We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 AM - 8:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Great visit to the “oldest” restaurant in the world.

We did the Botin Experience in Madrid with Phil and thoroughly enjoyed both the tour and food... read more

Reviewed 3 days ago
904bradi
,
Deerwood, Minnesota
via mobile
Excellent experience at Los Caracoles, Barcelona

We have a friend that reccommend "Los Caracoles" restaurant to my husband and me so we took the... read more

Reviewed October 26, 2022
susel006
Read all 348 reviews
  
Reviews (348)
Filter reviews
348 results
Traveler rating
339
7
2
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
339
7
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews botin restaurant suckling pig oldest restaurant behind the scenes guide jorge sangria pitcher ernest hemingway walking tour private tour personal tour perfect guide highlight of our trip food and wine unique experience food tour highly recommend this tour small group
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
70 - 75 of 348 reviews
Reviewed October 11, 2019

This was a fantastic tour and food included. The space is tight, so being able to view and appreciate the details of the oldest restaurant was awesome. It was a treat to see hidden areas that are not generally open to the public. Our guide Phil was a delight and full of information and made the tour that much more enjoyable. With a gift to boot, it was well worth the price.

Date of experience: September 2019
1  Thank LouAnn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed August 24, 2019

Margaret did an outstanding job giving all the details about the Botin. It was very informative and well worth the hour we spent on the tour. The tasting menu was outstanding and my wife and I were able to dine at the Hemingway table. Keep up the good work.

Date of experience: August 2019
Thank Donell B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed August 13, 2019

Meg took us around "Sobrino de Botín" for the Botin Experience and taught us about the history of the restaurant and how all things started. It was a cool experience getting to know the place you are about to eat in! And at the end, we got a small gift! Thanks again for the great experience, and i will definitely plan coming around again! :)

Date of experience: August 2019
Thank Michael K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed July 10, 2019

We met in front of the oldest retaurant in the world,
Phil was waiting for us, and took us for a tour.
He was friendly, knowledgeable, and answered all our questons.

A must do if in Madrid, thanks Phil for the experience.

Regards
Onorio

Date of experience: June 2019
Thank odagosti1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed July 10, 2019

The tour was nice and informative. The fixed menu was disappointing. Would far have preferred ham and melon over the appetizers offered and the piece of pig I received was mostly fat. The tour wine was just table wine and not my favorite. Would far prefer a tour and open menu for the price.

Date of experience: July 2019
Thank Blonde0954
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
insidersmadrid, Owner at Insider's Travel, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2019

Dear Blonde0954, thanks so much for your comments. We are sorry the dinner menu was not what you would have preferred. We put the menu together to reflect some of the restaurant's best known and loved dishes, including the suckling pig. This dish by nature is quite fatty and tender. The wine we selected for the menu is a red crianza rioja, Vino Salceda, made from hand-picked tempranillo grapes with a little maciano and gracielo , aged in American oak for 12 months and aged several months after that in the bottle. Our guests also have the option of a white verdejo if preferred with dinner. We hope you had been able to see the menu when booking as we list it along with the tour information. Our guides also run through the menu with guests after the tour and there is also the chance to mention to the waiter any dietary requirements. If there is anything we could have done to make this clearer, we would appreciate your feedback. So glad you enjoyed the tour and thank you again for taking the time to leave your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews