We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice hotel and easy access” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Madrid-Piramides

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Holiday Inn Madrid-Piramides
Ranked #180 of 444 Hotels in Madrid
Washington DC
Level Contributor
81 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel and easy access”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2014

Just returned from a 4 night stay and was pleasantly surprised by this hotel. I did not eat in the hotel so cannot comment on the food so this review will comment on the front desk service,room and location only.

Check in/out and other service provided by the front desk was very good. Since their isn't a concierge at the hotel the front desk people were very knowledgeable about the area in terms of tourism and restaurants and more than happy to assist. All their recommendations were good. check in/out was up to standard with no problems.

Location: Absolutely perfect in my opinion. The property is a 20 minute walk to the center of town but the best thing is that it is no more than 30 steps outside the front door to the Metro and Renfe train station as well as a bus stop. Taking the C1 Renfe train from Barajas airport T4 was a breeze and cheap. Hopping on the Piramedes Metro station took us everywhere we wanted to go. The hotel is on a busy street but had double windows that completely soundproofed our room. The location is in a neighborhood type of place so is actually a pleasant reprieve from the hustle and bustle of downtown. Grocery stores and local restaurants in the area were all within a 5 minute walk.

Room: As an IHG Platinum member I was upgraded to a two room suite so will comment on that. Room 105 gave an appearance of a doctor's waiting office as the front room had 8 padded chairs lined up on the walls with a table in the middle. We both had to laugh about this when we first walked in. With a little furniture rearranging we made it look a bit more homey though. The queen sized bed in the separate bedroom was very comfortable and provided good nights of sleep. The bathroom was well stocked with amenities with a marble sink, toilet, bidet and combination tub/shower. TVs all had multi lingual stations as well. The only problem with 105 is that there was a fair amount of noise filtering in from the lobby and bar area on the floor below.

All in all, from we used the hotel for, I would say it is on the top end of Holiday Inn properties.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AirTrafficMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

559 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    279
    109
    26
    11
See reviews for
121
206
43
74
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2014

Upon landing into Madrid's airport, we took the Renfe train to the Piramides station. Super easy even if you don't speak Spanish. This is much cheaper than the metro (also attached to the airport) b/c there is a fee just because it is connected to the airport. Get out of the metro/train stop and you are at the hotel. Very convenient. We arrived about 10 am local time and the front desk attendant checked us in right away. We were upgraded to a corner room, which was much larger with a view. There is not a pool or gym here and breakfast is not cheap. The hotel is pretty cheap for the low season if you do advanced purchase. It is a 10 minute walk from the Atocha train station which connects Madrid in terms of buses/trains/metro... and another 10 minute walk to the Prado Museum area. A block away is a great grocery store. The front desk speaks pretty good English. Overall, I would highly recommend this hotel if you were on a budget, but wanted to enjoy Madrid and all of its glory!

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jgallag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2014

We recently spent two nights at the Holiday Inn Piramides. Essentially it is a standard Holiday Inn, no frills or fuss but clean and comfortable. Our room was a good size with all the essential amenities. The staff were helpful and spoke excellent English. We arrived very late and were greeted very warmly, as well as given options of where we could go to dine. The breakfast is basic, not a large variety but enough to fuel you for the day ahead. Although it is a little out of the city, it is easy to walk to all the main attractions from the hotel and the connection to the airport is literally at your doorstep. Good value for money and an enjoyable stay in this lovely city.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ilovetravelling681
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Javier G, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Madrid-Piramides, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Dear guest:
Thank you for choosing to stay at our hotel and for your time to write your review regarding your recent stay.
We are pleased you liked the convenient location of our hotel and we provided you with attentive service.
Thank you for staying with us and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.
Best regards.
Javier Grao
Guest Relations
Holiday Inn Madrid Piramides
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medan, Indonesia
Level Contributor
135 reviews
117 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2014

I spent two nights stay in Holiday Inn Piramides during my winter stopover at Madrid. The hotel is not in the city center, but the ease of transportation made it easy to go everywhere. The hotel is located in the residential area and yet very quite at night as not too much traffic. But you still can find some small restaurants (limited option) and a big grocery shop Carrefour just two block in front of the hotel. The hotel was built above the Metro and Renfe Station. From Madrid Barajas International Airport you can reach the hotel directly with Renfe line C1. It took about 35 minutes and pay 2.25 Euro/way. The hotel is also at Metro line 5 that go directly to Opera and the famous Plaza Mayor.
Hotel has a small reception area, BUT you pay for the WIFI. The sitting area in the lobby is not big and share with the bar. The room is big and especially the bathroom. The design is not the modernist but still fine. The tea and coffee making facility did help a lot. Bed is not very soft but acceptable. Breakfast is average with cold and hot choices. Overall, this is a very good hotel with reasonable price and easy transportation to airport and city center. Will recommend this hotel for those who like to explore Madrid more outdoor rather than those who stay inside the room as this hotel did not have attraction nearby.

Room Tip: Quiet room is located in the inner side that faces the courtyard (facing private apartment).
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank HARTONO T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
120 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2014

This hotel was very clean and comfortable, positioned next to Piramides underground and overground stations for good connections to the rest of the city (we found that a journey into the centre of town took 15 mins). There's a nice enough bar (although service was slow due to a lack of staff) and we enjoyed a free room upgrade without having to ask for one.

There's s few bars and restaurants near the hotel and a couple of supermarkets too. We found that these were very un-touristy, as was the hotel which appeared to cater mainly for business people.

We found that this hotel was a good value base near to, but not in, the city centre that meant we spent a lot of time getting aquanted with the local transport system. As the hotel is reasonably priced, the underground trains are cheap to use and going out is inexpensive you will find Madrid does not need to be as expensive as most other European capital cities.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Surbytonian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Madrid-Piramides, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Dear Surbytonian

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to write to us regarding your stay at our Hotel. We do apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced with slow service.

We appreciate your observations and the time and effort you have taken to inform us of your experience. Guests such as yourself enable us to maintain the high standard of service expected of us. We are continually striving to improve the hospitality we offer, and comments from our guests are always welcome.

We thank you for having chosen our Hotel. Thank you again for your kind words. We take this opportunity to send you our best wishes.

Regards,
Brenda J.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2014

When booking the hotel, I admit I didn´t expect much.
A hotel located in the center, not expensive and nevertheless: it was only for one night.
On arrival, I was so happy to discover that I had been very wrong!

The hotel staff is very friendly, though their English knowledge is not too good.
Rooms are spacious, bathroom included even a bath tub!
There is a kettle with the possibility of making some tea and coffee, TV, loads of sockets (which I needed to charge all my technical devices).
It has a bit of a 90´s charme, but that doesn´t hurt at all.
Breakfast is good, though nothing to write home about.

A brilliant place for my work visit to Madrid!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pakatika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2014

The deciding factor for this hotel was access to mass transit and the huge parking garage. Twenty paces from the front door is access to Metro, Light Rail;(Madrid's big secret), bus lines, AND one block to freeway entries and exits.. The light rail goes directly from your hotel to Barajas Airport -- just super. We are older and use of Madrid's mass transit and freeway system was the top priority for hotel selection. It is just the perfect base for moving around the city and the region. We arrived by car, used it for a few days to access El Escorial (and could have gone to Toledo and Segovia), then ditched the car as cars are of NO use in central Madrid. This hotel has all the romance of an email from your boss. But it is large and efficient. The street level parking garage is huge. We never used the restaurant but went to the little Cafeteria Acacias next door every morning for coffee, rolls, tostada con tomate, tortilla patata and conversation. We stayed a week and would return to this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 70seniortraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Hotel Puerta de Toledo
#131 of 444 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 835 reviews
La Latina
HRC Hotel
HRC Hotel
#156 of 444 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 699 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
La Latina
Ganivet Hotel
Ganivet Hotel
#111 of 444 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,467 reviews
Holiday Inn Madrid
#280 of 444 in Madrid
3.5 of 5 bubbles 724 reviews
San Blas
Holiday Inn Madrid - Calle Alcala
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Madrid-Piramides? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Madrid-Piramides

Property: Holiday Inn Madrid-Piramides
Address: Paseo Acacias 40, 28005 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#122 Family Hotel in Madrid
#150 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Madrid-Piramides 3*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in front of Piramides subway and train station, the hotel is the best option to visit the Habsburg Madrid: 15 minutes walking from the main touristic attractions of the city and close to Vicente Calderón football stadium, Madrid Río and M-30 ring road access. Holiday Inn Madrid-Piramides is a three-star hotel with 93 comfortable rooms, wifi, flat TV and complete bathroom, among other facilities. It also has a lobby bar, a pleasant restaurant with international gastronomy, five meeting rooms (with capacity up to 170 attendees) and a bright hall. It is a cozy, comfortable and familiar hotel that stands out for its peaceful atmosphere and its attractive decor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotel.de, HRS and Reservation Counter so you can book your Holiday Inn Madrid-Piramides reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Madrid-Piramides Hotel Madrid
Rafaelhoteles Piramides Madrid
Rafaelhoteles Piramides Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing