We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“ABSOLUTELY RUBBISH” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Melia Madrid Princesa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Melia Madrid Princesa
Ranked #66 of 444 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“ABSOLUTELY RUBBISH”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2012

I didn't book the most expensive room in this hotel but was still expecting a 5 star hotel would have some kind of a standard. I was sooo wrong. The rooms are small, the decoration sleezy, trying to be modern but cheaply done with plywood. The corridors are in horrible worn-out red carpet which reminds me of karaoke joints. Sound proofing is non existent so I heard everyone on the same floor slamming their doors. I found lip prints on tumblers in my room. The so-called spa is manned by a equally sleezy guy. The check-in process was certainly an experience - we were not treated politely nor professionally. Then we asked for a kettle for a cup of tea, the guy at the check-in desk flatly said they don't have kettles. I asked again later and another lady told me only people at superior rooms can have a kettle. It was so "nice" to be treated as a "valued" guest. Would I go back or recommend this to any one - absolutely NOT!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Katrina W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaMadridPrincesa, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Madrid Princesa, responded to this review, May 21, 2012
Dear Ms. Katrina,

Firstly, we would like to thank you for your time taken writting this feedback about your stay with us. Comments such as yours help us to correct possible mistakes and create new procedures to avoid any similar situation in the future.

We regret your negative impression of our hotel as our aim is to exceed our customers expectations.
Please do accept our most sincere apologies for all these inconveniences.
It would be a great pleasure for us to count with a new opportunity to demostrate our professionalism and our best customer care.

At your entire disposal,

Fátima Pelegrina López
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,006 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,000
    687
    228
    63
    28
See reviews for
409
776
73
484
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2012

My wife and I spent 3 days there last weekend. Location is great - a couple of blocks away from Plaza Espana. We stayed in a room on The Level, which is the club floor. The room was very funky. You can change the lighting colour. The furniture and decor was fun. The wardrobe opens on one side into the entry passage and on the other into the bathroom - useful. The bathroom was nice too. However the room is small with no proper suitcase space. The reading lights can't be pointed down at whatever you are reading and it took an effort to switch them off. The breakfast buffet was generous but on one morning every unoccupied table was dirty. We had to ask the manager to get someone to clean one for us. And then there was hardly any fresh fruit left, although it was nearly 2 hours before closing. We therefore went down to the "level", where free drinks and snacks and a breakfast are available. Guess what - the eggs had not been replaced and there were no serviettes. We asked for fresh eggs and after 20 minutes of waiting we gave up. Clearly poor management in both areas. We did complain and were given a late check-out to compensate - fair enough. Then on the Sunday we were told the pool/sauna/jacuzzi area was shut - apparently it doesn't open on a Sunday. Must say the level is generally a very nice area in which to relax. Plus we had two really good meals at the restaurant. So a pretty mixed bag. Would we recommend? Hmmmm...

Room Tip: The "level" rooms are worth paying extra for, as you get free drinks and snacks from aroun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GBFoodJunkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaMadridPrincesa, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Madrid Princesa, responded to this review, May 16, 2012
Dear GBFoodJunkie,

We would like to thank you for spending some of your time sharing with all Tripadvisor your experience in Meliá Madrid Princesa.

It is a challenge for us to make every customer an unforgettable memory of their time with us, so we are very glad for your positive comments and we will take whatever measures are necessary to correct the rest of your feedback that did not make a completely pleasant stay.
All your comments have been reported to all the departments involved to avoid these situations or any similar situation in the future.

It will be a pleasure for us to have a new opportunity to receive you again.

At your entire disposal,

Fátima Pelegrina López
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
132 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2012

We were 10 ladies, sharing 5 twin rooms and we opted for The Level service. This is an upgrade so that you get a free (and it is genuinely free) bar/coffee and canapes all day, from 11am to 11pm. For us, it was great to be able to have drinks before going out for the evening or to stop off for coffee and cakes during the day. We reckon it saved us money as we started each evening with fizz and canapes before going out for the night. You also get included: late breakfast, your own concierge (very helpful) and, very usefully, late check out (we checked out at 4pm). So, if you are drinkers then The Level is well worth it.

The rooms were really good and there is even a pillow menu and complimentary water and sweets. The beds were super comfortable too.

The hotel is a little off the main tourist area but, as taxis were cheap, (7 euros to most places), it wasn't an issue at all. There are also some good shops around the hotel too.

The Spa and Pool are average - they don't reflect the level of decor throughout the rest of the hotel. We didn't use either in the end.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DublinJane_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaMadridPrincesa, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Madrid Princesa, responded to this review, May 16, 2012
Dear Ms. Jane,
we would like to thank you for your time taken making these valuable comments.

It is an authentic pleasure receive such a positive comments of your stay with us. We are very glad you all ejoyed The Level service, which is our most exclusive service in Meliá Madrid Princesa.

Looking forward to welcome you again,

Fátima Pelegrina López
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medellín, Colombia
Level Contributor
215 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2012

This Melia is a good option if you're looking for a nice and well located place to stay in Madrid, without needing to stay on a really crowded and noisy area. As usual, guess writing a list of pros and cons would help you choose it better and have a better picture.

PROS:
- Location, really good and two blocks away from a couple Metro stations
- Price, good cost-benefits option
- Spacious bathroom

CONS:
- Our room for two people, two eds was a bit small for my taste and the usual standards. The two beds were separate, but placed together, because they don not have more space. If you don't mind that, no problem. If you do, you should ask before making your reservation for a bigger (more expensive) room
- No free parking, but theres one next door (24 Euros per night)

If you ask me, I'd go back!

Room Tip: Ask for a big one... the standard ones are quite small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ColombiaJuanSe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaMadridPrincesa, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Madrid Princesa, responded to this review, May 1, 2012
Dear customer,

On behalf of myself and all the staff of the Meliá Madrid Princesa, we would like to thank you for having chosen us for your stay in Madrid, as well as for taking the time to post your opinions on Tripadvisor.


Your valued feedbacks and co-operation will help us with our continuing effort to improve the service quality and to ensure our main priority of total guest satisfaction.

We will be very pleased to welcome you next time you visit us.

Warm regards,

Fátima Pelegrina López
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Level Contributor
267 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2012

this hotel near placio real but the room is too small for us, their breakfast was delicious. we just stayed only one night from barcelona we took eurail to madrid and stayed there. my room view not good but thats ok.

Room Tip: i think you should asking the receptionist which floor is good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank amazinggirls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaMadridPrincesa, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Madrid Princesa, responded to this review, May 10, 2012
Dear customer,
we do really appreciatte your time taken making these comments about your stay with us. It is
very important to receive all our customers comments which help us to improve and to achieve our aim: exceed our customers expectations.

We are looking forward to receive you again in Meliá Madrid Princesa and hopefully for a longer stay.

Regards,

Fátima Pelegrina López
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2012

Ghastly sums it up. We had melia points from work trips (Gran fenix)so decided to use them here, what a mistake. The reception was glum - oops no parking as reservations had led us to believe but worse especially for our disabled child the public handicapped parking spot was constantly taken up by the hotels limo! And no we could not use the pool and spa - why not? - you got a cheap deal lady and have to pay extra for that. Well they could have told me before hand. Access to other recreation areas was also extra - we were unceremoniously dragged out of an open lounge waiting area by vigilante staff. This was sad when the room was mini mini and the walls were paper thin clack clack clack on floor in the next room. In addition, we had paid 50 euros extra for the tiny roll out bed. So Melia certainly let their serious business clients on holidays see the sad side of accomodation in Madrid. The deco is terrible 60s black and red with very dim lighting so you might not notice the condition of the hallways. Do not waste time and money in this hotel

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank GeorginaParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaMadridPrincesa, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Madrid Princesa, responded to this review, May 10, 2012
Dear Ms. Georgina,

Firstly, I would like to thank you having taken some of your valuable time sending us your comments about your experience. Comments such as yours are the greatest assistance to us in identifying possible misunderstandings or lacks of information that may exist in our hotel and, subsequently, taking whatever corrective measures may be necessary.

We would like to offer our most sincere apologies for all the inconveniences caused, not reaching your expectations or needs about room, SPA or Parking facilities.

It will be a pleasure for us to have a new opportunity to receive you in Meliá Madrid Princesa. I will personally make sure you have a very enjoyable experience.


I remain at your entire disposal,

Fátima Pelegrina López
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belgium
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2012

Nice hotel, good beds, good breakfast. Excellent location.

Room Tip: We had a the level room, booked directly at the hotel, and we were very satisfied.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HugoMia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaMadridPrincesa, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Madrid Princesa, responded to this review, May 1, 2012
Dear Mr. Hugo,

we thank you for your comments made about your experience during your stay with us. It is always a pleasure to receive a positive feedback from our customers.

We are looking forward to welcome you soon again.


Kind regards,
Fátima Pelegrina López
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Barrio de Salamanca
Gran Melia Fenix
Gran Melia Fenix
#26 of 444 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,932 reviews
Eurostars Madrid Tower
#83 of 444 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,977 reviews
Silken Puerta America
#103 of 444 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
La Latina
Posada del Leon de Oro
Posada del Leon de Oro
#144 of 444 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
Huertas
ME Madrid Reina Victoria
Centro
HOTEL OPERA
HOTEL OPERA
#151 of 444 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,026 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Madrid Princesa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Madrid Princesa

Property: Melia Madrid Princesa
Address: Calle Princesa 27, 28008 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Arguelles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#44 Business Hotel in Madrid
#50 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
#59 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#68 Family Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Melia Madrid Princesa 5*
Number of rooms: 274
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Completely renovated in 2008 and located just steps away from Madrid main square Plaza de España, this modern Hotel offers spectacular views of the Royal Palace and Casa de Campo. Perfectly situated within walking distance of Gran Via, Plaza Mayor, Puerta del Sol and Madrid's main museums (Prado, Thyssen,...). In addition, a Metro stop can be found right at the entrance of the hotel allowing convenient travel to the airport or Madrid's main local attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Prestigia, Hotel.de, HRS, Reservation Counter and Prodigios Interactivos SA so you can book your Melia Madrid Princesa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Madrid Princesa Hotel Madrid
Sol Melia Madrid Princesa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing