are spacious. The downside is what most people have mentioned here, which is the soundproofing. This is not worthy of a four star hotel. You can literally hear everything the people next door do or say, so sleeping in is not an option if you have noisy neighbors.

The hotel does not have a pool, though stated otherwise on some travel websites. Breakfast is pretty good. The coffee is from a machine (-), eggs and bacon are awful compared to British hotels (-), but the fresh orange juice and wide variety of fruit makes up for that.

The staff is not multilingual. They speak spanish and about twenty words of French and English, moreover, they did not seem very pleased when addressed in any language other than Spanish.

TV only has about twelve channels, of which eight in Spanish. It also had RAI, German Eurosport, and the only English channels were round the clock news channels such as Sky News. No BBC, no movie channels, no music channels ... Again, not worthy of a four star hotel.

Conclusion: okay for its money, but keep in mind that a 4 star hotel in Spain is very different from a 4 star hotel in Belgium/Netherlands/Germany/Britain and many other Northern European countries. We did enjoy our stay, and we liked the beds.

Helpful?
1 Thank Frederick M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Espoo, Finland
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013

A nice place to stay, although soundproofing was really quite poor, we could hear all kinds of noises from the rooms next to ours and the corridor.
Not nearly as old and run-down as some of the reviews might suggest, actually quite distinguished in classical kind of way.
Great location, close to almost everything.
Breakfast was good and diverse, one morning there was a bit of a chaos with too many people coming in at the same time, food running out temporarily, malfunctioning coffeemachines etc.
Hotel and our room were clean and tidy and well maintained, although once the cleaning lady forgot to leave us bathtowels and hand soap, no biggie.
We recommend this hotel, good value for the price.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cityholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Malasana
Hotel Vincci Via 66
Hotel Vincci Via 66
#116 of 435 in Madrid
1,461 reviews
Centro
Hotel Exe El Coloso
Hotel Exe El Coloso
#306 of 435 in Madrid
856 reviews
Malasana
Senator Gran Via 70 Spa Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Hotel Santo Domingo Madrid
Malasana
Tryp Madrid Plaza Espana Hotel
Centro
Espahotel Gran Via
Espahotel Gran Via
#195 of 435 in Madrid
417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mayorazgo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mayorazgo

Property: Hotel Mayorazgo
Address: Calle Flor Baja 3, 28013 Madrid, Spain (Formerly BEST WESTERN Mayorazgo)
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Centro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#125 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Mayorazgo 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Mayorazgo's elegant rooms have a flat-screen TV, safe and minibar. The hotel is next to Madrid's Gran Via, a short walk from Plaza Espana and the Royal Palace. Plaza de Espana and Santo Domingo Metro Stations are both 150 metres away. They provide easy access to the Art Triangle, the Retiro Park and Madrid Barajas Airport. The Hotel Mayorazgo has a Mediterranean restaurant and a bar, with classic design and a relaxing fountain. There is an elegant piano bar with live music. Each room at the hotel is air-conditioned and spacious. Rooms come with a trouser press and a full private bathroom with a hairdryer. The Hotel Mayorazgo has a gift shop and a tour desk. The hotel can also arrange airport transfers, car rental and packed lunches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Mayorazgo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mayorazgo Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing