We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Location, little cramped for space”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Melia Madrid Princesa
Ranked #65 of 436 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fantastic Location, little cramped for space”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

The location of the Hotel is fantastic, just aside the main shopping district of Madrid and very commutable to any part of the city. The rooms are a little cramped though, or so i thought. If you sit with 2 colleagues for some work or just to talk it looks crowded. Breakfast was sumptuous and offered a lot of variety, Didn't try any other food at the hotel but heard it was good. The location is such that a lot of restaurants are around the hotel so one can spoil himself/herself for choice. Its a good choice for someone visiting Madrid and even better if on a Business trip.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cassiopaeia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaMadridPrincesa, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Madrid Princesa, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Dear Cassiopaeia,

Firstly, we would like to thank you for your time taken on making this review, as we do with all Tripadvisor members, about your experience with us.

It is a pleasure to know that you had a good experience in Meliá Madrid Princesa and you enjoyed our privilege location. We have different sizes of room, from 25 m2 in a standard room to 33 m2 in a premium room or 105 m2 in our Presidential suite.

We would love to be again your hotel chosen in your next visit to Madrid.

Kind regards,

Fátima Pelegrina López
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,086
    723
    240
    65
    30
See reviews for
440
830
78
518
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
northern ireland
Level Contributor
73 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Was visiting Madrid for the first time, my daughter was working there and told me to find an Hotel close to Sol.
I found this hotel at a really good price and was pleasantly surprised. From our flight touched down to the Hotel lobby took just under an hour using the Metro and cost only 4.5 euro. Catching metro at the airport to Nuevos Ministerios then change to Plaza De Espana. Only a short walk from here.
Our room was very modern and on the top floor, offering wonderful views of Madrid and Royal Palace. Bottle of iced Cava waiting in our room was a nice touch. Lovely bathroom, robes and lots of towels, I loved the lighting touches in the room, with options to change colours etc.
We walked everywhere from the Hotel, Royal Palace, Sol Centre and Cathedral allowing us the chance to see beautiful Madrid streets.
Breakfast was expensive so we did not eat in the Hotel, lots of cafes close by.
Overall a great value 5 star Hotel close to the centre of this beautiful Capital and I would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JAMES m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaMadridPrincesa, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Madrid Princesa, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Dear brian m,

Thank you for your time on posting this review about your recent stay with us.

It is a pleasure to read tha you enjoyed our location, very close to all the main sights and it was a perfect choice during your visit to Madrid.

We would also be very happy to welcome you again in the near future.

Regards,

Fátima Pelegrina López
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
119 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2013

The hotel is located slightly away from the main drag, past the end of Gran Via near Plaza de Espana. Ventura Rodriguez Metro is right outside with an elevator access across the street. If you are arriving by air, we would recommend taking subway as all interchange stations have elevators. Don’t confuse the hotel’s building with Melia’s HQ which is right next door.

Some landmarks within very short walking distance are: Plaza de Espana, Templo de Debod, and Palacio Real.

The lobby was impressively decorated, but small. Check-in very smooth. Our room 623 had a queen size comfortable bed with nice linen. The room was very small but well and modernly appointed with a door separating foyer from bedroom, which significantly cut down the hallway noise. Somehow the room fit a lounge chair, TV, small desk, fridge/minibar and a safe. A long binder on the desk contained instructions for safe, lights, and shower, which we found quite necessary. Keep in mind that you need to use your keycard to use the safe, although some of them may not be “magnetised enough,” as a repairman found out after spending about an hour on it.

The room also had mood nightlights (red, green, blue, etc), open-able windows, strong central a/c, double sinks in the washroom (even though the spouts were kind of awkward to use). There was no kettle or coffee maker.

The hotel does offer free wi-fi, but we could not catch it in the room. To be fair, we did not investigate further.

For €60 per room you can get a package, which includes breakfast, tapas and unlimited drinks at the Level bar until 11 along with access to the spa (gym and pool). We cancelled ours after one day, we found it a bit pricey for the tapas selection, which were quite fancy but cold, but breakfast spread was very impressive.

In case you don’t know, in Spain they use the “deep” variety of electric sockets, which were incompatible with our “flat” adapter. Luckily, the hairdryer had one of those “for shavers only” outlets.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank E-Taimz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaMadridPrincesa, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Madrid Princesa, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Dear ExistingAlternatives,

Firstly, we would like to thank you for your time spent on post this review about your experience in Meliá Madrid Princesa.

We are very glad to read that you had an overall satisfactory stay and you enjoyed your room and facilities. About your comments of tea and coffee facilities, at the moment we have availabitlity only in superior rooms althoug we have them on request too as the electricity adaptors. Our hotel is situated in a privilege location, just a few metres from Plaza de España square in one of the main streets of the city.

It will be a pleasure to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,

Fátima Pelegrina López
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013

We arrived to the Melia on our daughters 10th birthday and my husband and I's anniversary. The hotel had delivered some special treats to the room in celebration which was a great way to start our stay. We arrived in Madrid via the train and took the Metro line 1 to 3 and got off at the Melia Princesa which was accross the street. Over the last couple of weeks we had used the metro in Italy and France and so we thought we would be comfortable doing it in Spain as well. After the experience I would recommend taking a cab to the hotel rather than the metro. The metro was very large and extremely busy and we were told pick pockets were everywhere. We did not experience anything negative, but I would just say be alert and if you can take the cab (more expensive) it may may be worth it. The breakfast was outstanding. We had been traveling for over 2 weeks and this was a great spot to end our travels and my husband and daughter loved the morning experience. Andrea in the breakfast area was very attentive and always provided a high level of service to us. The bell man downstairs was very friendly and thoughtful about directing us or attending our needs. We had pre arranged a shuttle to the airport which I would highly recommend doing. The aiprort is quite far out and you definitley should allow 2 hours or MORE. We arrived at the airport, wait in the lines and then a tram to the gates and walk and walk and walk some more. When we got to the gate the plane was ready to board wihin 5 or 10 minutes so not a whole lot of time to spare. The hop on hop off bus tour was excellent too and convenient to get on in relation to this hotel. The hotel provides easy walking to great shopping and sights.We would recommend this hotel as it turned out to be our favorite one over the last couple of weeks

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MVBonilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaMadridPrincesa, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Madrid Princesa, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear MVBonilla,

We thank you for taking the time to share your excellent experience regarding your recent stay in Meliá Madrid Princesa. Thank you for choosing us for these special occasions as birthday and anniversary.

It is a pleasure to read that you enjoyed our location and our friendliness staff. Our privilege location let our customers to go by walk all the main citysights. To go to the airport the estimated time to get there is around 30 minutes by taxi, by underground it will take you longer.

We are very pleased to know that we are one of your favourite hotels and we are looking forward to receive you in the near future.

Kind regards,

Fátima Pelegrina López
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

I had the best time and i am going back there.
The staff are wonderful and lovely and they made my birthday the best ever.
The location was great, which made it so easy 2 get round on foot and the night life was good, i so loved it.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nattynats1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaMadridPrincesa, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Madrid Princesa, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear Nattynats1,

In your case, we can only thank you for these positive comments about your recent stay with us and thank you for taking the time for posting them.

It is an absolute pleasure to read that we helped to make your birthday even more special, so thank you too for choosing us for such a special occasion.

We would be delighted of welcome you back.

Kindest regards,

Fátima Pelegrina López
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
61 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2013

The receptionist was extremely, helpful, friendly and professional. I felt very welcome. The room itself is not extremely spacious but does the job. Again the furniture and floors were a bit scratched and dented, but everything seemed clean and maintained - just been used for some time. I could hear the street noise clearly, but this did not disturb me. Also noises from other rooms come through the walls quite clearly.

What disturbed me was that there was an offer on everything - if you buy dinner from the reception there is a discount, if you show the greeting letter you get discount at the bar etc etc. I'd much prefer a no hassles straight price and I wouldn't have thought that a 5 star hotel caters for bargain hunters looking for 1 or 2 euro savings.

The breakfast pricing is a disgrace 20 euro. I had my usual coffee and croissant. Could've gotten that at 10th of the price in a nearby cafe, but as the hotel says that they serve breakfast and I'd planned my schedule accordingly, so I had to take the hotel offering or work with an empty stomach until the Spanish lunch hour... Anyway, the breakfast buffet was large, caters for whatever taste you may have. But getting coffee was a pain. I am not used to asking for coffee multiple times and then finally getting just one cup before having to rush out.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ilefu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaMadridPrincesa, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Madrid Princesa, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
Dear Illefu,

Firstly, we thank you for your review about your experience with us, so your time taken on make it. All our customers feedback is invaluable and much appreciated.

We are very glad you enjoyed our service although we are very dessapointed to learn that you could not perceive the large investment made in refurbished the whole building in 2008, so that we did not exceed your expectations about your stay. Access to our different services is easier for our customers through occasional promotions.
Regarding our breakfast, it is a breakfast buffet with more than one hundred products so the price is settled according the quality and variety of itself.

Because all of this, once again, we do apologize for the inconveniences found.

We would love to welcome you again in the next future.

Best regards,

Fátima Pelegrina López
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cooper City, Florida
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2013

The location of the hotel is excellent. Before our arrival we sent a number of emails regarding our concerns and questions which were promptly answered by Fatima Pelegrina Lapez or her staff. We had a question after our departure and again it was promptly addressed. During our stay the front desk staff were always very helpful, smiling and very pleasant. Though we anticipated having to communicate to some degree in Spanish the hotel staff all spoke English. Bianca was great with directions and restaurant suggestions and Remedios made it possible to have a tea kettle in our room. The breakfast selection was extensive and a special note to the omelet preparers Ileana and Rida. Our room 1018 had a great city view, was quiet in spite of being near the elevator and facing the main street. The furnishings and room accommodations were perfect.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nem1219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaMadridPrincesa, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Madrid Princesa, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
Dear Mark&Adrian,

On behalf of myself personally and all Meliá Madrid Princesa team, specially Rida, Iliana, Bianca and Remedios, we all thank you for choosing us during your stay in Madrid and these lovely comments about your stay.

All your comments motivate and help us in our achievement of getting unforgettable experiences in our customers. To read that it has been like that it is an enormous satisfaction

We will be delighted of receiving you again in a near future.

Kindest regards,

Fátima Pelegrina López
Guest experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Barrio de Salamanca
Gran Melia Fenix
Gran Melia Fenix
#34 of 436 in Madrid
2,049 reviews
Eurostars Madrid Tower
#95 of 436 in Madrid
2,060 reviews
Silken Puerta America
#100 of 436 in Madrid
2,660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Huertas
ME Madrid Reina Victoria
La Latina
Posada del Leon de Oro
Posada del Leon de Oro
#143 of 436 in Madrid
504 reviews
Chamberi
InterContinental Madrid
InterContinental Madrid
#35 of 436 in Madrid
1,803 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Madrid Princesa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Madrid Princesa

Property: Melia Madrid Princesa
Address: Calle Princesa 27, 28008 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Arguelles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#44 Business Hotel in Madrid
#51 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
#59 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#68 Family Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Melia Madrid Princesa 5*
Number of rooms: 274
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Completely renovated in 2008 and located just steps away from Madrid main square Plaza de España, this modern Hotel offers spectacular views of the Royal Palace and Casa de Campo. Perfectly situated within walking distance of Gran Via, Plaza Mayor, Puerta del Sol and Madrid's main museums (Prado, Thyssen,...). In addition, a Metro stop can be found right at the entrance of the hotel allowing convenient travel to the airport or Madrid's main local attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Prodigios Interactivos SA, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Melia Madrid Princesa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Madrid Princesa Hotel Madrid
Sol Melia Madrid Princesa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing