We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An American hotel in Madrid”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
InterContinental Madrid
Ranked #34 of 436 Hotels in Madrid
GreenLeadersSilver level
Pittsburgh
Level Contributor
121 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“An American hotel in Madrid”
Reviewed October 11, 2012

Except for the Spanish (and English with Spanish accents) speaking workers and the late opening of the hotel restaurant, the hotel could be anywhere in a big US city. It's very well located on a beautiful boulevard. The service is excellent. The concierge was very helpful with restaurants. Check-in was easy. Internet access is quite expensive unless you are a Priority Club member, in which case it's free. The room was reasonably spacious by European standards.
Breakfast was included in our rate and was quite a spread. One morning there were even beans that the Brits seem to love. If you are American and want to feel at home, this is the place for you.

Room Tip: Rooms on the boulevard side have a great view. Also, join Priority Club for free Internet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank edward19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICMadrid, Executive Office at InterContinental Madrid, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your comment. Indeed we receive many visitor from United States!

It is a pleasure to see how much you loved our hotel and the neighbourhood.

We look forward welcoming you again soon.

Kind regards,
A.Fernandez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,785 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,068
    498
    158
    37
    24
See reviews for
280
635
94
523
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (306)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Scenic location on the Paseo, with some decent restaurants within walking distance. Good 5 star amenities and service, but no pool (perhaps hard to find in traditional Madrid venues). Some nice surprises, like huge patios on the 7th & 8th floors in some of the executive rooms. Most (but not all) front desk staff are gracious and helpful. Laundry & dry cleaning is pricey, but perhaps typical for this hotel class. Always friendly doorman!

Room Tip: Ask for an outside executive room on the 7th or 8th floor if you would like a large outdoor patio/ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Intjay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICMadrid, Executive Office at InterContinental Madrid, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Dear Guest,

First of all, thank you very much for taking the time out of your busy day to write this nice review about the InterContinental Madrid.
We are always pleased to receive praise and acknowledgment of such a positive nature.

It is really rewarding when a guest recognizes our staff’s efforts and takes the time to say thank you. Your comments will be shared with our entire staff, as reinforcement to continue their efforts to make the InterContinental Madrid a better hotel.

We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you in the future.
Kind regards,
A. Fernandez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ca
Level Contributor
77 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

The lounge had very limited in food and service. Not able to pint a document on the lounge computers. Not in keeping of a 5 star property. We were also disappointed with the location; it is quite removed from the museum area. Too many other excellent hotels in Madrid. We will give the Intercontinental Madrid a miss next time we are in Madrid.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fleish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Madrid, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Dear fleish,

Thank you for staying with us on your recent visit to Madrid and for taking the time to write about your recent experience at our hotel. We strive to accommodate all of our guests and their needs and I’m disappointed that we did not meet your expectations. I’m very disappointed to hear about your experience on your recent stay. I want to assure you our hotel is very proud of its level of service, cleanliness and quality. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas. We welcome any opportunity to improve.

I want to extend my personal apology, and to thank you for helping us improve our hotel and services. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to our hotel and replace your bad experience with one that reflects our true standards.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Level Contributor
37 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012

If the InterContinental Madrid had been another more generic brand, I might have rated it a five. In my mind, however, the InterContinental name automatically raises expectations regarding luxury and service, and the Madrid property fell just short of those expectations.

Mind you, I have no major complaints about the hotel or the service. The entrance lobby just off the street is a bit small and can get very congested and chaotic during peak hours. Then you walk up half a flight of stairs into a truly magnificent space that is very inviting for conversation or a drink and a snack. That area flows into the bar and the restaurant and an open air atrium that make for a very pleasant place to relax with friends.

The room was small but perfectly well appointed. The king-size bed was very comfortable, and the extra-large flat screen TV (42 inches?) in standard room was a nice surprise. The bathroom was small but sumptuous, with high-end Elemis products. Housekeeping was impeccable--probably the best cleaning I've experienced in a hotel over the past couple of years. The mini-bar is incredibly well-stocked but ridiculously expensive (as are drinks and snacks in the lobby bar). Really, there's no reason to pay these kinds of prices for refreshments when you have Madrid at your doorstep, with fantastic tapas and coffee bars every ten feet!

The breakfast buffet is relatively standard--good, but not memorable. Service at breakfast was exceptional, with waiters re-filling the (delicious) cafe con leche as soon as our cups were empty. There were enough changes to the buffet every day to keep things interesting, but I wouldn't have paid for the breakfast if it hadn't come with the room. We didn't learn until the last day of our four-night stay that it was possible to special order omlettes and fritattas at breakfast--that would have been nice to know from the start.

They say that internet costs 10 Euros (a one-time connection fee). However, we were invited to join the InterContinental loyalty club at check-in and then get internet for free (and if you are already a member, you also get free internet). Okay, I get that this is a marketing tool, but why not just give the internet for free to begin with? The staff at both the reception and concierge desks were extremely knowledgeable and helpful, and really went out of their way to answer our questions about things to see and do in Madrid.

The location of the hotel is not ideal. It is a bit out of the way in terms of the major tourist attractions, and there aren't many dining or shopping options in the immediate vicinity of the hotel. Of course, public transportation in Madrid is excellent and there are both metro and bus stops very near the hotel. However, it's not like the location made the hotel any quieter--traffic noise from the main boulevard outside the hotel was a problem.

As I said, we had a very nice stay at the InterContinental Madrid, but it just didn't rise to the standard I would expect from the InterContinental brand--or price. I was staying here on business and the hotel was selected (and paid for) by my company. I'd be happy to come back again on business, but I think I'd stay somewhere else if I were paying for the room myself.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank wbpld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICMadrid, Executive Office at InterContinental Madrid, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor.
Your overall comments are extremely precious to us as it allows us to discuss concrete guest experiences with our teams.

We understand that you did appreciate our product and the comfort of our rooms but we also know that what makes the difference between us and another InterContinental Hotels.

We regret to learn your disappointment. We would like to think it is an exception but have taken the necessary action for this not to happen again.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again soon at the InterContinental Madrid to show you that we do stand out compared to the different brands you mention and that our teams are devoted to meet and exceed guests expectations.

Kind regards,
A.Fernandez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
173 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Hotel is very nice, but need to use metro to get to main attractions. Metro station is very close.
Rooms are good and well equipped.
Be careful wi-fi is not included - you need to pay extra.
Hotel staff was friendly. Rooms were cleqn.

Room Tip: Hotel is located in a business area. No nice views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AVFA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICMadrid, Executive Office at InterContinental Madrid, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your nice feedback and positive rating.

We do hope to have an opportunity to welcome you back to InterContinental Madrid in the near future.

With best regards
A.Fernandez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
187 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Check in staff were polite and helpful through the weekend stay. Room was a shoe box that overlooked the emergency stairs and airconditioners. Did we get this room because we got a great deal on Expedia? Or was it luck of the draw. Breakfast was not very good. Scrambled eggs we renamed egg-soup (both days). Had to retrieve our own cutlery and place setting. Had to stop and request coffee (every morning). It was one of those places with tons of workers running around seeming extremely busy. But no one was getting served. Forget about refills!
They are very close to a Metro station, but a good 20 minute walk to city center.
Beds were rather old style. Our backs were not happy by the second night.
Seems to me that if you want to attract guests you need to offer service and accommodations that give you a reason to stay so far from city center. Been to Madrid before and this just doesn't make the grade. Sorry! Going back to Hotel Urban!

Room Tip: Room 403 facing the interior is an eye sore of a location. Fire escape and a/c units are not attrac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheShortList
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICMadrid, Rooms Division Manager at InterContinental Madrid, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for contacting the InterContinental Madrid regarding your experience during your recent stay. I greatly appreciate you taking the time to bring this matter to my attention and apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced.

It is our goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations and your comments are very important to us. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. I will pass along this comment to the heads of the departments involved so we can take the necessary actions to make sure this never happens again.

We know you have many choices when it comes to lodging and we hope you will continue to choose InterContiental Madrid for your future travel needs.


Kind Regards,
Juan Carlos Caballero
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odense, Fyn, Denmark
Level Contributor
109 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Nice very old style exclusive hotel.
Fine but small room.
Service in the breakfast restaurant not an exclusive hotel worthy.
No free wifi in such an exclusive hotel is bad.
Compared to price the value is not worth it - I will go for another hotel next time.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lars B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Madrid, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Dear Lars B,

Thank you for your feedback. It is our goal to consistently ensure our facilities and service are superior and we strive to provide rates that are competitive in the area. I'm sorry our hotel fell below your expectations. Though I would prefer you had a better experience at our hotel, I would like to thank you for sharing your thoughts as this is our best resource for improving guest services.

I appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback and I hope you give us a chance in the future to make your stay the best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Lera M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Hesperia Madrid
#15 of 436 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,356 reviews
Barrio de Salamanca
Barcelo Emperatriz
Barcelo Emperatriz
#12 of 436 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
Huertas
The Westin Palace Madrid
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barrio de Salamanca
Gran Melia Fenix
Gran Melia Fenix
#29 of 436 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,014 reviews
Huertas
Hotel Villa Real
Hotel Villa Real
#35 of 436 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,680 reviews
Barrio de Salamanca
Hotel Villa Magna
Hotel Villa Magna
#8 of 436 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Madrid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Madrid

Property: InterContinental Madrid
Address: Paseo de la Castellana, 49, 28046 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Chamberi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Madrid
#9 Business Hotel in Madrid
#14 Family Hotel in Madrid
#16 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#28 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Madrid 5*
Number of rooms: 302
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The InterContinental Madrid hotel is a cosmopolitan retreat that opens up the real charm and passion of this vibrant city. A sense of occasion takes over the minute you step into our marble-lined lobby, where a sumptuous brunch is served on Sundays. Fine dining, award-winning business facilities and a 24-hour gym make the hotel a destination in itself. Salamanca's high-end fashion boutiques are a short distance from the hotel, as are Madrid's world-class museums. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, TravelUp, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your InterContinental Madrid reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Madrid Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing