We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central and convenient”
Review of Regente Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Regente Hotel
Ranked #222 of 437 Hotels in Madrid
Reviewed September 11, 2012

Quite a modern hotel that is usual for a European venue- ie you always leave the key at the hotel - NB previous writers!! No free wifi, but available at 3 close venues - Pan, Starbucks and a very friendly taberna opposite - dNorte, where you can have a very cheap glass of wine and free nibbles and email! We got a good rate to change money compared with the Cambio up the road. Cafe was always empty, but breakfast in the breakfast room provided a good choice of adequate food and we always got a table immediately. Some of the staff could have been friendlier, but when we left, one staff member took both of our bags over the road and hailed a taxi for us. Lift available to get bags to the office area from the entrance. Air conditioner worked well, modern bathroom, beds a bit hard, rooms a litte small, extra pillows available on request. Safe didn't work but staff offered hotel safe. Easy 15 minute walk to La Latina area for dinner, and to the main Art Galleries.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
1  Thank Jill A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,598)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

210 - 216 of 1,598 reviews

Reviewed August 25, 2012

The hotel is located in a great spot but the hotel itself was not great at all. The staff were not helpful and boderline rude. The rooms are old, musty and smelled like a nursing home. The walls must be extremely thin because we could hear everything, all night long. The beds were hard as a rock and the pillows were flat. They still have a key on a huge, heavy key chain that you must leave in the hotel when you go out. You had to pay to use Wifi, the gym and the safe. And they do not offer currency exchange as listed on their website.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fjewel95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2012

Lack of good services. Too small breakfast room. Every morning we had to wait to get a table. The wifi costs 2euro per hour. No refrigerator at the room in a Madrid of 35 /37 C. The reception is on the first floor. They still use a strange heavy key which you have to leave always at the hotel. The worst of all is the lack of customer centric culture. It's a pitty because they are situated in a very strategic place.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Drmobili
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2012

My husband and I booked this hotel through easy jet holidays. We read the reviews, and mostly what was read us true. Good hotel in a great location for Grand Via, the main street for shopping, seeing the sites and good transport links. Although the staff did not smile, they were also non engquickly but quickly resolved the situation with changing our room as we wanted a double bed instead of a twin room. Breakfast includes continental but there is a choice of a cooked breakfast if u wish; but get there early as the restaurant is small and both days we had to queue and wait for a table to become free. I would recommend the hotel for a weekend, but no longer.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank angeldene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2012

Hotel has an excellent location but the rooms are not the best or even average.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ralstonChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

I stayed there with my famiky in june 2012 and we really loved the hotel since the rooms are nice and comfortable,they offer good amenities the location is great since is the gran via one of the most importants avenues in madrid so you can walk from the hotel to most interest points and touristic places in the city theres also one place to watch flamenco beside the hotel that unfortunately we missed the name of the place is torres bermejas and you can be late at night walking aroun since is a very safe area,the weather during summer its awesome,and theres a lot to do in madrid its a beautiful city,the only thing that hotel regente can improve its their staff specially at front desk they are just there not so helpful and nothing beyond your spectations,they can provide a better service,and they are short staffed since front desk was always busy and we took a long time for check in and check out the rest its really good,greetings from mexico!

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thejohnsrv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2012

I booked this hotel through Hotels.com and looked at many reviews. As the reviews were mixed, I did not have much expectations of this hotel. Upon arrival it was clear that the lobby was renovated recently. The staff checked us in, even though it was only 10 am, without any delays. While the staff was very efficient and helpful, they did not smile much and were not warm. This happened through out my 3 night stay. The porter took us up to our room, which, as I found out was on a renovated floor. The room, had 2 twin beds and a small bathrom. The room itself was small (like many other European hotels), but was sparkling clean and all the furniture brand new. This room felt like it just emerged from the renovation. The room had two smallish windows that looked out to a service courtyrad. The AC worked very well and there were nice amenities in the room and bathroom. All in all it was a great stay. I stayed 2 nights at the beginning of my trip, then one more night at the end. On the third night (at end of trip) we were put in a different room on a different floor. This room was much larger and had a huge balcony overlooking The Gran Via. This room was not renovated yet, and while the furniture and wall paint was tired, it certaily was not bad and this room too was sparkling clean.
The location is the best part - the hotel is located just on Grand Via and less than 10 min walk from Puerta Del Sol and Plaza Mayor. You can't beat this location.
All in all I would definitely stay here again when in Madrid!

Room Tip: Try to ask for a room on the renovated floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank danbenjoseph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Centro
Hotel Avenida Gran Via
Hotel Avenida Gran Via
#329 of 437 in Madrid
309 reviews
Centro
Petit Palace Cliper Gran Via
Centro
Petit Palace Tres Cruces
Petit Palace Tres Cruces
#78 of 437 in Madrid
999 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Tryp Madrid Gran Via Hotel
Centro
Hotel Regina
Hotel Regina
#123 of 437 in Madrid
3,537 reviews
Malasana
Tryp Madrid Cibeles Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Regente Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Regente Hotel

Address: Calle Mesonero Romanos 9, 28013 Madrid, Spain
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Centro , Sol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #222 of 437 Hotels in Madrid
Price Range: $35 - $323 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Regente Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Mirai, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Regente Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regente Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing