We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“without any charm and warmth”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Mirador de Chamartin
Ranked #220 of 436 Hotels in Madrid
voorschoten,
Level Contributor
37 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“without any charm and warmth”
Reviewed May 15, 2012

We were greeted on a sunday by a very unfriendly looking and not very helpful receptionist. Not a good sign for a 4 star hotel. Room was oke with 2 big beds and a nice bathroom. But what is lacking is this hotel is warmth and charm. It doesnt feel like anyone reealy cares who works there. No information at all in your room. Not about Madrid, not about the swimmingpool, the route to the metro etc. Breaffast was just as lifeless. Everything was there, but just white toast bread and no fresh cakes etc. In Spain almost everywhere you have free wifi, but here you had to pay (which I didn't do). Oke people who stay for their work, maybe do not care if it is free or not, but why you still have to pay for wifi in 2012?? No, I will not return to this hotel. we had a great rate, so that made our stay worthwile but if I would have paid the full price, I would have not be very happy.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anjaVoorschoten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

417 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    195
    87
    38
    12
See reviews for
71
142
18
113
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2012

It's a little bit too far from the city centre (about 30 min from SOL). The hotel is in the walking distance to the metro (10 min) but you are to go uphill and it's not too easy with the luggage. If you travel light it doesn't matter. It easy to get to the airport and to Chamartin train station by metro. Just across the street from the hotel there's a supermarket (doesn't work on Sundays). The surroundings are quiet and green.
I stayed in the hotel twice. Both times the rooms looked great and were clean but... had only one set of shower gel, shampoo, soap and one glass for bathroom (the room was double!). Two different glasses in the room (suppose they don't have similar ones...). Only one set of towels (when I asked they gave me the other one). You can see bathing robes on the hotel photos - we didn't have any. Also the presence of kitchenette is mentioned in the description of the hotel but it is only in some rooms (the second time I stayed in such room), it includes microwave, heating panel, sink a fridge, but no houseware (plates, cups, spoons or anything else) so it doesn't make any sense. Another odd thing is the door-window leading outside from the bathroom to some technical compartment outdoors (!), so it was rather cold in the bathroom even if that door was closed.
The soundproofing is bad! Sometimes I had an impression that someone is taking a shower in by bathroom :)
The staff is not very helpful: when we ask how to get to Toledo the man at the reception gave us wrong directions, so don't count on them.
I'm not sure if I'd recommend this hotel: the price is good for Madrid (I paid 60 euro per night for double), but it is far from centre and there's nothing special about the hotel, so your choice depends on your plans.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fjuka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KITTANNING
Level Contributor
82 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2012

This is out of the way, a kilometer to the Metro. A grocery is near by and a good restaurant. Basically a business hotel. Restaurant is expensive by Spanish standards. WiFi is expensive also. The hotel is immaculately clean and quiet. Desk staff was helpful.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Art S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto, Portugal
Level Contributor
205 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2011

The room was clean, confortable and spacious. The breakfast is the standard one for this kind of Hotel. The amenities are the shampoo and shower gel, and that's all.I liked the room. I dind't like the service and the breakfast.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JOSPIR89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valencia, Spain
Level Contributor
169 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2011

I stayed only one night, departing airport for an early morning flight. Appointments are modern, decor and colors pleasing. Bed are very comfortable. Room size and amenities are excellent. Located in a nice residential neighborhood. Very quite. Cheap weekend rate without breakfast (60€). Metro station where multiple lines converge is within a walking distance from hotel. Central Madrid just a 30-minute 1 euro subway ride. Airport only a 15-minute subway ride. 1€ supplement applies. All in all, a very pleasant hotel convenient to both Madrid center and airport.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Amore64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
43 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2011

We stayed here on two separate nights at either end of our travels elsewhere in Spain.
The hotel was a bit further away from the Metro than the 500m claimed on the website, but was still only 10 mins walk max. We went to & from the airport on the Metro - pretty straightforward if you do your research first on which lines to use.
Reception staff on all occasions were friendly and helpful, and spoke English.
The rooms are reasonably spacious, new and clean. I'm over 6ft in height so the beds were too short, but I get that pretty much anywhere we stay.
Breakfast was tasty and a good variety. Due to long travels we just used room service for dinner - it was prompt, and quite satisfactory.
There's a supermarket just around the corner, as well as a pharmacy and 2 or 3 restaurants / bars. Quiet neighbourhood.

Overall a satisfactory experience.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SmithyNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2011

On the plus side, lovely quiet location with easy routes into the center of Madrid. On the negative side, where do I start? On arrival, the check in took a long time. The hotel itself is nicely presented in a modern fashion. We ordered a twin room but were actually given a double. We did not complain about this as we thought it would be the only problem. We then discovered the room had only been set for one person, despite the fact our check in details clearly stated there were two of us. There were no details about the hotel in the room and the only thing there was a magazine about various places in Madrid. We could see the swimming pool from our room but had absolutely no idea how to get to it! After working through the maze of the hotel, we found the pool! We asked various members of staff about where to go in Madrid and what the best sites were. In the day time, the reception staff were very rude and did not seem concerned about our inquiry and brushed us off. The night porter was the friendliest member of staff who gave us a map and pointed out good places. On our last night, we decided to check out the cocktail bar upstairs. The doors were open and the lights were on but there was no bar man. What looked like a handy man then rang down to reception who told us the bar was not open and we had to go for a drink downstairs. When we went downstairs, we were seated with no option as to where we would like to sit and given the same cocktail menu as the one we had seen upstairs. For some odd reason, the cocktails were more expensive downstairs and when we asked about this, we were brushed off again. We waited for roughly half an hour for our drinks order to be taken and then a further half an hour for the drinks. We then decided to go outside for a cigarette. There were diners on one side, and the other side was empty and so we decided to go away from the diners, thinking they would not like our smoke whilst they were eating! A waiter came out and told us to move immediately, in a very rude tone, as the tables were reserved for diners, although there were only one table eating (the guys we moved away from!) We went back inside and what we assume was the manager then told us we could go back outside and sit on the table we were on! After one drink, we were sick of being treated badly and left the bar. So, if you want to go to a clean hotel and not socialise with staff - this is the place to go. Otherwise, steer clear!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveller0258
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Madrid hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madrid hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel Nuevo Madrid
Hotel Nuevo Madrid
#174 of 436 in Madrid
882 reviews
1.0 mi away
Weare Chamartin Hotel
Weare Chamartin Hotel
#261 of 436 in Madrid
1,299 reviews
5.2 mi away
Eurostars Zarzuela Park
Eurostars Zarzuela Park
#237 of 436 in Madrid
381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Occidental Castellana Norte
1.0 mi away
Villamadrid Hotel
Villamadrid Hotel
#238 of 436 in Madrid
265 reviews
0.6 mi away
Exe Madrid Norte
Exe Madrid Norte
#269 of 436 in Madrid
557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mirador de Chamartin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mirador de Chamartin

Property: Hotel Mirador de Chamartin
Address: Calle Arte 14, 28033 Madrid, Spain (Formerly Suites Husa Mirador de Chamartin)
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#145 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Mirador de Chamartin 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Mirador de Chamartin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Suites Husa Mirador De Chamartin Hotel Madrid
Hotel Husa Mirador

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing