We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Wonderful Place In Madrid”
Review of Artistic B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Artistic B&B
Ranked #1 of 282 Madrid B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 24, 2012

Having just returned from a 30-day trip overseas, I wanted to report my thoughts on our recent stay.

My wife and I arrived on Oct 29 and departed on Nov 2.

Paola, Rodolfo and son Tommy have created a wonderful place to stay in an ideal location. The B&B is literally 10 min from the Prado, close to El Reterio Park and most other attractions. A fifteen minute walk to the train station for those going to visit El Escorial. It is also located in a very quaint area and has access to many reasonable restaurants, shopping, etc. Paola was most helpfull in providing us with excellent listings of places to eat!!!

The facillity is spotless, the bedroom was most comfortable, and the hosts were most gracious and helpful. Breakfast was pleantifull and Rodolfo is an excellent baker with delicious breads appearing each morning for our enjoyment.

This family venture is a real find and priced right in Madrid. Book it as soon as possible as it will sell-out fast!

Thank you friends for a truly amazing stay!

Richard

Room Tip: Book Early as it will sell-out fast!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kolasa03148
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (530)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

296 - 302 of 530 reviews

Reviewed November 22, 2012

Paola and Rodolfo were very accommodating for our very quick visit through Madrid on the way home from Spain travels. The place is small, clean and friendly. It was easy to find our way there from the airport. Paola kept us up to date on directions and made great recommendations on restaurants and places to see. There are stairs to climb (which they are very transparent about so don't plan to visit there with many big suitcases). The bed was comfortable and the setting colorfully decorated with thought.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MicheleinSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2012

My wife and I stayed at Artistic B&B for 6 nights this fall while visiting our daughter who is doing her semester abroad in Madrid. Let me say that Paola and Rodolfo are wonderful, warm and welcoming hosts who happily share their love of their adopted city (they are from Argentina originally). Their restaurant reviews and suggestions for what to see and do, and how to navigate the public transit system, were excellent.

The accommodations were clean, comfortable and spacious. Be sure you are comfortable on stairs though, as their is no elevator/lift and the 4 flights of stairs are a bit steep. Breakfast was good and served each morning, along with conversation, by our hosts.

Finally, the location is perfect. 5 minute walk to metro and to main museums including Prado and Reina Sofia and Thyssen-Bornemisza Museums.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AbouSall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2012

My husband and I stayed there in September, it was our first time in Madrid. We were so happy with the warm welcome of Rodolfo and Paula. Rodolfo showed us the city main attractions on the map, and recommended very nice restaurants close by. We were given a mini tour of our room, whereby Rodolfo showed us the hand-made pieces of the room. The basin was hand made, and the wardrobe beautifully hand painted. The room was gorgeous, the B&B overall was a beautiful place to stay. We caught a very early flight on our last morning there, and Paula was so kind to prepare a little breakfast pack for us the day before, we we would have something to eat on our way to the airport. How thoughtful was that!
Regarding the location of the B&B, it was centrally located, walking distance to everything, we didn't have to take the bus the 3 nights we were there.
We really enjoyed our stay at the Artistic B&B and we loved Madrid itself! We definitely are going back to Spain one day, and when in Madrid, will stay at the Artistic B&B!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Martine J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012

The room is tastefully decorated and very clean. Breakfast is good, with a home-made item a day (spanish tortilla, bread, etc). The location is excellent, close to the metro and walking distance to many attractions.
I would be aware if you are travelling with heavy suitcases as you will have to walk up 4 flights of stairs. Other than this, the stay was wonderful. Rodolfo and Paula are such a lovely couple who are very helpful (from providing direction to arranging transportation to the airport).

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TSH2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

We loved our recent stay at Artistic B & B! Our favorite part was the warmth and helpfulness of our hosts, Rodolfo and Paula. They were so helpful in answering all our questions about Madrid, and provided great resources to orient us upon our arrival. It's hard to imagine a better location--an easy walk to all the main tourist sites, and a metro stop just a few minutes away. We would highly recommend Artistic B & B to anyone visiting Madrid!

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Julie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Average size rooms but well decorated and very comfortable bed, plus modern and well designed bathroom. Not a wide selection for breakfast but some homemade bread and cheese toasts on offer. Paula and Rodolpho friendly and helpful hosts with excellent english. This review would have been 5 spots but our bedroom was next to the breakfast room so the sound of the other guests could wake you in the morning if you want a lie in!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank msykes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Chueca
Only YOU Boutique Hotel Madrid
Artiem Madrid
#2 of 438 in Madrid
532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Hostal Central Palace Madrid
Centro
Hostal Met Madrid
Hostal Met Madrid
#3 of 282 in Madrid
178 reviews
Centro
Hostal Go Inn Madrid
Hostal Go Inn Madrid
#5 of 282 in Madrid
396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Artistic B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Artistic B&B

Address: Calle Lope de Vega 11 Piso 3, 28014 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Huertas
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 282 B&Bs / Inns in Madrid
Price Range: $67 - $111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in Barrio de las Letras, B&B Artistic is at walking distance from Madrid's main attractions, such as the Plaza Mayor, Puerta del Sol, El Prado Museum, Reina Sofia Museum, El Parque del Retiro, Atocha train station, El Rastro fleamarket, and many others!.Our Bed & Breakfast is on the third floor of a 19th century building. Renovated and refurbished in August 2011 with a rural-mediterranean style, our Bed & Breakfast is tastefully adapted to suit the modern needs and provide the comfort of our times. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing