We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved our stay here!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Lapepa Chic Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 283 Madrid B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Three friends and I stayed here for a total of three nights in July. We loved the central location - close by enough to the museums (the Prado Museum is literally just down the road), transport (metro and cabs), food and shopping. I agree with other reviewers - Lapepa is really a boutique hotel, not a B&B! It was clean, cheerful and most of all, we felt safe in a foreign city. Breakfast was good and plentiful. During our time we noticed not just backpackers like us but several businessmen as well (they were in suits at breakfast) as well as families, so it really does cater to everybody. I would recommend Lapepa to anyone looking for a great place to stay in Madrid and I would stay there again if I'm ever in town!

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank JtinKL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (522)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

124 - 130 of 522 reviews

Reviewed July 18, 2013

I LOVE, LOVE, LOVE Madrid, and this B&B was fabulous and made our last stay even better. The B&B is very centrally located - in walking distance of the main shopping areas, eating plazas and sites.
The decor is very contemporary and modern. A/C which is a must in the summer months was availble all the time. Very clean and bright.
All but one member of staff were lovely, really helpful - one seems to be a bit sulky and moody.
Breakfast was good - a help youself affair of toast, cereal, cheese, tea, coffee etc.
Only down point was that the walls were very thin and you could head what was happening in other rooms. Didn't detract from the stay though and I would go again.

Room Tip: Have a room away fom the reception desk so you don;t get worken up by checking in guests.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AWilliams1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

We had a terrific stay. Irma welcomed us upon arrival (note arrival hours and watch out for the extra charge if you get in late in the evening) with great assistance on where to go and things to see. We were in room 4, the first room on the hallway off the lobby, so it was a little quieter than if we'd stayed in a room adjoining the breakfast area.

The rooms themselves are clean, moderately roomy, and well decorated in a modern design. I do agree with previous reviews that the bathrooms are small and don't afford a ton of privacy behind the sliding glass door. The shower is really small - tough to turn around or bend over! A/C was comfortable, hot water in the showers was fine, and you could borrow a hairdryer from the front desk. You don't get fresh towels, so make sure you hang up the ones you do get! The free wifi worked great.

While Irma was friendly, the other girl who worked at reception and replenishing breakfast was notably less friendly. She did her job and would help if asked, but didn't effuse warmth.

Pretty good selection at breakfast: fresh bread for toast as well as prepacked pastries, ham, cheese, cereals, yogurt, fruit, juice, and coffee/tea. I also appreciated having chilled (tap) water in the communal refrigerator throughout the day.

This location can absolutely not be beat. The Thyssen museum is next door, and this B&B is a very short walk (5 minutes) to the Prado, Retiro Park, and only 10 minutes to the Reina Sofia. We spent a lot of time walking back and forth along the Paseo del Prado, when we thought we would have to take the Metro/subway everywhere. Because it's on the 7th floor, it's high enough that the rooms are quiet and insulated from street noise.

Very affordable for the value we got.

Note -- book directly through LaPepa's website and not through any of the third party online agencies for the best price. Also, LaPepa only had availability for 3 out of the 4 nights we spent in Madrid when we first inquired. We booked 3 nights and made alternate arrangements for the 4th. We should have checked back with LaPepa about a week before our stay as a cancellation meant a room was available, which would have saved us having to move our things to another B&B, but it was too late to cancel the other B&B at that time.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the lobby along the hallway (any room #4 or higher) are a bit quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bluepig1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013

Hotel is carefully design to make the most out of the space, from hangers to light switchs, it is well thought. Staff was great and breakfast was much better than other hostels. Overall it was waynover the european standard for its price. Also, the design (from the lights to the keys) is very cool and the location is very convenient andnit has two classic cheap cafe and bars located below.
The only bad thing is that if you want to sleep late and you got a room next to the breakfast table, you will wake up to the conversations.
Highly recommended.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
Thank Alan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

This small hotel (not really a B&B) has an unbelievably central location in the middle of Madrid's art museum district -- directly adjacent to the Thyssen-Bornemisza, 5 minutes to the Prado's main entrance, 10 minutes to the Caixa Forum and Reina Sofia Contemporary Art Center. The strolling gardens of El Retiro are also very close, as are Metro and rail access (Banco de Espana and Atocha Stations). It's rather incredible that staying in the heart of this district should be so affordable. The minimalist interiors are beautifully done, and the staff are lovely and very helpful. Simple, fresh breakfasts.

The room I stayed in -- billed as a "single", i.e., for one guest -- was probably the smallest on offer. I frequently stay in small rooms when traveling on my own, but this one did not feel well laid out. It probably would have made sense to furnish it with a smaller bed and thus to allow somewhere to locate my small carry-on suitcase other than on the floor where I'd need to step over it constantly. I appreciated the room's small built-in drawers and hangers, but I'd have gladly traded these for a simple folding stand for my suitcase. Other rooms in the hotel appeared to be a bit larger, so they probably avoid this problem.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

Great, central and secure place to stay and explore Madrid. We booked our room through the internet and received prompt and helpful information and good transport advise, notably the bus service from the airport. Lapepa is a chic B&B run by Irma and her helpful and friendly staff who were always around to offer advise or just a conversation. Lapepa is just near the Neptune Fountain, near the Plaza Cortez and is opposite the Palace Hotel. Close to the Banco Espana metro and the Red Tour bus stops near the Prado, which incidentally is just across the Neptune fountain.
Just outside the entrance is a cafe and a 100 Montaditos outlet, the latter offers 1 euro mugs of beer and low priced montaditos. These are small bocadillos or small bread rolls filled with all sorts of goodies. Obviously its a great draw card, always busy, but offers you, at the Lapepa, a great place to relax, have a snack and a drink whilst soaking up the atmosphere of a busy Spanish thoroughfare.
Lapepa offers you a self serving breakfast which is very good and offers the ability to get a hot dink at any time of the day.
The rooms are small but very modern and clean. The clients are generally mature and respect each others space and privacy. We paid 80 euros a night and had a lovely stay. We would definitely return again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Graham S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2013

This is not a b&b, rather, it is a decent small hotel with a very good service/price ratio, very centrally located. It is clean and silent (no traffic noise since it is on the 7th floor), though room's walls are so thin that you can hear everything from neighboring rooms.
In a b&b you usually expect to enjoy a family-like hospitality, to be able to talk and receive advise from the tenant, to have home-made and large breakfast. Forget all that with la pepa chic! The receptionists are not particularly kind nor friendly, the breakfast is quite disappointing, and there is a strange rule that if you arrive after 22 you must pay 7 euros extra per hour. Furthermore, after 15:00 on the leave day, you can't leave your baggage not even at the reception. So, you better manage to reserve early flights!

Room Tip: Rooms 10-18 are far from main entrance and reception, so they are more silent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paola55_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Chueca
B&B Hotel Madrid Fuencarral 52
Paseo del Prado
SLEEP'N Atocha
SLEEP'N Atocha
#71 of 438 in Madrid
631 reviews
Huertas
Artistic B&B
Artistic B&B
#1 of 283 in Madrid
531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Hostal Central Palace Madrid
Centro
Hostal Met Madrid
Hostal Met Madrid
#3 of 283 in Madrid
178 reviews
Centro
Hostal Go Inn Madrid
Hostal Go Inn Madrid
#5 of 283 in Madrid
397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lapepa Chic Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lapepa Chic Bed & Breakfast

Address: Plaza de Las Cortes, 4, 7 dcha., 28014 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Paseo del Prado
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 283 B&Bs / Inns in Madrid
Price Range: $76 - $103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lapepa Chic Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened last september 2011, lapepa chic b&b in Madrid is one of the best affordableaccommodations in Madrid. We are located in the centre of Madrid and we have paid close attention to each and every detail to create a comfortable atmosphere for our guests at interesting rates.Both rooms and common areas of our Madrid Bed & Breakfast have been designed bearing in mind not only their external aspect but also functionality. All of our Madrid holiday accommodations provide a quality resting space, and therefore offer a powerful shower, excellent bedding and 100% cotton bed linen (bed sheets and towels). Lighting and air conditioning/heating, which are managed independently from each room, complete the comfort atmosphere offered by Lapepa chic b&b ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Lapepa Chic Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing