We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and nice room”
Review of Regente Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Regente Hotel
Ranked #217 of 435 Hotels in Madrid
san juan
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great location and nice room”
Reviewed December 5, 2009

We got to Madrid early so we had to wait for a room to be available, but it was well worth it since we got the corner on the 3rd floor with the best view of La Gran Via. I wish we had better directions on how to get there by train, since it is close to the Sol Station and the Taxi was espensive. It is walking distance to many atractions and next to El Corte Ingles. Service was OK, with exception of the guy that takes care of the luggage, no one was overly friendly, but then again...that is the way they are in Spain.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank maribel00198
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,541 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    259
    658
    431
    130
    63
See reviews for
401
563
114
83
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
1 review
Reviewed November 7, 2009

We booked this Hotel through a Travel Agent, of course it is more expensive, when we arrived we were given room 309. As soon as I opened the door I had a bad impression. Furniture dated and not much light. Worse of all the floor clicks badly and so we have asked to change the room next morning.
We then were given room 205 which is passible small but bright. The temperature was 26o.C. At night not just the noise of the street as well the heat and so we had bad nights during our stay.
We asked for the air conditioner to be turnt on but we were told that October supposed to be winter and so there is no air conditioner.
Breakfast was poor.
The location is very central and the staffs helpful.
The day we changed our room I left a brand new bath sponge in the room 309 and when I remember couple of hours later the cleaner said that she has not seen it!!
She would have seen it if it was an old one.
The bath towel was thin and thorned. The towel I use in my house to clean the floor is better condition than the one I used in room 309. No bath soap either.
Room 205 we had better experience, better bath towel we had soap, shower cap, etc. .

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mcorien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liverpool
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2009

stayed at the regente hotel in madrid great location good quality hotel vey good cooked breakfast will keep you going most of the day nice clean rooms comfortable beds checking in staff a little distant take a stick with a feather on it nothing to worry about really get down for breakfast before 9.15 can get a little busy after that can recommend this hotel if I wanted to be a bit picky booked a wake up call on the tv in the room was charged 2euro when checking out first time a hotel charged for a call

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank blooby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldham
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2009

I have stayed at the Regente a few times and I am going again next week I can't wait. I don't understand what people are complaining about, I have always found it to be clean and the staff are very helpful they don't speak fluent english but how can we brits criticise that! Anyway I quite like that I am forced to use my terrible spanish that's half the fun! The breakfast is a bit dull but the location is amazing you can go and get breakfast anywhere.

  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NZKRONKY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
iriskas
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2009

My husband and I are in our late 20s/ early 30s, and we feel that this place has only its location going for it. The staff, everyone of them, were not helpful, when I asked them if they can call to confirm my tour one day, they showed me to pay phone an said "or you can use a phone in your room". I don't speak Spanish and it would have been helpful if they helped me with that. But i guess it was too much to ask to confirm my tour departure time. Any other issues--they were not helpful either. My husband and I ended up going to Best western next door, every day, to ask for a map with directions! Also, during the breakfast, I asked if I could fill my 20 oz water bottle with water, they said no! I said it's just water and I have a small bottle, they rudely said "it's not possible". The breakfast itself, was the worst ever, my husband and I were traveling from North to south of spain and stayed in several hotels, but this was by far the worst breakfast and hotel of all. Please be advised.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iriskasiriskas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Madrid hotels

London
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2009

Despite some apprehension due to some negative reviews, we were delighted with The Regente. Firstly, the staff - if you make an effort to speak a few words of Spanish & smile - then they are extremely helpful - 'simples'! In the heat of August, it is definitely an advantage to have an inside facing room - quiet & cool. Cleanliness could not be faulted - or the standard of breakfast - there was a massive choice - Sunday morning was a tad hectic, but everyone likes to sleep in on a Sunday. The location is fantastic - getting to the hotel from the airport is easy - 2 Euros on the metro (which is clean & has a/c!) takes you to either Callao or Gran Via - again - 'simples'. Muchas gracias ....

  • Stayed August 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CarinaB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 26, 2009

My wife and I traveled from New York City and we wanted something centrally located, cheap and comfortable. This hotel is it. The location is very good and we made it to the hotel via metro (Callao station) from the airport. The hotel is close to Sol, Opera, Plaza Mayor and main pedestrian shopping zones. There is also an (almost American) Pub and Pool Hall right across the street. The hotel was a bit dated but very clean with excellent showers. Our room had a view and we became friends with a lot of neighborhood merchants. The TV had CNN and several English channels. However, polish your Spanish.

You will get a fair deal and a clean room in the center of Madrid…that was good enough for us.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShrimpyNyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Centro
Hotel Avenida Gran Via
Hotel Avenida Gran Via
#355 of 435 in Madrid
289 reviews
Centro
Hotel Aquaria Negresco
Hotel Aquaria Negresco
#257 of 435 in Madrid
281 reviews
Centro
Petit Palace Cliper Gran Via
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Tryp Madrid Gran Via Hotel
Tryp Madrid Gran Via Hotel
#191 of 435 in Madrid
991 reviews
Centro
Petit Palace Tres Cruces
Petit Palace Tres Cruces
#80 of 435 in Madrid
925 reviews
Centro
Hotel Ateneo Puerta del Sol
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Regente Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Regente Hotel

Property: Regente Hotel
Address: Calle Mesonero Romanos 9, 28013 Madrid, Spain
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Centro , Sol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #217 of 435 Hotels in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Regente Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, ACCOR, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Regente Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regente Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing