We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Budget Hotel”
Review of Hotel Mayorazgo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Mayorazgo
Ranked #170 of 438 Hotels in Madrid
Reviewed November 9, 2012

This hotel was centrally located for all major attractions in Madrid, close to a bus stop for the sight seeing bus tour, and a few minutes from the metro.
Though it was a 4 star hotel, I agree with former reviewers that it was very dated but it was an old building and not claiming to be a modern hotel. We found the rooms very clean, just a bit old fashioned in decor, which didn't bother us at all. The walls were very thin though and you could indeed hear your neighbour's general conversation. A previous reviewer says there were no tea and coffee facilities but the guide in each room clearly stated that you could request a hospitality tray. We did this and a tray with kettle, tea, coffee, milk and sugar was delivered up to our room. This was replenished daily or on request throughout our stay.
The breakfast selection was varied if very basic and poor quality but adequate enough for the price we paid. The tv was a waste of time as there were no English speaking channels and very poor reception but we didn't go to Spain to sit in the hotel watching tv all weekend! It would have been nice to have had at least 1 English news channel though that we could occasionally watch.
Staff were always very friendly and helpful at all times, waiting staff in the breakfast room very quick and efficient. One or 2 had difficulty in understanding English but all tried their best. The piano bar in the evening was a very relaxing place to have a drink with friends who we travelled with and they served very appetising snacks and sandwiches.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dizzzzyblonde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,021)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

240 - 246 of 2,021 reviews

Reviewed October 29, 2012

This hotel deserves no more than one star with the exception that the staff works to be helpful. The lobby area is dirty with old, stained furniture. The carpeting cannot be cleaned. Rooms are small and old, as are the bathrooms. It is located in a very noisy area with a police station across the street and a "girlie show" next door. We were awakened at 2 am with shouting, laughing, and sirens outside that went on for over an hour. The place is comparable to a youth hostel.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Grams69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2012

Just got back from a long weekend in Madrid. Stayed at this hotel for 4 nights, the location was excellent - just off Gran Via with its shops and restuarants and so close to the Palace, Opera House and to the Madrid City Tours stop. BUT this is definitely not a 4 star hotel - the lounge / bar and resaurant areas are fine but the rooms are very dated - the bedroom was okish, out of date furniture, very dark with poor lighting, no air conditioning, no tea or coffee facilities but it was clean and tidy. The bathroom was a mish mash, an old pink toilet with a modern white sink, a shower over the bath with a curtain and poor quality tiling.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndreaK2107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

We came back from a long weekend staying at this hotel.
I would not class it as a 4 star. We arrived Friday morning and checked in at midday. We were given a room on the first floor overlooking the front of the hotel. The room had a leaky radiator that dripped all night and the walls were so thin we could hear the couple next door brushing their teeth and hocking up phlegm all night it was disgusting. The pipes chugg away all night and the maids vacuum the corridors at 7.30 am! We went down to reception on Saturday morning and they said to go back at midday and they would change our room. They kept to their word and we was given a room on the 3rd floor. The room was much better and much quieter so we went out for the day as planned. When we got back to the hotel we opened the door to our room and was hit by the most disgusting smell. We tracked it down to the bathroom and it seemed every time you ran the tap it would let off a smell like the sewers. I opened the window to get some air and saw another guest in the room above was having the same problem.
The hotel is very dated and even though we had bed and breakfast we chose to go out and pay for it as we had a look the first morning but didn't feel brave enough to try it.
The location is very good as you are very central but if I went again I think I would pay a bit more to find somewhere that really was a 4 star.
The reception staff were very good although one of them did like the sound of his own voice.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pop F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012

The hotel has to be renovated completly, some rooms are in very poor shape.
Also the linnens are very old and should be changed for more modern stuff.
The bath room do not have all the "goodies" of a 4 star hotel, even not of a 2 star hotel.

The breackfast was fine and the reception staff was OK.

Room Tip: You have to see the room before accepting the one you are offer, ask for a quiet room of non smoking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank stoneJerusalem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

I stayed at this hotel with my partner for 3 nights, the hotel looks like a cave, the room with no AIR CONDITIONER and the outside temperature almost 40 degrees, Reception offer us a change room, and it was even worse, Breakfast very poor and bad quality.not enough hot water in the room, the bathroom very old without ventilation and last but not least, the decoration is awfull.

I do not recomend thís hotel to any one, the reception staff very rude to us´.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sevillaberlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2012

The hotel is in a good location as its central and very near a metro station. The reception staff were quite rude and abrupt and we had to press them for details like where our room and the lift were! Room was average and reasonably clean.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Veggie83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Centro
Emperador Hotel Madrid
Emperador Hotel Madrid
#144 of 438 in Madrid
2,317 reviews
Centro
Petit Palace Plaza Espana
Petit Palace Plaza Espana
#114 of 438 in Madrid
777 reviews
Malasana
Hotel Vincci Via 66
Hotel Vincci Via 66
#117 of 438 in Madrid
1,521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Hotel Santo Domingo Madrid
Centro
Espahotel Gran Via
Espahotel Gran Via
#200 of 438 in Madrid
448 reviews
Malasana
Courtyard Madrid Princesa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mayorazgo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mayorazgo

Address: Calle Flor Baja 3, 28013 Madrid, Spain (Formerly BEST WESTERN Mayorazgo)
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Centro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#122 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
Price Range: $71 - $657 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Mayorazgo 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Mayorazgo's elegant rooms have a flat-screen TV, safe and minibar. The hotel is next to Madrid's Gran Via, a short walk from Plaza Espana and the Royal Palace. Plaza de Espana and Santo Domingo Metro Stations are both 150 metres away. They provide easy access to the Art Triangle, the Retiro Park and Madrid Barajas Airport. The Hotel Mayorazgo has a Mediterranean restaurant and a bar, with classic design and a relaxing fountain. There is an elegant piano bar with live music. Each room at the hotel is air-conditioned and spacious. Rooms come with a trouser press and a full private bathroom with a hairdryer. The Hotel Mayorazgo has a gift shop and a tour desk. The hotel can also arrange airport transfers, car rental and packed lunches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com, Splitty, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Mayorazgo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mayorazgo Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing