We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great and cosy B&B at a perfect location in the heart of Madrid”
Review of Artistic B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Artistic B&B
Ranked #1 of 283 Madrid B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 4, 2013

My mom and I booked a room at ArtisticBB for a long weekend and it was a perfect choice! Directly upon arrival, the owners Paola and Rodolfo make sure you feel at ease. The rooms are beautifull with an artistic touch and modern bathroom, with a great shower. Every morning a nice breakfast is served which you van enjoy together with other guests sitting at a long table. Everybody shares their experiences and exchanges tips and tricks. On top of that all, I have never experienced such kind and personal service. For my mother, who has diabetice, Paola and Rodolfo arranged suitable breakfast and when I forgot my jacket at a restaurant the day before departure, they made sure it was returned to the Netherlands! All in All, we fully recommend artisticB&B and we will for sure book it again when we return to Madrid.
Gerdien

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gerdien80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (537)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

223 - 229 of 537 reviews

Reviewed October 4, 2013

If you're looking for 5-star hotel amenities, don't bother to come here, this place has more charm and character then your regular 5-stars. As soon as I set foot into Artistic I knew I've made the best decision for my accommodation in Madrid.

It located in a very strategic spot, within walking distance from Prado, Reina Sofia, Thyssen, and several others attractions. From Atocha Station, you only need to ride 3 metro station to Anton Martin, exit through Calle Magdalena (DON'T take the Calle Amore de Dios exit), walk to Calle Leon, turn right to Lope de Vega, the B&B will be on your left hand sight (yellow door no. 11). You won’t find any glaring neon sign, or any sign for that matter, so it's a good idea to inform Paola or Rodolfo your ETA to make sure they'll be available when you arrive.

As soon as we arrived, Paola welcome us warmly, and since it was our first time to Madrid, we had tons of questions on where to go to see what and to buy what, she patiently answered all our questions and even provide print out map to make things easier. Once we're done with the Q&A session, Paola showed us into one of the most charming room we'd ever been into. It has small balcony overlooking Lope de Vega street (The Batik Room). You might think it'd be noisy, right? Apparently once you shut the balcony door the noise won’t bother you a bit, the room also spacious enough for 3 people that you won’t bumped into each other.

Since it's a small establishment, you won’t find too many people on breakfast table, a perfect way to share information and experience about Madrid. I managed to get several useful tips and ideas about places to visit on my first breakfast there. If that's not enough, there's a reading corner on one side of the dining/breakfast room full of books about Madrid that you can borrow.

My only regret is that I could not say farewell to Paola and Rodolfo in person, because my train departed very early the next morning. I'm sure if you ever decided to visit Madrid and stay in Artistic Bed and Breakfast you'd experience a true Madrid hospitality.

Note: The B&B located on the 3rd floor, and it has no elevator, so make sure you are able to carry your own luggage all the way up, or inform Paola and Rodolfo if you need help with your luggage.
Other note: If you plan to check out before 8 a.m., tell Paola the day before, she'd provide you with a take-away breakfast to nibble on.

Room Tip: Batik Room is the one with the small balcony facing the road in front of the B&B
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank luminous137
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

5 stars to our own standards. We are a 60 yr old couple, traveling independently in Europe on a budget. This is our first time in Madrid. We have stayed in 6 other bnb in the past. Paola and Rodolfo were very kind and welcoming. Rodolfo helped carry our luggage, gave a thorough orientation of the area and gave a map. There is also a library of materials you may need to get other info. The bnb and our room with it's color and art scheme made it feel homely, we were happy to return after a day of "touristing". Rodolfo bakes bread and cake for breakfast . Fresh breakfast is served every morning. The bed was most comfortable. The bathroom was very clean, towels and body wash provided. The owners were very warm and genuine, you feel like you were staying with a friend. We liked that they lived upstairs and were available if you need help. We wish that all bnb were like this one. Muchas gracias, Paola and Rodolfo, you are a credit to BnB
industry of Madrid.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dragonfly91953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2013 via mobile

The owner Paola has been kind and welcoming; honoring my request for the batik room with a balcony! Well worth the trip up 3 flights of stairs. Central location boasts bustling bars and resturants closeby. But you are not disturbed! Quiet locale! If you are an art connoisseur, consider staying at artistic bnb! Walking distance from prado and other notable museums! Bravo Paola and family for a first rate experience in Madrid! I encourage Trip Advisor to elevate your status to no1!
Muchos Gracias

Donna Marie Anderson
Camarillo, CA

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cagirl36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

My husband and I had the pleasure of staying with Paola and Rudolfo in July. We couldn't have been happier with the location, the room, the breakfast and the service we received. If you value making connections with the locals when you are traveling, this is the place to do it. Paola was so very helpful when KLM lost my husband's luggage after a very long journey from Vancouver. We would happily return for another visit and refer our friends to them.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PicaboCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

This is a gem of a bed and breakfast tucked away on a quiet, residential street in el Barrio de las Letras. The location is perfect - in walking distance from numerous neighborhoods and attractions, including La Latina, el Museo del Prado, and El Parque del Buen Retiro. The owners are lovely as well.

The husband and wife team alternates serving breakfast (which is from 8-11 every morning) every morning. Breakfast was good, but lacked heartier food and variety: toast, fruit, and small grilled cheese sandwiches were the daily fare.

Both owners are fluent in English and were full of recommendations and suggestions. We ate at 2 of their recommended restaurants and were impressed: delicious food, no tourists, and affordable prices.

The rooms are decorated in an Andalucian/Moroccan vibe. Each room has its own bathroom, and the bathrooms are modern and updated. The rooms are comfortable, if just a tad small. There's also free wifi. No common area besides the dining room table where breakfast is served.

All in all, a very comfortable and conveniently located place to stay in Madrid.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VCM328
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013

We stayed here the first week of Sept 2013, after trawling the internet for some time to find an alternative to the traditional hotel we were delighted to find that Artistic B&B really does live up to its great reputation. The booking process was easy and we were supplied with very helpful information from Paola and Rodolpho on the best way to travel in from the airport, which was useful and saved us some time. On arrival Rodolpho kindly carried our bag up 3 storeys for us, (for which my husband thanks him sincerely) and offered us some lovely young Manchego with olives as soon as we crossed the threshold. Our room was even more pleasant in reality than it appears in photos; very spacious, clean and well equipped, everything in good working order. The air con and fan were needed as coming from the cold north we found even Sept temperatures in Madrid could be a bit too much for us. Breakfast is a semi communal affair with all guests seated at the one big table - this inclusive approach is a big part of the charm of this B&B and is helped along by Rodolpho's baking skills as he provided us with a different home made bread or cake for breakfast every day and was happy to share recipes. Unlike some British B&Bs there is no curfew here, guests can come in late without bothering any-one (and we did), all in all this is a lovely little home from home; I loved it.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JDMC1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Artiem Madrid
#2 of 441 in Madrid
568 reviews
Chueca
Only YOU Boutique Hotel Madrid
Centro
Hostal Central Palace Madrid
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Hostal Met Madrid
Hostal Met Madrid
#3 of 283 in Madrid
187 reviews
Centro
Hostal Go Inn Madrid
Hostal Go Inn Madrid
#4 of 283 in Madrid
407 reviews
Huertas
Hostal Art Madrid
Hostal Art Madrid
#8 of 283 in Madrid
509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Artistic B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Artistic B&B

Address: Calle Lope de Vega 11 Piso 3, 28014 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Huertas
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 283 B&Bs / Inns in Madrid
Price Range: $72 - $110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in Barrio de las Letras, B&B Artistic is at walking distance from Madrid's main attractions, such as the Plaza Mayor, Puerta del Sol, El Prado Museum, Reina Sofia Museum, El Parque del Retiro, Atocha train station, El Rastro fleamarket, and many others!.Our Bed & Breakfast is on the third floor of a 19th century building. Renovated and refurbished in August 2011 with a rural-mediterranean style, our Bed & Breakfast is tastefully adapted to suit the modern needs and provide the comfort of our times. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing