We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Funky and Fun Little Place”
Review of Artistic B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Artistic B&B
Ranked #1 of 283 Madrid B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 3, 2012

Great location, ez walk from Anton Martin Metro, and located centrally to many restaurants and attractions. We walked to Atocha Station with wheeled luggage, which took 20 minutes. Just seemed easier than the stairs etc in Metro.
Room was quite small, we had twin beds, but they were very comfortable. Room was nicely appointed with flat screen TV, though we could only find Spanish stations, and very colorful. Nice Juliette balcony to street below. Bathroom was modern and a nice size, though a bit long and narrow. Loved the shower.
Paolo and Rodolfo are verrrrrrry nice! They provided a nice breakfast with fresh brewed coffee, breads, cheese sandwich, fruit, cereal, yogurt. Pretty darn good selection!
Great value for the price, and while it is quite small, we would definitely return.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gaddyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (537)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

307 - 313 of 537 reviews

Reviewed October 1, 2012

Amazing location! Felt at home, excellent breakfast. Owners are super nice and warm. Slightly noisy in mornings when other people decide to eat breakfast before you...earplugs solved this. Excellent cafe 2 doors to the left.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank msaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

The rooms are comfortable, beautifully decorated and have everything we need. The location is perfect...in the heart of a fun district with lots of places to eat and easy walking distance to all the sights. Our hostess is charming and fun; she has a wealth of suggestions for things to do and places to eat and shops to visit. We are absolutely delighted with our visit and highly recommend Artistic B&B.

Room Tip: This B&B is on the third floor with no elevator, so could be a problem if you have mobility issu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dabasan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

From the very beginning when we arrived at the B&B we felt a little bit like home. As Paola already warned us that the b&b is on the third floor we had packed a little lighter but Rodolfo even helped us carrying our luggage up the stairs.
The interior of the b&b is set in a very loving way which shows that Paola and Rodolfo really thought about how to make people comfortable. We were completely astonished by the fact that there is a rain-shower in every singel room even in the economy one.
About the best part of our stay was breakfast every morning. Rodolfo makes amazing bread (banana, olive,...) and most of the time we left the table so full that we didn't have to eat untill 5p.m.. But whtat made the breakfast really extraordinary was the fact that you met all the other people staying in the b&b and we had such interesting talks with people from all over the world. Suprisingly we were the only guests who didn't come from an English-speaking country (we met people from Ireland, the US and Austrlia).
To find our way around Madrid was easy as well, as the B&B is in a great location. You can get everywhere by foot and you don't have to worry about getting lost, as you get a map of Madrid when you check-in to the b&b. There are even restaurants and all the important sights (with opening hours) noted on the map.
The day we were leaving we were allowed to leave our luggage at the b&b as our flight left in the evening. We found our way back to the airport (as the way from it) easily as we got recommendations by Paola and Rodolfo on how to get best to it.
Overall you can say for the price you pay it is incredible what you get! Clean (they get cleaned ever single day!), comfortable rooms with ceiling fans (which are totally enough in September) and an amazing atmosphere to stay in. When we are coming back to Madrid, we will for sure stay at the b&b again.
Because as the blackboard in the eating area said: It's not about the miles you travel but the people you meet!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Five of us stayed here in mid-Sept 2012 and had a lovely 3 nights in Madrid. I generally agree with the majority of most previous reviews. The location cannot be beaten and the hosts are a very charming couple who have leanred a lot in the short time they have been operating.

The big let down is the breakfast - yoghurt and toasted cheese sandwiches really don't inspire, perhaps a buffet-style arrangement with a bit more choice would be more appealing. Reviews describing the breakfasts as "awesome" really are wide of the mark.

I know all guests are forewarned of the stairs but they really are a bind after a tiring day in the city.

Value for money is very good, change the breakfast and we'll return some day!. All the best in the future Paola and Rudolfo.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Chelmoboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Artistic B & B is a great value place for a stop in Madrid. Everything the other reviewers have said about the place and the hosts is true. We stayed three nights in mid September, because of prior bookings we had 2 nights in there biggest room and one in the smallest. Both are just fine for a couple. The location is great neighbourhood and you can walk to everything. There are great places to eat or just for a drink and some crowd watching.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

My wife and I recently wrapped up our 28th anniversary trip through Spain with 4 nights in Madrid at the Artistic B&B. We booked months in advance after spending many days looking for the best budget-friendly and romantic places to stay in Barcelona, Toledo, and Madrid. We agree with all the positive comments already posted here for A B&B and Rudolfo and Paola (who are informed, kind, and generous hosts). The accommodations are very comfortable and cozy in the best sense, with modern bathrooms, and the convivial and by far most satisfying breakfasts we had in Spain. Even though the hotel lacks AC, the ceiling and portable fans are more than adequate to keep the rooms cool (and it was unseasonably hot during our stay). Although Madrid is a very noisy city 24/7, the rooms are very quiet with the windows closed--or can be opened to small balconies a few floors above a charming street. The location is good for easy walking explorations--a few blocks from the Prado and Reina Sofia museums and Retiro park or, in the other direction, the Plaza Mayor, Royal Palace, and Puerto del Sol (only worth a single visit unless returning to the amazing old bakery on its western end). But, again, it is the personalities of the hosts who make the difference in a B&B--Paola and Rudolfo left us wishing we were their neighbors instead of their guests. (Note: Although the B&B is 3 floors up with stairs only access, after eating large meals at Spanish restaurants, we were grateful for the extra exercise!)

Room Tip: When communicating in email or booking the room, review the photos first and ask for the room that b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KurtKremer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Artiem Madrid
#2 of 441 in Madrid
568 reviews
Chueca
Only YOU Boutique Hotel Madrid
Centro
Hostal Central Palace Madrid
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Hostal Met Madrid
Hostal Met Madrid
#3 of 283 in Madrid
187 reviews
Centro
Hostal Go Inn Madrid
Hostal Go Inn Madrid
#4 of 283 in Madrid
407 reviews
Huertas
Hostal Art Madrid
Hostal Art Madrid
#8 of 283 in Madrid
509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Artistic B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Artistic B&B

Address: Calle Lope de Vega 11 Piso 3, 28014 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Huertas
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 283 B&Bs / Inns in Madrid
Price Range: $72 - $110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in Barrio de las Letras, B&B Artistic is at walking distance from Madrid's main attractions, such as the Plaza Mayor, Puerta del Sol, El Prado Museum, Reina Sofia Museum, El Parque del Retiro, Atocha train station, El Rastro fleamarket, and many others!.Our Bed & Breakfast is on the third floor of a 19th century building. Renovated and refurbished in August 2011 with a rural-mediterranean style, our Bed & Breakfast is tastefully adapted to suit the modern needs and provide the comfort of our times. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing