We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel close to the center”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Melia Madrid Princesa
Ranked #60 of 436 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Cesano Maderno, Italy
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Good hotel close to the center”
Reviewed September 6, 2013

The hotel is a 4 stars. It's well located, close to Plaza de Spagna, well connected all over the city due to metro station far few meters wolking.
The hotel itself is good, you can find all services you need, included SPA, Wellness, massages, bar, restaurant. Rooms well manteined and clean. Employees nice and friendly! Amazing breakfast but really expensive (almost 26 Euros/day)
The only one matter not good is the Gym: really hot temperature and old and not well manteined gym stuff! Really bad for an hotel of Melia brand.
I would reccomend..

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eleyven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaMadridPrincesa, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Madrid Princesa, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Dear eleyven,

First of all, we would like to thank you very much for having chosen Meliá Madrid Princesa during your stay in Madrid and for your time taken on making these comments.

It is always a pleasure to know that our customers, as it is your case, had an overall satisfactory stay, enjoying, above all, our location (in one of the main streets of Madrid), services or friendliness of our staff. We work every day to get the highest standards referring product and service in correspondace of our 5 stars hotel category.

About the gym, we are very sorry we did not meet your expectations. Your comments have been reported to the department involved to take whatever corrective measures are necessary.

We would be delighted of welcoming you again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Fátima Pelegrina López
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,201 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,124
    737
    243
    67
    30
See reviews for
452
857
81
527
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Excellent service, most people very helpful. They try to enhance your stay, great breakfast. If you get the upgrade with breakfast & other ammenities save you money & enhances your stay. Very good location although not in the center but walk distance from it.

Several places to eat inexpesive closed by.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alvaroacc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaMadridPrincesa, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Madrid Princesa, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Dear alvaroacc,

Firstly, we appreciate very much your comments regarding your stay at the Melia Madrid Princesa.

We are very glad to know that you had a very good stay and we are delighted about your comments about the staff; do not hesitate that I will share them with the entire team.
Our hotel is situated in one of the main street in Madrid and you can walk in five minutes time to Plaza de España.

Thank you very much again and it will be a pleasure to welcome you back soon.

Regards,

Fátima Pelegrina López
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon, MA
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

This is a very nice hotel overall with ultramodern decor. Big plus with this hotel is that their check in and checkout time is 1 pm. The subway stop Ventura Rodriguez is right outside the hotel so it is convenient to just hop on the subway and get to pretty much anywhere in Madrid.
However it's not the nicest location if you don't want to hop on the subway. There was no place just to grab a cup of coffee and a croissant in the morning. The only options are to have the super expensive voluminous breakfast in the hotel, or walk to the Grand Via which is about a 10 minute walk, or hop on the subway. None of these options were that pleasing to me and when you just want a cup of coffee first thing in the morning without paying 10 euros for it (if you choose room service) it's a little annoying.
I wish they just had one of those coffee makers ubiquitous in every US hotel and I wouldn't be writing this.
Would I stay here again? I might. It really is a very nice hotel with very nice room and bathroom. Ill have to figure something out for morning coffee though...

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travellera781
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaMadridPrincesa, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Madrid Princesa, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear alysha781,

First of all, I would like to thank you for havichoosing us during your last stay in Madrid, as well as for taking the time to post your opinion on Tripadvisor.

It is a pleasure to know that you had a general satisfactory stay despite of not finding any coffee shops nearby the hotel. As we are situated in one of the main streets in the city, there are plenty of places where you can have breakfast in the surroundings, apart from our UNO Bar.

Looking forward to welcome you back soon.

Best Regards,

Fátima Pelegrina López
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

Decor was cool. Bar closes at 12. Rooms were spacious and comfortable no complaints.
Minutes from metro. Not centurally located. Must take train two stops to get to the center and then walk to attractions like plaza st. Ana, del prado museo, and plaza mayor.
If your looking for a quiet location then this is the hotel for you.
Ps try booking thru the hotels webpage for ex tra freebies.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Riva G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaMadridPrincesa, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Madrid Princesa, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear Riva G,

Firstly, we would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review about your experience at Meliá Madrid Princesa. We are glad you enjoyed our decoration as we completely refurbished the whole hotel in 2008 with a large investment, as well as you enjoyed your stay.

Regarding your comments, our hotel is centrally located in one of the main streets of the city and in a walking distance to Plaza Mayor, we are 15 min away. We are situated just 5 min walking from Plaza de España and Gran Vïa, which are main sightseeings in Madrid.

Looking forward to welcome you back soon.

Regards,

Fátima Pelegrina López
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Good points:
Staff were attentive and efficient but lacked personality
Lobby was lovely
Rooms were very clean
Great toiletries, they had thought of most things
Amazing bathroom
Great use of space with sliding doors
Great location - metro outside or short walk to hop on and off tourist bus or short taxi ride anywhere
Feels safe

Bad points
Beds were hard but actually not that uncomfortable
Spa closed on a Sunday
Rooms had bad lighting. Very dark at night, with curtains pulled so tricky for getting ready to go out and the very annoying (but cool) blue lights under the bedside table that didn't help sleep.
Noisy neighbours... Could hear faintly next door and very much heard upstairs at 6.30am!
No kettle but seems standard in Europe

Overall
Works well for a weekend.

Room Tip: Not all rooms are he same size that are the same type.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PrincessWombat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaMadridPrincesa, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Madrid Princesa, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear PrincessWombat,

As we do with all members of this community, we would like to thank you for your time on posting this review about your stay in our hotel.

In one hand, we are very glad to read that you had an overall satisfactory stay, above all with the positive points about it.

In the other hand, we are sorry for the inconveniences caused with the negative points about your stay. All our customers comments are the best assistance in our daily improvement work.

It will be a pleasure to receive you again in Meliá Madrid Princesa.

Kind regards,

Fátima Pelegrina López
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flemish Brabant Province, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
83 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

The hotel is situated in the center at a walking distance from SOL station and from the Royal Palace or Main Square 'Plaza Mayor'. The rooms are a bit small and very noisy if close to the lifts. The staff at the reception nicely accepted to change us from room.
Breakfast in the room was good (enough food and nice breads)
(Babies are not accepted in the pool even if with special swimming diapers)

Room Tip: Surely not close to the lifts and as high as possible in order not to hear the street noises.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandrimiro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaMadridPrincesa, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Madrid Princesa, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear Sandrimiro,

We do really appreciate your comments made about your last stay in Meliá Madrid Princesa. We would like to thank you for choosing us during your stay in Madrid.

It is a pleasure to know that you enjoyed our buffet breakfast and our location. Concerning our rooms, we have rooms in the hotel with different sizes, from 25 m2 up to 105m2 available to all our guests.

Looking forward to welcome you back.

Regards,

Fátima Pelegrina López
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newry, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

the management in this hotel really need to wake up and realise in a 5 star hotel that unhelpful bar staff and closure of facilities because it is quiet season does not work, it might work in a 1, 2 or 3 star hotel, but in a 5 star hotel SERVICE is and has always been the key word.

Room Tip: do not accept a room at the front of this hotel as the noise from ambulances passing by at night doe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank harryscruffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaMadridPrincesa, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Madrid Princesa, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear harryscruffy,

Firstly we appreciate your time making this review about your stay with us. Feedback from our customers is the best assistance in our daily improvement letting us know possible misunderstandings or lack of information and take whatever corrective measures are necessary.

We are really sorry we did not exceed your expectations as in low seasons some of our services have different timetables.

It would be a pleasure to receive you again in Meliá Madrid Princesa having a new opportunity of demostrate our best customer care.


Kind regards,

Fátima Pelegrina López
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Barrio de Salamanca
Gran Melia Fenix
Gran Melia Fenix
#36 of 436 in Madrid
2,121 reviews
Eurostars Madrid Tower
#97 of 436 in Madrid
2,103 reviews
La Latina
Posada del Leon de Oro
Posada del Leon de Oro
#150 of 436 in Madrid
519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Silken Puerta America
#108 of 436 in Madrid
2,700 reviews
Chamberi
InterContinental Madrid
InterContinental Madrid
#34 of 436 in Madrid
1,847 reviews
Huertas
ME Madrid Reina Victoria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Madrid Princesa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Madrid Princesa

Property: Melia Madrid Princesa
Address: Calle Princesa 27, 28008 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Arguelles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#44 Business Hotel in Madrid
#47 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
#59 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#68 Family Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Melia Madrid Princesa 5*
Number of rooms: 274
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Completely renovated in 2008 and located just steps away from Madrid main square Plaza de España, this modern Hotel offers spectacular views of the Royal Palace and Casa de Campo. Perfectly situated within walking distance of Gran Via, Plaza Mayor, Puerta del Sol and Madrid's main museums (Prado, Thyssen,...). In addition, a Metro stop can be found right at the entrance of the hotel allowing convenient travel to the airport or Madrid's main local attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Prodigios Interactivos SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Melia Madrid Princesa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Madrid Princesa Hotel Madrid
Sol Melia Madrid Princesa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing