We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“My 4th time in HRC Madrid!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of HRC Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
HRC Hotel
Ranked #160 of 444 Hotels in Madrid
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“My 4th time in HRC Madrid!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2013 via mobile

Always stay here, usually on my own but this time with my friend. Had a twin room with a surprise balcony which looked over La Latina. Carlos on reception was very friendly and helpful for the whole stay and nothing was any trouble for him. Will be returning for the fifth time in May!

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank NeilRobbins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director_HRC, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at HRC Hotel, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear Neli,

Thanks again for your good review and for the time devoted to write it on this useful travellers web news.
We look forward seeing you soon again with us in Madrid.

Again thanks for your time and we take this opportunity to wish you and your friends all the best.

Kindest personal regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

712 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    266
    277
    123
    28
    18
See reviews for
136
288
41
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

HRC is super well situated, a mere 2 minutes away from all the action of The Latina neighbourhood (bars, tapas, theatres and people watching spots), if you have a car to park, the hotel a VERY small parking ( u need to reserve a spot) for 20 € a day but will only accomodate small cars.

The rooms are tiny and somewhat blandish, small refrigerator stocked with 2 mini bottles of water upon arrival but there are many small grocery stores around to re-stock. Comfortable bed, very little space for anything else to do but sleep and shower. Very clean , perfect bathroom and effective climate-control. Perfect if you're not going to spend much time other than sleeping and showering in your room. Smallsh tv with a few international channels.

WIFI available very well in reception area and quite irregularly in rooms but FREE.

Breakfast ($) available in adjoining cafe-bar of hotel for modest price and served by the most efficient waitress I've ever seen. Closes in the afternoon but other cool drinking-eating place available next door at night.

2 subway stations are close by. Grand via and plaza mayor are walking distance.

For the price, it's an OK hotel but don't expect anything fancy. Mostly for buget-oriented solo or couple travellers, not great for business traveller.

Room Tip: Single rooms (with double bed) give on inside so NO view BUT no noise either....
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SavageE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director_HRC, Director de Recepción at HRC Hotel, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear Mr. Sauvage.

Thank you for writing a review about you stay in HRC.

We are glad that you liked the hotel. As it is said, we are in a central location close to Plaza Mayor, Puerta del Sol and the amazing area of 'La Latina' where it is possible to taste the best local cuisine of Madrid.

The garage of the hotel is according to a building in the city centre. It is a bit narrow but with capicity for models like VW Passat or Audi A6, of course it is not big enough for the van you came with. If coming with a large van or a SUV, there is a public car park just 300m away from the hotel.

It must be considered that HRC is a 3* hotel so the size of the rooms is in line with the category and the daily price. Despite of that, all the rooms are equipped with a 17'' LCD TV, desk, minibar, large closet and a complet bathroom bigger than other hotels even 4*. The matresses are all new and the rooms were refurbished in 2010.

In relation the Wifi, we are now installing antennas in every floor so the covarage will be increased in the whole building. We are sorry in you could not connect at any time from you room.

We hope to see you again one more time in our hotel.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

I came to study abroad and arrived one day early, I was so lost seeing my Spanish was really bad. Carlos the owner speaks better English than I probably do and helped with any problem I had. He talked to the taxi drivers for me to get me where I needed to go, his bar down stairs has great meals for the jet lag and finally the view from my room made all my problems disappear. I have now been living here for one month and I still try to stop in and say thanks every now and again. The hospitality was just that great!

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the fifth floor, you wont regret it and it doesn't cost any more.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Rob D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director_HRC, Director General at HRC Hotel, responded to this review, December 7, 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us. Please Know that it is our aim that you spend the best days of your holidays with us and this is what we are working for and trying to improve every day.

We once again thank you and are looking forward welcoming you to any of our establishments.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Москва, Россия
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

The hotel is perfectly located – 15 minute walk to the Royal Palace, Opera, Puerta del Sol. Very comfortable, well equipped rooms, extremely friendly and helpful staff, fast Wi-Fi, not expensive parking (20 Euro).

I do recommend this hotel and will be definitely staying here next time!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank blender_kid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director_HRC, Director General at HRC Hotel, responded to this review, December 7, 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us. Please Know that it is our aim that you spend the best days of your holidays with us and this is what we are working for and trying to improve every day.

We once again thank you and are looking forward welcoming you to any of our establishments.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
181 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

My husband and I stayed here as a stop over in Madrid for a night. We chose it for the price and location to the tapas bars. It didn't disappoint. The room was basic but we didn't need anything else. Good shower and clean. Right in the heart of the great tapas area. A god find and we will use again if we ever stop over in Madrid.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bethstickland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director_HRC, Director General at HRC Hotel, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
First of all thank you for your comments, because it is the best way to learn about the experiences of our guests during your holiday.

We stay in your entire disposal and hope that you return to visit us in other occasions, meanwhile we will continue working in achieving our goal that is that our guests enjoy their stay along their holiday in our establishment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warks
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

We stayed at this hotel at the end of May
When we arrived we upgraded to a triple room with a balcony with AstroTurf and sun loungers the view was great and a nice rest bite after a long day sightseeing
On all things the staff were extremely helpful but the most was when we lost our bank card in the bank machine opposite hotel
The hotel lent us some money for dinner and came to the bank he next day to translate our problem -how many places would do that !!

The hotel is well placed for all the sites including the Royal palace Cathedral parliament and easy access to the underground
Not far from the hotel is a long road with many great places to eat and drink
Any down sides - only one beware of thieves we were involved in two incidents both by sheer luck resulting in suspects being arrested and thankfully no harm to us or or belongings

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JulesWarks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director_HRC, Director General at HRC Hotel, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
First of all thank you for your comments, because it is the best way to learn about the experiences of our guests during your holiday.

We stay in your entire disposal and hope that you return to visit us in other occasions, meanwhile we will continue working in achieving our goal that is that our guests enjoy their stay along their holiday in our establishment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

Hotel was centrally located very close to Plaza Mayor and Puerta Del Sol. The Royal Palace was a 10 minute walk and the metro station Puerto De Toledo was a 5 minute walk. Metro got us pretty much everywhere across the city to the museums, real madrid stadium, parque del retiro, botanical gardens, etc. A lot else was walkable from the hotel. Front of house staff were very polite and spoke good english. Rooms were large enough for 3 of us.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Jas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director_HRC, Director General at HRC Hotel, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us. Please Know that it is our aim that you spend the best days of your holidays with us and this is what we are working for and trying to improve every day.

We once again thank you and are looking forward welcoming you to any of our establishments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madrid hotels
La Latina
Ganivet Hotel
Ganivet Hotel
#114 of 444 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,492 reviews
Hotel Puerta de Toledo
#126 of 444 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 850 reviews
Hotel Acta Madfor
#101 of 444 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,078 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
La Latina
La Posada del Dragon
La Posada del Dragon
#59 of 444 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 656 reviews
La Latina
Mayerling Hotel
Mayerling Hotel
#49 of 444 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HRC Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HRC Hotel

Property: HRC Hotel
Address: Calle Angel 18, 28005 Madrid, Spain
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > La Latina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#73 Family Hotel in Madrid
#139 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — HRC Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This good-value hotel is in Madrid’s La Latina neighbourhood, famous for its tapas bars, cinemas and museums. The HRC Hotel offers free Wi-Fi in all areas. The hotel is in the historic centre of Madrid. The Almudena Cathedral, the Plaza Mayor and the Puerta del Sol are all a short walk away. The El Rastro Market area is also nearby, and Atocha Station is a 5-minute Metro journey away. All rooms have a flat-screen TV and a work desk. Fifth-floor rooms have a terrace with views of the San Francisco El Grande Basilica, with the largest dome in Madrid. The bar-cafeteria at HRC Hotel serves breakfast and a variety of snacks. The surrounding La Latina district has a range of cafes, restaurants and traditional tapas bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, HostelWorld, Agoda, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your HRC Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Reyes Catolicos Hotel
Hotel Reyes Catolicos
Reyes Catolicos Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing