We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Time to Madrid”
Review of Artistic B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Artistic B&B
Ranked #1 of 283 Madrid B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Our trip started in Barcelona and we stayed in a hotel so wanted this next stay in Madrid to be more relaxed and informal. Paola greeted us with a warm welcome and spoke excellent English. She gave us some recommendations on where to eat and sites to see which turned out to be very helpful. The B&B is conveniently located and since my wife and I enjoy walking we just headed out each day sight seeing and getting around Madrid. The rooms were small but newly remodeled. After our stay in Barcelona, we had some laundry to take care of a place is conveniently located just down the street. The only negative feedback was being subjected to a noisy couple next door who lacked some common sense during a lovemaking session. Fortunately it was only night out of 3 and certainly not anything Paola could predict or control. The breakfast time at a B&B is normally a great opportunity to learn more from other travelers and this was no exception. A family staying at Artistic was from Seattle and we crossed multiple times while sightseeing. Nice people and many stories to share. All in all a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wchart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (537)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

239 - 245 of 537 reviews

Reviewed June 26, 2013

I thoroughly enjoyed the 'Artistic B&B'. Paola and Rudolfo were so warm and welcoming towards me. They gave me a map and wrote in their own tips for the best places to eat, etc. They also were fantastic in helping me with my Spanish.

The only issue I had was that I found it hard to walk up 'Calle Lope de Vega' because it is a long street, especially with luggage. It was also tough climbing the numerous flights of stairs but Paola and Rudolfo were happy to help me with my luggage.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank seyahc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

If you want a relaxed atmosphere in the heart of Madrid try Artistic B & B. Rodolfo and Paola are your hosts and will help you with any need you have. Probably the cleanest place I have ever stayed, breakfasts that are relaxed and homey (great home baked bread too) and located in a quiet street just a block from the craziness of tapas evenings make this resting place a great choice. Not far from Retiro Park, he Prado Museum, the Plaza Mayor and basically everything in the core of Madrid is within walking distance make this a great choice.rice is very reasonable too!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KrisV1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Paola and Rudolfo have lovingly designed a wonderful haven for visitors in the centre of Madrid.
They are warm and generous hosts providing comfortable rooms, delicious breakfasts and, above all, time to chat with their guests giving advice and recommendations for places to visit in beautiful Madrid. We also appreciated the fact that Paola and Rudolfo speak perfect English making communication so easy.
The B&B is wonderfully located - we walked to most of the places we wanted to visit in central Madrid.
Breakfast is a wonderful time to chat with other guests from around the world and linger over great coffee to exchange travel stories and learn about other countries and cultures.
We spent 2 nights here before touring around Spain and were so pleased to return for a further 3 nights after the tour. It was like returning to the warm and cosy home of friends.
There are lots of great places to eat nearby, the neighbourhood is quiet, and for those travelling for a long period - a good laundromat just down the street!
Yes, there are stairs to climb but the warmth and hospitality at the top of the stairs makes it so worthwhile!

Room Tip: We stayed in the front rooms which had a small balcony and it was lovely to be able to look out over...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank martyQueensland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

The Artistic is a great little place to stay - well located and charming. We could walk to everything. However, part of what makes this B & B so appealing are the owners. Rudolfo and Paola are interesting, helpful and very friendly. This was our first stop on an extended vacation and we were definitely not disappointed. Only one caveat - if you can't handle several flights of stairs (no lift), this may not be the best choice for you.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a balcony. It is always a pleasure to look out on the street scene.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MontanaGirlAlways
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2013

As many other reviewers have noted, Paola & Rudolfo are excellent hosts! The breakfasts were filling, their interest and kindness in our wellbeing was genuine, and the rooms were tastefully decorated, clean, and perfect for our needs. We stayed here twice during our 2+ weeks of traveling around Spain--the second time we were lucky enough to be in Room#2 which was spacious and had a balcony overlooking Calle Lope de Vega. Artistic B&B is centrally located to all the great sites in old town (Plaza Mayor, Puerta del Sol) and some wonderful museums (Sofia Reina, the Prado)--all easy to walk to, so no need to get on the Metro (although it's easy to get there). It's also walking distance from Atocha train station When we return to Madrid we will definitely stay again at Artistic B&B!

Room Tip: I recommend Room #2--sunny and spacious with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank obongo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2013

Loved our stay here, for our honeymoon! :) The owners are fantastic, very friendly and the rooms are clean and the breakfast is very good! We would absolutely tell our friends and family to stay here when they are in Madrid.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifer S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Artiem Madrid
#2 of 441 in Madrid
568 reviews
Chueca
Only YOU Boutique Hotel Madrid
Centro
Hostal Central Palace Madrid
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Hostal Met Madrid
Hostal Met Madrid
#3 of 283 in Madrid
187 reviews
Centro
Hostal Go Inn Madrid
Hostal Go Inn Madrid
#4 of 283 in Madrid
407 reviews
Huertas
Hostal Art Madrid
Hostal Art Madrid
#8 of 283 in Madrid
508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Artistic B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Artistic B&B

Address: Calle Lope de Vega 11 Piso 3, 28014 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Huertas
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 283 B&Bs / Inns in Madrid
Price Range: $72 - $110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in Barrio de las Letras, B&B Artistic is at walking distance from Madrid's main attractions, such as the Plaza Mayor, Puerta del Sol, El Prado Museum, Reina Sofia Museum, El Parque del Retiro, Atocha train station, El Rastro fleamarket, and many others!.Our Bed & Breakfast is on the third floor of a 19th century building. Renovated and refurbished in August 2011 with a rural-mediterranean style, our Bed & Breakfast is tastefully adapted to suit the modern needs and provide the comfort of our times. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing