We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Location, price, comfort and luxury. Perfect.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Intur Palacio San Martin

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Intur Palacio San Martin
Ranked #71 of 444 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary. AB
Level Contributor
32 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Location, price, comfort and luxury. Perfect.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2011

As most hidden gems, coming out of Metro Opera station not many were acquainted with the location of the hotel. Ask for directions to Monasterio de las Dezcalsas Reales and walk a couple of blocks up to the hotel.

The price quoted for a reservation made the luxurious facade a bit suspicious, could it be too good to be true? It really was. From the attentive and friendly staff, you'd be delighted to stay in a facility that somehow manages to bring together price, service, luxury and location - all in one. It is not only a rarity in Europe but in most major cities in the world.

The beds are extremely comfortable and the authentic decor between the classic and the modern go together perfectly. We didn't get a chance to try the restaurant but the menu made it seem up to the standards. There is a very small fitness facility too.

Palacio Real and other major attractions as Gran Via are just a few steps away. Local shops, pubs and nightclubs are very close too.

Being so close to where the action is in Madrid, the hotel also manages to give you an extremely quiet and peaceful atmosphere.

TIP: Don't rush to use the modern elevator and try the old fashioned/authentic manual elevator which is still in service. It will add to your experience.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BWWblaxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    484
    527
    90
    29
    7
See reviews for
152
588
52
72
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2011

My mother and I stayed at the Intur Palacio San Martin in Madrid for 4 nights. It is beautiful with 19th century style, every graceful and elegant. It is next to a royal convent, acrossed the street is Caja Madrid, a culture fundation with exhibition associated with the Thysen Bornemisa Museum. You see people lined up to visit the convent around the corner. But it is very quiet at night. It is walking distance to most of the sites: Puerta del Sol, Plaza Mayor, Museo del Prado, Museo Thysen Bornemisa, Parque del Retiro, the Royal Palace. The area has many stores and restaurants. The only place we took the subway to is Reina Sofia, the modern art museum. We took the airport express bus (2 euro per person) to Atocha Renfe (railway station), then took a taxi to the hotel on a Saturday which costed 12 euro. I recommend this way to and from the airport. It is a long long way to go by taxi only and would be very expensive. The hotel has a restaurant and bar, gym too. The best thing offered by the hotel is the map. Please ask for this map at the front desk before you venture out, it will save you from getting lost in the meandering streets and little plazas. I bought a Streetwise map for Madrid before my trip and got another city map from the Tourist Information center, but it is the map I got from the hotel I use everyday. This hotel has free Wi-Fi too, just ask for the code at the front desk. There is a computer near the lobby for guests, but no printer. You need to e-mail your airline boarding pass to the hotel and they will print it for you. Overall, I highly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Madrid.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ChicagoYan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shaker Heights, Ohio
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2011

What a great hotel to use as your base for exploring Madrid. Central to the city and perfect for walking and taking in all the sites. The rooms although small (US comparisons) are completely comfortable and well equipped. We were disappointed our room only had a view of the internal courtyard, however all other aspects met our expectations. After a few days touring the city, we received recommendations from the front desk for a restaurant; La Finca de Susana, which turned out to be one of our favorite romantic meals during our two week stay in Spain!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dante_the_Florentine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2011

Booked this hotel due to the excellent reviews and value for money. We booked on a room only basis and requested and were given a room overlooking the square. We had two lovely double doors with balconies, bathroom with bath and shower and very comfortable bed. The room was pristine and was cleaned and had fresh bedding and towels each day. The staff were polite and reserved but also helpful when we had a problem with the safe in the room. Checkout was a generous 12pm and we were able to leave our luggage after checkout and collect later in the afternoon before we had to go to the airport.
There are lots of tapas bars in the streets around the hotel and the shops are minutes away. The location could not be better as it is so near to everything and yet is quieter than most of the areas we explored.
One particular bar we enjoyed is 'Taberna Malpinas' on Calle de Cadiz. The mojitos are excellent, as is the sangria and the squid.
We used the metro to get to and from the airport to the city centre and it is fairly straightforward - it is a long walk but if you only have hand luggage, it is manageable. It costs 2 euro and the nearest metros to the hotel are Opera and Gallao.
We had a great time in Madrid and would definitely recommend this hotel and we will return again.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsH1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
waringstown
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2011

Excellent situation close to metro stations and in the middle of the old part of town. The hotel itself is very clean and extremely comfortable. Previous reviews complained about the reception staff. In my opinion they were very polite and helpful without being intrusive. If you want a bunch of redcoats behind the counter go to Butlins. The bedrooms were well equipped with all the usual bits and pieces and two big twin beds pushed together which were very comfortable. After reading another review we requested a room overlooking the square. There was only one left which our friends got and was like a suite, much bigger than ours. The breakfast was first class all the fruit, cereals, hams/meatsand cheeses you could eat and a selection of cooked breakfasts as well.We didn't get a chance to try out the gym so can't comment. The bar is very small and in the foyer and you have to go to the reception to get a member of staff to serve you but this was only a few steps away so no great problem.This is a relatively small hotel in a lovely area of town which is nice and quiet and night with very comfortable rooms. All in all it was exactly the sort of hotel that we like and I would have no problem in reccomending it to anybody. If you go to the Plaza Mayor there is a beautiful old tapas bar adorned with bulls heads and lots of old photos of bullfights and celebrities who have frequnted it in the past. this is a beutiful little bar but be warned. We ordered a small plate of seafood and one of ham and were charged 50 euros so as much as we enjoyed it make sure and ask the price of your food first.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank psmythWaringstown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pully, Switzerland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2011

Comfortable 4-star hotel, excellent breakfast (buffet), within walking distance of many interesting sites. Restaurants, shops nearby.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Perriard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2011

My wife and I stayed at this hotel at the end of February with 8 other couples. Spacious clean rooms, very quiet, friendly staff and a fantastic location being only a 5 minute stroll to the Puerta del sol and a 10 minute stroll to the palace. Loads of bars and restaurants again all within easy walking distance.

Whilst the breakfast was excellent with plenty of choice, my only negative comment would be that the hotel needed additional breakfast staff to serve / clear up. This is only a minor criticism and certainly did not spoil our stay at this hotel.

I would not hesitate to return to this hotel and would recommend this hotel to anyone visting the beautiful and vibrant city of Madrid.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul046
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Centro
Hotel Liabeny
Hotel Liabeny
#49 of 444 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,752 reviews
Centro
Room Mate Laura
Room Mate Laura
#16 of 444 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,504 reviews
Centro
Hotel Francisco I
Hotel Francisco I
#54 of 444 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Hotel Preciados
Hotel Preciados
#18 of 444 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,547 reviews
Centro
Hotel Europa
Hotel Europa
#37 of 444 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,258 reviews
Malasana
Hotel Atlantico
Hotel Atlantico
#19 of 444 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Intur Palacio San Martin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Intur Palacio San Martin

Property: Intur Palacio San Martin
Address: Plaza San Martin, 5, 28013 Madrid, Spain
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Centro , Sol
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#50 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#53 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
#81 Family Hotel in Madrid
#114 Business Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Intur Palacio San Martin 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Intur Palacio San Martin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intur Palacio San Martin Hotel Madrid
Intur Palacio San Martin Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing