We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Value”
Review of Hotel Liabeny

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Liabeny
Ranked #52 of 443 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 29, 2014

We are currently on our second day of a three day visit and staying at the Hotel Liabeny. Excellent rate, very nice room and private bath/shower, great air conditioning, lots of hot water. Mini-bar was nice to have. Close to a department store with groceries available including snacks and sandwiches. Bed is very comfortable. Staff on check-in were excellent - check-in was very, very quick - the young lady with the blonde hair was most efficient. Staff in cafeteria provided us with an ice bucket full if large ice cubes when we returned from touring in the evening - no charge. We are on third floor room 320 which is very quiet and has a view of the street and small plaza. Location could not be better - a couple blocks from main plaza so in a quieter area. I don't know what all the reviews about loud noise late at night was all about - we slept well last night and woke up at 9:00 a.m. - there was no outside noise that we heard although we did have the window shut - we found the area quiet as well as the hotel and I think it was full last night. We would definitely stay here again. 37 euro and 25 minute taxi ride from the airport. 12 minute walk to Palace Real. All in all an excellent value in the heart of the downtown area. Have not yet tried the restaurant or cafeteria but we will and I will provide a separate review of them. Definitely recommended - one of the nicer hotels we have stayed at in Europe. Although we did not yet have our rental car the hotel does have good secure parking available. We have spoke with several staff members and they have all been very friendly and helpful. Stay here - you will be treated well, will get a good nights sleep and will be close to all the tourist attractions.

Room Tip: We are in 320 and would recommend it. We asked for a quiet room with view, non-smoking and on a hig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SkyviewEdmonton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,231)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

966 - 972 of 3,231 reviews

Reviewed August 28, 2014

We were very happy with our stay at this hotel. Fantastic location. Right amongst it but in a quiet street with no retail shops. Just walk a few steps down the street & you are amongst the people, shops, restaurants & lovely Plaza del Puerta de Porto. Room was great, breakfast great. No complaints at all. Would recommend to friends. WiFi was good too.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 329 with a view to the street below & the little church across the road. Very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Judy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2014

We stayed here for four nights for my partners 50th birthday, the staff were wonderful and very helpful and courteous, the room was clean and had plenty of space, loads of hot water. The hotel is very close to lots of attractions and lots of places to eat. The cafe staff at the hotel were wonderful and we enjoyed sitting outside to enjoy our drinks. Thank you for a fantastic stay

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank watts100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2014

This is one of the best findings you've always dream on to be lucky to find but thanks to Tripadvisor we can help to spread the word and make our travels more "worryfree" and avoid unpleasant surprises when the difficult task to choose online where to stay in a place that we have never been before.

This is the case of Hotel Liabeny, not a high luxury hotel but very nice place to stay in close to the best part of Madrid downtown most visited historic areas of the city. Very clean hotel with all the facilities you may want to enjoy from a large city hotel spot. Service is excellent, the restaurant is very neat and quality of food as you can imagine you can find in all Spain. Price is fare and there is no better location as it is just steps from La Gran Via, La Puerta del Sol and La Plaza de España. Last but no least you will be surrounded by the best restaurants area of the city just a few steps away. We have been always staying at this hotel for years anytime we visit Madrid, we are always very welcomed and eager to come back again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank UguardmeUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2014

Stayed 4 nights with my father in August '14. The hotel is definitely an excellent four-star hotel, bordering somewhat on the luxury, though offering amazingly moderate prices. The staff at the reception and the restaurant are polite, considerate, willing to help, and very professional. The food in the restaurant (we had breakfast included) was varied and superb in quality. The room was spacious, and every detail in it seemed to have been carefully thought-of and well-fitted. There wasn't anything to find fault with, indeed! Besides, the great location of the hotel just some hundred meters from the city's heart - the Puerta del Sol - could have outweighted any faults, had there been any. I will definitely return to this place if I am back in Madrid some day!

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Iskander_S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2014

Stayed 4 nights and were really pleased with the Liabeny. The location is terrific for getting around on foot and if you wish to go further afield, the Gran Via metro stop is a 2 minute walk. We only used taxis to get to and from the Atocha railway station, and only to lessen the hassle of our luggage, but could have easily used the metro or even walked in about a half hour. We walked to the Royal Palace and gardens (15-20 min), the Prado (which has free admission for the last two hours of the day), Atocha, to buy tickets, and all around the city centre.

The hotel is very well appointed with lots of rich wood panels and doors and lots of marble. Our first room was a bit small, so we inquired about a larger one. They said they didn't have one on the first night, but they moved us into a larger room for the last 3 nights at no extra charge.

We did not eat in the hotel as there are hundreds of restaurants within a 10 minute walk and we wanted to try a number of them.

The staff, especially the concierge and reception staff were fantastic. They followed up on a flamenco show we wanted to go to, gave us great tips that really enhanced our enjoyment of Madrid.

The rooms were very clean and quiet. The beds were very comfortable. However the bathrooms could use a bit of attention. The grouting in the shower/tub stalls should probably be looked at. Overall this was a great find.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank schnoodleontheroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2014

Great hotel, very well situated near de Portas do Sol and with a ver nice staff.
Confortable large rooms with a nice service and breakfast with a lot of variety.
I always stay there, is my home in Madrid.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank giant f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Centro
Hotel Preciados
Hotel Preciados
#26 of 443 in Madrid
4,037 reviews
Centro
Hotel Europa
Hotel Europa
#60 of 443 in Madrid
2,876 reviews
Centro
Hotel Francisco I
Hotel Francisco I
#68 of 443 in Madrid
1,812 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Malasana
Hotel Atlantico
Hotel Atlantico
#20 of 443 in Madrid
3,507 reviews
Centro
Room Mate Laura
Room Mate Laura
#15 of 443 in Madrid
1,776 reviews
Centro
Hotel Moderno
Hotel Moderno
#85 of 443 in Madrid
1,251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Liabeny? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Liabeny

Address: Calle Salud, 3, 28013 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Centro , Sol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Madrid
#20 Business Hotel in Madrid
#22 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#41 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
Price Range: $112 - $278 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Liabeny 4*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Being positioned in the centre of Madrid makes visiting the city even more appealing. Everything is just minutes' walk from Hotel Liabeny; Puerta del Sol, Madrid's Gran Vía, museums, monuments, historical sites, etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Liabeny reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Liabeny Sercotel
Liabeny Sercotel Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing