We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Favorite Hotel in Madrid”
Review of Hotel Liabeny

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Liabeny
Ranked #51 of 440 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Every time we stay in Madrid we aim for the Liabeny. The staff is extremely friendly and there is a housekeeper available 24/7. Even when we don't stay here (no availability or room prices too high) we enjoy having breakfast at the cafeteria which is always a great deal.

For light sleepers, ask to be on an inside room. Corner rooms facing the street can get quite noisy on the weekends. The beds are always comfortable and the rooms are very clean. Staying in a suite is a little pricey but worth if you want something special. Internet is free throughout the hotel which is always a plus.

Location! Location! You are about two blocks away from Puerta del Sol and one block from Gran Via. You cannot beat that location. If you study a metro map and google maps before going to Madrid, it is very easy to get there from the airport (Barajas), if you are willing to haul your luggage up and down a few flights of stairs to save some money.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RubiTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,139)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,132 - 1,138 of 3,141 reviews

Reviewed July 25, 2013

Pefectly located at Plaza del Carmen, some steps away from Puerta del Sol, to the south, or Gran Vía, to the north. You can also go on foot to Plaza Mayor from here. The room is spacious and clean. We slept very well everyday- their windows are soundproff, what is necessary considering the amount of noise from the crowded plaza at night. The service was very good. The breakfast fare was very expensive (US$25 per day per person) so we decided to have our breakfast in a café nearby. We ended up finding the Confeitaria Armenia- just perfect! They have this bar with two extremely friendly barman/woman: Pepe and Mónica (I hope I got her name right). My husband and I always stopped by at the bar to have a drink before going to bed. If your are travelling by car you can park your car there and leave it overnight, a little pricey though (20 euros). We never paid a visit to the gym- we used to do so much walking during the day anyway.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carla_Thiago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

My wife and I spent 3 nights at the Hotel Liabeny in May and thoroughly enjoyed the stay. The hotel could not be better located in the heart of the city close to Puerta del Sol, Plaza Mayor, easy walking distance to the Prado, Royal Palace, Pope’s apartments, etc. There are an AMT 50 meters away and a super market in the nearby El Corte Ingles department store. There are shops and restaurants throughout the area that will satisfy virtually anyone including an authorized Real Madrid shop.
The hotel is quiet and comfortable. Our room had a mini bar/frig, large bathroom with a super toilet (think jet engine when you flush), and free wifi that worked perfectly. We asked for a quiet room and were at the back of the hotel (room 503). There was no street noise and a little room-to-room noise but quiet enough to sleep all night without issue. The air conditioning was the best we had during our 3 week trip; quiet and easy to understand and control. The hotel staff is efficient and knowledgeable with good English skills. Some might call them unfriendly or aloof but they are clearly focused on the job at hand and do it very well.
Overall, I would strongly recommend the Hotel Liabeny for your stay in Madrid.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank rockymountainrider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Just returned from this Hotel following a three night visit to Madrid. The location could not be better. Out of the hotel and turn left and it is 2 minutes to Gran Via or turn right for a 2 minute walk to Sol. The staff on reception and concierge are so helpful, gave us some great advice on the theme parks, local shows and outdoor swimming pools. The bar was a great place to sit outside for a few afternoon drinks, very reasonably priced. We did not eat in the restaurant so cannot comment. The rooms were clean and beds made and towels changed everyday. Hallways and stairs kept very clean and look very grand.
Great places to eat and drink close by as well as excellent transport links although everything is in walking distance. It was hitting almost 40 degrees everyday and so we were grateful to get on the air conditioned Metro rather than walking in the heat. Although some places can be very expensive as with all cities, if you look around there are some great deals on both food and drink. The small local places are amazing for food and a local chain of bars called Cerveceria La Surena did a bucket of 5 bottles of lager for 3euros and amazing tapas! There is one on Fuencarral but many others also.
Overall an amazing trip and could not ask for a hotel with better location and for such a great price, cannot fault the staff or the service.

Room Tip: People have said in other reviews that it is noisy but we were on the 2nd floor overlooking the squa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nik1905
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

The staff at Hotel Liabeny was wonderful, the room service was so accommodating, the maid service great, (and I am not so easy to please to be sure). Centrally located in the heart of Madrid. Metro very close, close to museums, Plaza Mayor, the Royal Palace, & the Opera. Magnificent architecture every where. Absolutely loved this trip.

Room Tip: I had a room on the of hotel when I looked out my window, the view was awesome.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank debra5577
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

The best reasonably-priced hotel I have found in eight trips to Madrid. The location is outstanding, near city attractions but on a side street, so it is quiet, especially for Madrid. The temperature was at or near 100 degrees F every day while I was in Madrid, and the air conditioning cooled the room as well as in American hotels, which I find rare in European hotels. The room was clean, the beds comfortable, the staff professional, and the price reasonable. The additional fee for breakfast seemed exorbitant, so we did not select that option. There are restaurants, a bakery, a food section in El Corte Ingles, and a Starbuck's near the hotel, so that decision proved to be a sound one. The area around the hotel is somewhat run-down, but I felt safe walking around alone in the area, day or night. The Wi-Fi was slow at times, and sometimes disappeared and we had to start over again, but it was free and it usually worked adequately. I would definitely stay at the Liabeny again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

My third stay at the Liabeny was just as nice as the first. First, you can't beat the location--Puerta del Sol, many restaurants and lots of shopping are just steps from the restaurant. We also could walk to the Prado Museum, the Reina Sofia or Retiro Park in 15-20 minutes. The rooms are very comfortable and quiet and they offer a lovely breakfast buffet with great cafe con leche. The staff has been very helpful during every stay and I will choose the Liabeny again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cynthia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Centro
Hotel Preciados
Hotel Preciados
#22 of 440 in Madrid
3,984 reviews
Centro
Hotel Europa
Hotel Europa
#50 of 440 in Madrid
2,802 reviews
Malasana
Hotel Atlantico
Hotel Atlantico
#21 of 440 in Madrid
3,473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Hotel Francisco I
Hotel Francisco I
#67 of 440 in Madrid
1,775 reviews
Centro
Room Mate Laura
Room Mate Laura
#15 of 440 in Madrid
1,730 reviews
Centro
Iberostar Las Letras
Iberostar Las Letras
#46 of 440 in Madrid
1,673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Liabeny? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Liabeny

Address: Calle Salud, 3, 28013 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Centro , Sol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Madrid
#20 Business Hotel in Madrid
#22 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#40 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
Price Range: $112 - $303 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Liabeny 4*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Being positioned in the centre of Madrid makes visiting the city even more appealing. Everything is just minutes' walk from Hotel Liabeny; Puerta del Sol, Madrid's Gran Vía, museums, monuments, historical sites, etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Liabeny reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Liabeny Sercotel
Liabeny Sercotel Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing