We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Excellent hotel, excellent location for exploring Madrid” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Melia Madrid Princesa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Melia Madrid Princesa
Ranked #63 of 448 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Co Antrim
Level Contributor
58 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel, excellent location for exploring Madrid”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

From the outside, approaching the hotel, it doesn't fill you with joy....but as soon as you step out of your car/taxi etc. and enter reception WOW ! Very decadent chandeliers and ornaments with comfy seating area. Reception check in was quite long (but thorough) but the wait to get into the rooms was worth it. We had a double room with an extra bed, which made the floor space quite cramped, but for a normal double room the space was more than enough. All mod cons in the rooms, and the sliding screens which enable different areas of the room (hallways, bathroom, even the toilet area) to be closed off for privacy is something a lot of hotels could learn from - slippers and bathrobes also showed attention to detail. The minibar / fridge was well stocked and the mood lighting on the bedside tables was a nice touch...The bar area was really nice, and the staff here were extremely polite and friendly...In fact everyone one in the hotel was more than pleasant and able to answer any question asked of them from buying metro tickets to providing directions to McDonalds! Can't comment on restaurant as didn't use it (breakfast is a staggering €20 pp) although the menu del dia looked quite reasonable. Also didn't use spa area but if it is of the same quality as the rest of the hotel then it's probably something to enjoy. Only gripe was the pillows - I hate the square pillows that modern hotels seem to prefer, although I could have requested others if I could have been bothered...All in all, a special hotel, only 2 mins walk to a metro station (ventura rodriguez) and 5 mins walk to Plaza De espana and the bottom of the Gran Via. Next time I am staying in Madrid, this will definitely be top of my list.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DaveH19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaMadridPrincesa, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Madrid Princesa, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Dear DaveH19,

We are delighted of receiving these fantastic comments about your experience, so we thank you very much for taking the time to share them.

Regarding your comments, it is a pleasure to know that we exceeded your expectations because our daily work is to get our customers the best experiences, so the best product and the best service. We are very glad you enjoyed our refurbished hotel, privilege location, service and breakfast. We are extremely focused on the detail and we think detail make the difference.

About the pillow, we have available a pillow menu to all our guest for a better resting comfort.

We are looking forward to stay in your top list in your next visit to Madrid.

Best regards,

Fátima Pelegrina López
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,727 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    856
    582
    210
    56
    23
See reviews for
346
670
64
405
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
cuffley
Level Contributor
128 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

This hotel has 5 star rating but I fail to see how. The rooms are fine but we booked a package through BA and discovered that we only had a basic deal. After travelling etc it was too late and we couldn't be bothered to change the package. But the failing points are. Unless you book The Level you cannot have tea or coffee in your room , The restaurant only opens at 7am and therefore you have to be caffeine free until then. If you wish just to have a tea or coffee the café only opens around 11am so you have to join the restaurant upstairs and pay after.
The room facilities were poor no flannels ! , no tea /coffee facilities. Very clean though and maid attentive. Suggest you take your own toiletries though as despite it being of 5* it lacks the special products that you expect for example the Melia in Palma only uses Clarins products. Know Im being picky but its worth noting.
Location is fine but despite being on 11th floor it was noisy from outsiders revelling until all hours.
reception staff helpful. Printing off boarding passes costs 3 euro's unless you send it to reception and they print it for you.
If you are The Level clients then you get free tapas, coffee,te,drinks alcoholic and non all day but it is costing you around 40 euros more 1 Even the cabin crew from Lufthansa found it hard to get a coffee before they left !!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: Have the breakfast either book when chosing the hotel or pre pay before eating its a little cheaper...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank avisanddavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaMadridPrincesa, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Madrid Princesa, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Dear avisanddavid,

Firstly, we would like to thank you having taken some of your valuable time sending us these comments about your stay with us These comments are the best assistance in our daily work improvement to get the best experience for every customer.

Regarding The Level service, it is our most exclusive service in the hotel, which includes different services as the access to The Level lounge, free entrance to our SPA, coffee and tea facilities, private reception etc...
Besides this, we also have kettles to all our guests subject to availability.

Our amenities are specially designed for Meliá brand and they are different in every brand of Meliá Hotels International.

We do apologize for any inconvenience you had during your stay with us and we would love to have a new opportunity to exceed your expectations.


Kind Regards,

Fátima Pelegrina López
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Very good experience, nice hotel, great view over the city, clean room. Good location in Madrid at Plaza de Espana. Perfect view over the city. Delicious breakfast, big rooms, clean rooms, dont forget the Madrid city tour

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International

Helpful?
Thank Baharbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaMadridPrincesa, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Madrid Princesa, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Dear Baharbie,

We would like to thank you for choosing Meliá Madrid Princesa during your stay in Madrid and the time taking on making these absolutely positive comment about us.

We are delighted to know that you had a perfect experience with us because this is our only aim.

Looking forward to welcome you again in the near future.

Best regards,

Fátima Pelegrina López
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ohio
Level Contributor
41 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Room was fairly spacious and very clean. Location is more residential - good walking distance to a major department store. Only drawback was that when we woke up at 6:30 a.m., and my husband went downstairs in search of a cup of coffee, he was told the coffee pot in the lobby was for employees only, and he would have to wait until 8:00, when the dining room opened. C'mon - can't a person who is standing in front of the pot of coffee grab a cup??

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank betdonoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaMadridPrincesa, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Madrid Princesa, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Dear betdonoh,

Firstly, we would like to thank you having taken some of your valuable time send us these comments about your stay with us. Customers feedback is the best assistance in our daily improvement work to get our aim which is to get excellent experiences in every customer staying with us.

Regarding your comments, we have available some cofee and tea in the lobby at the time you indicate only for crew members whom flights are early in the morning. For guests, we have 24 hours room service available or buffet breakfast from 07:00h am. We are sorry for this misunderstanding.

it will be a pleasure to welcome you again in the near future.

Best regards,

Fátima Pelegrina López
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights with my partner. Very professional service, staff were very helpful, gave us directions, organised a booking for a show and cab. We didn't use the bar much but seemed nice. We liked the room layout (not huge but fine) and the bedside table coloured lights added a nice atmosphere.

Hotel is right next to a metro stop (couple minutes walk tops) and also within walking distance of many of the things we wanted to do, along a main road with shops and cafes.

Only complaint would be that the double bed was actually two singles put together, but as they were ample sized singles this wasn't a problem.

We didn't get the breakfast, so can't comment on that, and didn't use the spa.

Room Tip: We stayed on 4th floor, very near lift but noise didn't bother us. Haven't tried any other r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaMadridPrincesa, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Madrid Princesa, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Dear Rebecca J,

Firstly, Iwe would like to thank you for your valuable time taken on making these comments, as we do with all the travellers on TripAdvisor.

In one hand, we really appreciate your comments made about our service,location (couple of minutes from Ventura Rodriguez metro stop) and room layout. It is a pleasure to know that we reach your expectations.

In the other hand, we have double beds available for our customers but it is subjetc to availability. We are sorry about it.

We would be delighted of welcoming you again.

Regards,

Fátima Pelegrina López
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

We stayed here for a couple of nights as part of our Insight Vacations coach tour, and what an excellent start it turned out to be. Room was an ample size with a good layout, clean and well maintained. breakfast had an extensive choice and staff were courteous and efficient. Reception staff were also very helpful. Metro station right outside the door gave good access to transport.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mikefisheroz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaMadridPrincesa, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Madrid Princesa, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Dear mikefisheroz,

Firstly, we sincerely thank you for these fantastic comments about your stay with your Insight Tour in our hotel. We thank you for your staff comments, location, room comfort etc...everything in general.

It is an enormous pleasure to know the satisfaction of our customer because it is our goal.We are sure your words and comments will help other travellers to choose our hotel.

We would be delighted of receiving you again.

Kind regards,

Fátima Pelegrina López
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
61 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

Stayed with my partner for 3 nights. Very polite and helpful staff. Flawless check in. We stayed on their executive level. Fantastic services provided. Room was well appointed. Breakfast was extensive and very tasty :-). The location is a little off the city centre but a pleasant walk in a nice suburb.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank BenMatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaMadridPrincesa, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Madrid Princesa, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Dear BenMatt,

We thank you very much for saving some time to share your experience with the members and visitors of this huge community so we really appreciate your very nice comments about our staff, flawless check in and breakfast.

I am sure your words and comments will stimulate and motivate all our Human Team to work on the same line of daily improvement.

We hope to receive you again in our hotel in the near future.

Regards,

Fátima Pelegrina López
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Centro
HOTEL OPERA
HOTEL OPERA
#142 of 448 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 stars 940 reviews
Eurostars Madrid Tower
#68 of 448 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 stars 1,751 reviews
Barrio de Salamanca
Gran Melia Fenix
Gran Melia Fenix
#25 of 448 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 stars 1,759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Huertas
ME Madrid Reina Victoria
Silken Puerta America
#89 of 448 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 stars 2,075 reviews
La Latina
Posada del Leon de Oro
Posada del Leon de Oro
#158 of 448 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 stars 421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Madrid Princesa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Madrid Princesa

Property: Melia Madrid Princesa
Address: Calle Princesa 27, 28008 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Arguelles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#44 Business Hotel in Madrid
#49 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
#60 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#68 Family Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Melia Madrid Princesa 5*
Number of rooms: 274
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Completely renovated in 2008 and located just steps away from Madrid main square Plaza de España, this modern Hotel offers spectacular views of the Royal Palace and Casa de Campo. Perfectly situated within walking distance of Gran Via, Plaza Mayor, Puerta del Sol and Madrid's main museums (Prado, Thyssen,...). In addition, a Metro stop can be found right at the entrance of the hotel allowing convenient travel to the airport or Madrid's main local attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Melia Madrid Princesa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Madrid Princesa Hotel Madrid
Sol Melia Madrid Princesa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing