We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An American in Madrid”
Review of Hesperia Madrid

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hesperia Madrid
Ranked #15 of 437 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 8, 2012

This is my 6th visit to Madrid and my fourth hotel. If you have not been to Madrid before and do not have a command of Spanish then this is a great hotel for you. It, like many so called 5 start Madrid hotels, have plenty of staff, including the waiters, that have a command of English. Indeed, the music is all American rock. Converselyy, if you want a true Spanish experience in your hotel then perhaps this is not the one for you.

The location on the Paseo de Castellana is very good, though not as good as the Westin Palace whcih is near the Prado and Plaza Mayor, but it is near many other museums and if traveling for business it is much closeer to the business center (5 minute cab ride). It is a 7-8 minute cab ride to the nicest shopping areaa or you can get there if you like a bit of a longr walk, but it is walkable.

The lobby is nice and the hotel does sport a two Michelin star restaurant (Santceloni). We found the food to be quite good and the hotel seems to put a lot of efffort into its cusine.

The staff is very friendly and accomodating and they seem to truly appreciate your business.

The most importnat aspect of a hotel is its rooms. We were in room 407, a junior suite. The suite has a king size bed and another room with two twin beds. There was plenty of room, though the closet space is sparse and does not have enough hangers, which annoyed my wife. There were some other nice luxuries like robes, slippers and other amenities like lotions and soaps. The bathroom itself is not large, but sufficient. The room was very clean and the bed comfortable, but trending towards the harder side from a mattress perspective. There is a turn down service as well. There is a small desk that is large enough for most people.

My biggest complaint is the internet. The service is free, however, if you do not use it for a few minutes you have to sign in again. In a given day I must have signed in 10-15 times which is just stupid.

I was here for a conference and the meeting facilities were also nice and the food served was surprisingly good. Temperature control was a bit of a problem, but only in a minor way.

Pricing is not too bad commpared to similar hotels and is significanlty better than the Palace Hotel (Westin). Overall, a very nice stay with a little bit of luxury. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: The superior rooms are queen size beds vs. the suites. Also, the upper floors are newly remodeled...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stacey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,465)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

566 - 572 of 1,465 reviews

Reviewed June 3, 2012 via mobile

The hotel has great breakfast and though it is 24 euros it is value for money. Staff are friendly and a credit to the brand. Room was a disappointment - it had a view of a wall 2 or 3 metres away and was dark. But it was quite quiet. Location worked for me as I was staying for business and close to where I needed to be. The room service was very good - sushi - and speedy. No iron in the room was main disadvantage for me - the pressing service was far too expensive for the quality.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank London_Travellers_09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2012

We just returned from our Spain vacation. Last few days we spent at this hotel and were not disappointed with our choices from 5 Star list. Very well situated on Paseo Castallena, one of the major street. Metro station 'Georgino Maranon' just 20 meters at the corner. Also major station 'Nuevo Ministerios' also 10-15 minutes walk, which is major junction to catch any metro lines as well as Renfe lines to go Escorial etc. This street also offers great shopping choices from budget minded as well as high end fashion stuff. There is also Bus station close by to catch buses to go Puerto De Atocha for major fast trains to souther parts like Cordoba, Toledo, Sevilla & Granada. Also at a close distance by Bus is Plaza Colon, where you can catch 'Hop on Hop off' (HoHo bus) both routes for 20 Euro to get glimpse of all major sites that you can visit later. This hotel only includes breakfast with Jr Suits and Suits type rooms, other wise it cost you around 24 Euros, a bit expensive. Service was excellent, any time you ask for anything or any information Concierge is willing to help you as well the room service is quick and efficient. Standard as well as superior Rooms are quite big and also include safe, Mini bar, Bath robs, TV etc for comfortable stay. Front main street facing rooms are more desirable but even the ones facing back side (Court yard) are quite good, I would ask for higher floor as well. All in all we had great stay at this hotel. For sure, if we're back in Madrid, will stay here. Posting some pictures here for reference here. "Enjoy the journey ! you only go around once"

Room Tip: Higher floor, front street facing & definately non smoking .....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank WanderingGipsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2012

Hotel is nice and quaint... It won't be around much longer as they are converting the hotel into condos... Overall, good service and staff is friendly. Most staff is bilingual in English and Spanish... I had no problem communicating with the staff as I speak both languages. Only issue is that the hotel is quite far from the heart of the city, but it is close to the US Embassy.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2012

Well situated in one of the most upscale part of Madrid ,part of the LHW,this hotel is a very good choice.As i said the location is perfect, the rooms are not very big but are well decorated,with a very confortable bed and plasma tv and all the necessary aminities,being the toilatries of very good quality.
Service is very good at the front desk ,with helpful staff,speaking reasonable english.
Concierge is also good in reccommendations but difficult to find ( most of the time there is nobody at the concierge desk) .
Breakfast is exccellent, although some of the waiters are not in a very good mood most of the times,but the variety and the quality of the food is really superb.
The bar is ok.
Price is very reasonable.
It is really a good choice in Madrid.

Room Tip: high floor not facing the main avenue are quiter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank isabel a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2012

Getting there from the airport was easy, I took the subway and the station is right around the corner, some 20 metres. Once in the hotel, staff helped with my bags, and I was greeted in perfect English. I was given a room after they checked my preferences with me, very nice and clean room, very quiet as I wanted to have a good rest before my meetings the day after. Breakfast was great and the overall experience could not be any better, I will for sure be coming back the Hesperia. One thing I noticed for sure is that the staff is the most friendly I have seen out there, and I travel quite a lot, but had never met such a team.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Redsan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2012

One of the best hotels I ever stayed. A 5-stars hotel.
The service is impeccable, breakfast is great, rooms are clean and dustless.
The bed is a queen size bed with a down blanket.
These days, most 4-stars hotels look clean but are dusty (I am allergic to dust).
I have been to 4-stars (and above) hotels in recent years, but this is the only one that
I feel really dust-free.
I have not tried its restuarants, and one is Michelin-awarded restaurant and they should be good.
However, this hotel is not perfect. It locates in a quiet exclusive residential area, about
10-15 minutes drive to downtown, and do not have much to see around the hotel.
A subway station is not far away and taking a taxi is quite convenient.
The bed is not as comfy as a 4-start hotel I stayed in this trip.
As a 5-stars hotel, they should have a comfy king or king plus bed.
Also, the shower is an old fashion shower with a bathtub.
But all in all, an excellent hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ed_Mississauga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Chueca
Only YOU Boutique Hotel Madrid
Barrio de Salamanca
Barcelo Emperatriz
Barcelo Emperatriz
#13 of 437 in Madrid
559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Gran Melia Palacio de Los Duques
Chamberi
Hotel Orfila
Hotel Orfila
#1 of 437 in Madrid
1,098 reviews
Chamberi
InterContinental Madrid
InterContinental Madrid
#38 of 437 in Madrid
1,893 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hesperia Madrid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hesperia Madrid

Address: Paseo de la Castellana, 57 | Chamberi, Centro, 28046 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Madrid
#8 Family Hotel in Madrid
#12 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
#13 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
Price Range: $167 - $493 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hesperia Madrid 5*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located, the sophisticated and chic Hotel Hesperia Madrid is one of the city's leading contemporary luxury showcases. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, NHHotels, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Cancelon, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hesperia Madrid reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hesperia Madrid Hotel Madrid
Hesperia Hotel Madrid
Madrid Hesperia Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing