We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay”
Review of Holiday Inn Madrid

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Madrid
Ranked #297 of 440 Hotels in Madrid
Reviewed November 15, 2013

I stayed at this Hotel on business twice over the past two weeks. Three nights the first stay, 4 nights the second stay.

Check in on the first occasion was very good and I was given wifi vouchers in an envelope with key for three days as well as acknowledged as IHG Priority Member.

The first room had three maintenance issues which was reported the following morning. One of the three issues were rectified.

The room was large and comfortable with all one needed, although sound proofing between rooms was not good, but also not a major issue.

Breakfast was good and the staff were prompt and attentive to any needs.

Second check in was indifferent. I received one wifi voucher, even though staying four nights and was not acknowledged as an IHG Priority Member. I had to request extra vouchers on the subsequent days, which I found irritating when half way through a document of work, the internet would run out.

The second room was better in all respects.

The location is excellent for business, breakfast once again was good with pleasant and attentive staff.

However, on the the second stay, I found the male staff on Reception not as pleasant as during my first stay.

I would stay again as all in all, it was good value for money considering the location, although not luxurious.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GM2009Milano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paloma M, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Madrid, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comments.
We hare happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. And we really apologise about Your last visit as our main concern is client satisfaction
On the other hand, we would like to inform you that on the near future is planned to make a full refurbishment of rooms including the soundproofing between rooms.
Hoping to welcome you back to Holiday Inn Madrid soon,

Yours sincerely,
Paloma Muñoz
Front Desk Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (826)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

187 - 193 of 826 reviews

Reviewed October 28, 2013

10-15 minutes to airport by taxi.
Approximately 10 minutes to Puerta Del Sol- Gran Via.
They serve good vines.
Rooms were clean and quiet.
It is a little bit old fashioned hotel.
It is better for families and business trips.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank burcin_elverdi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paloma M, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Madrid, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comments.
We hare happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.
On the other hand, we would like to inform you that on the near future is planned to make a full refurbishment of rooms.
Hoping to welcome you back to Holiday Inn Madrid soon,

Yours sincerely,
Paloma Muñoz
Front Desk Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2013 via mobile

Three nights here - my first time in Madrid. Nice big room, two double beds - very comfy! My friend said the duvet was the best he's ever had on a bed!
The rooftop pool looked amazing in the photos but closes for winter in Sept so unable to use. We didn't eat here but the surrounding area has plenty of cafés and restaurants.
The location is the trade off against price. You aren't in the city centre, but the metro at the corner will have you there in 15 mins, the same to the airport and if you want to come for the footy, the Real Madrid Bernabeau stadium is an easy 5 min walk away. For those Brits who know South London, the area is an identikit to East Croydon! Concrete 70's towers and commuterland but when compared with the prices charged on the city centre it's worth the travel time.
Top tips. The subway/metro runs to 130am and don't bother with the tourist card for €35. A 10 journey ticket for €15.5 is all you'll need - buy it at the vending machine and will get you in from the airport and all journeys to/from the city.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
Thank tomthetank67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paloma M, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Madrid, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comments about the Holiday Inn Madrid.
We are always happy to read that our guests have a comfortable stay with us.

Hoping to welcome you back soon to Holiday Inn Madrid,

Yours sincerely,
Paloma Muñoz
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2013

Really nothing special. Everything is very average at this Holiday inn. Hate rooms with carpet.
If you really need to go there try to have an upper floor to avoid noise.
No double window in the rooms.
Bar is also very poor.
Fortunately the personell at the reception is gentle and helpful.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kopfgi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paloma M, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Madrid, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comments.
We are really sorry to hear that your stay at Holiday Inn was not as good as you expect.
We would like to inform you that on the near future is planned to make a full refurbishment of rooms including the soundproofing in rooms.

Hoping to welcome you back to Holiday Inn Madrid soon,

Yours sincerely,
Paloma Muñoz
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2013

The hotel value is excellent, having stayed at chic&basic Atocha in my first leg of the trip to be near city center, I had to trade off quality for location (I payed more for chic&basic that for this), this time around though I did the opposite as I wanted a hotel near Nuevos Ministerios metro station to have a single metro ride to the airport.
The rooms are very comfy, beds are excellent and all around cleanliness is outstanding being that this is a not so new property.
The staff is very friendly and I loved the free snacks at the bar complimentary with my cerveza.
I recommend this hotel if you're doing business in the Santiago Bernabeu area or if you have to travel from Madrid in the morning and one to spend one last day/night in town.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WhitHouston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paloma M, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Madrid, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your review of our hotel,
We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and that you feel you received great service.
We are also proud to be certainly for you your choice in Madrid for your next stay in our city.

Sincerely,

Paloma Muñoz

Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013

The Holiday Inn Madrid, while no fancy, delivers a very comfortable convenient stay while in Madrid on business. Very close to shopping, restaurants and the right next to the Metro. Love shopping and buying local food at the gigantic El Cortes Ingles nearby. The rooms are clean and the bed very comfortable and offer wonderful pillows. While the bathroom amenties are basic--there was no shampoo or wash cloths, the shower, sink and toilet all worked well and were clean and updated.
My biggest issue with the hotel is the lack of a good gym. It it directly next to a Holiday Gym, but alas, the hotel offers no discounts or passes. There is a small gym on the 9th floor with and outstanding pool on the roof, but the gym has very few free weights and an old universal type machine that doesn't work well. Also, the gym was very hot--uncomfortable to work out in. It's a great space--I wish the management would invest in more weights and better equipment OR gets a deal with the Holiday Gym next door.
Breakfast is affordable and rooms service coffee was excellent in the morning. Free Wifi works well. Overall...a relaxing, nice place to stay for business.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room. They are quieter and have windows on two sides!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JBrownSFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paloma M, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Madrid, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comments.
We hare happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.
On the other hand, we would like to inform you that Gym next door does not belong to us so we are nor able to decide about prices or discounts, anyway we would like to thank you for your comments and we will consider it.
Hoping to welcome you back to Holiday Inn Madrid soon,

Yours sincerely,
Paloma Muñoz
Front Desk Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2013

I stayed here for three nights for a conference in September 2013 and was pleasantly surprised. The rooms are a very decent size (for a European hotel; mine with two double beds and facing away from the street. My only issue with the room was that I had a room with a connecting door through to the next bedroom and in there was a family with a baby - meaning that things got a bit noisy just before feeding time! The bed was comfortable and everything in the room appeared to be clean. Overall the only other issue is that where I was located, on the first floor, there was quite a smell of cigarette smoke as you pass down the corridor around the location of the smoking bedrooms.

The bathroom was also decent size and very clean with a good sized tub and an excellent, powerful, hot shower.

Conference facilities (in the basement areas) were excellent with free wi-fi provided that worked well throughout the hotel.

Breakfast facilities were absolutely excellent with a superb choice of breakfast items. Service was also efficient though a bit dour. Check-in and check-out was more friendly and very quick. The property location is also good, beign surrounded by a good selection of restaurants with the underground railway station only a five minute walk away.

A very good choice if you need to be in the business district.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daniel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paloma M, Director de Recepción at Holiday Inn Madrid, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comments.
We hare happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.
On the other hand, we would like to inform you that on the near future is planned to make a full refurbishment of rooms including the soundproofing between rooms.
Hoping to welcome you back to Holiday Inn Madrid soon,

Yours sincerely,
Paloma Muñoz
Front Desk Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madrid hotels
H10 Tribeca
#113 of 440 in Madrid
627 reviews
Espahotel Plaza Basilica
#296 of 440 in Madrid
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Senator Castellana Hotel
#225 of 440 in Madrid
498 reviews
AC Hotel Aitana
#188 of 440 in Madrid
394 reviews
San Blas
Holiday Inn Madrid - Calle Alcala
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Madrid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Madrid

Address: Plaza Carlos Trias Bertran 4, 28020 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#168 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
Price Range: $82 - $204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Madrid 4*
Number of rooms: 313
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Access by Orense Street, 22 /24 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, IHG, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Holiday Inn Madrid reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Madrid Hotel Madrid
Madrid Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing