We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Emperador Hotel Madrid
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Hotel Regina(Madrid)
$206
$150
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Axor Feria Hotel(Madrid)(Great Value!)
$99
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Occidental Castellana Norte(Madrid)(Great Value!)
$102
$85
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Ayre Gran Hotel Colon(Madrid)
$159
$118
Ayre Hoteles
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$144
$122
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
NH Madrid Ribera del Manzanares(Madrid)(Great Value!)
$122
$105
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$159
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$175
$158
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$116
$96
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Maydrit Hotel(Madrid)(Great Value!)
$85
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (2,391)
Filter reviews
2,391 results
Traveler rating
781
984
416
138
72
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
781
984
416
138
72
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooftop poolclub roomplenty of sunbedsgreat poolgreat locationlobby barcentral locationsun loungersper daywithin walking distanceroyal palacesanto domingotour busplaza mayormetro stationcity breaklong weekend
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
892 - 897 of 2,391 reviews
Reviewed March 7, 2013

We booked this hotel based on reviews and the wish to be central. It was comfortable, quiet, and very easy to get to all the main sights on foot. However, a handbag was stolen from us in the first floor breakfast room of the hotel, during breakfast which was a bad start to the trip. The staff were helpful, but perhaps not surprised by this event, and the Food & Beverage Manager was particularly concerned and helpful. Our room was a good size and comfortable, the bathroom adequate but the loo smelled strongly of drains when flushed. This is also the first 4* hotel I have ever stayed in which did not provide tissues in the bathroom.

Room Tip: Second floor was quiet
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Perrins52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2013

We stayed at this hotel this February half term. (2013) My wife booked the hotel on line having read other tripadvisor reviews. We also booked a taxi transfer before we travelled with a company called Aerocity Taxis which was on the GoMadrid site. The transfer to Madrid was by an aiconditioned Mercedes people carrier and was door to door. Cost was 26 euros each way for three people. This saved the hassle of having to get a travel pass and travel in on the train.
The Emperador is situated right in the centre of Madrid. The San Domingo metro station is outside the hotel and Cort Inglese dept store is only 3 minutes walk away. We would definitely recommend the roof terrace there for its gourmet experience.
We asked for a room for three as our daughter was accompanying us. They gave us a room on the 5th floor 501 which overlooks the side street. We were impressed both by the size and cleanliness of the room. Even with a Kingsize bed and a single bed there was still plenty of room. The room was airconditioned and had a fridge and a free safe for valuables. There was lots of wardrobe space and the bathroom was quite large too. The secondary plus double glazed units to the balcony and other windows kept most of the traffic noise out. The staff were very friendly and helpful. There is a roof top pool ( not open in Feb) which would be useful to summer visitors. We would definitely stay there again.
Recommendations to visit: The Royal Palace, the Mercado de San Mighel (fabulous food and drink market) the Museo del Prado (fantastic art gallery 200+ rooms of paintings and sculptures)

Room Tip: Our room accomodated three easily. There are adjoining rooms and the hotel does offer a premium upgrade.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank nikonguy49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmperadorHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Emperador Hotel Madrid, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2013

Dear Guest,

Firstly, we would like to thank you your stay at Emperador Hotel in Madrid, and also for sharing your reviews on Tripadvisor.

It is a pleasure to know that you had a good stay with us, and enjoyed the location in the heart of the city, which allows to visit Madrid and its main points of interest easily.

Our staff works everyday for the highest satisfaction of our clients, and it is wonderful to know you had a nice stay in Madrid.

We hope you can enjoy the swimming pool and the terrace next time, during the opening time from May to September, Spring and Summer here in Madrid.

Looking forward to seeing you again in a next visit to Madrid.

Sincerely,

Hotel Emperador Madrid

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2013

Location: on Gran Via, which can be a plus during the day (very close to shops and restaurants) but a huge minus during the night (all sort of "fauna" moving around). Acroos the hotel you can also find a hop-on hop-off bus stop, very convenient if you plan to use it.

Rooms: i am reffering to club rooms - good size, large TV, clean bathroom; all the club rooms are facing Gran Via. The higher the room, the better, as you cant hear all the street noise.

Having a club room you can also have access to club lounge, where you can get free chips, refreshments and beer,

Breakfast: free of charge continental breakfast - ham, cheese, some fruits, croissants and...that it! For any hot meal you have to pay extra 5 EUR/person!!! This is the first hotel i have met this policy and i totally diasgree with it.

Internet: wifi is available and it costs 15 EUR/day!!!! In the internet comm era to charge for internet is absolutely self killing!

Parking: hotel parking available for 31 EUR / day! Also, its cheaper to rent a car rather to park it...

Due to the above and mainly breakfast and internet policy, i would strongly recommend to choose something else. I know i will.

Room Tip: Superior levels are perfect
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Intruder3303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmperadorHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Emperador Hotel Madrid, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2013

Dear Client,

Firstly, we would like to thank you for your stay at Emperador Hotel in Madrid and for dedicating some minutes of your time to give here your opinion. We always appreciate to receive feedback from our clients as this helps us to continously improve our service and quality level.

We regret to hear that your expectations with our property have not been fulfilled. On behalf of all our staff, we would like to apologize for the inconveniences suffered during your stay.

However, we would like to inform you about some issues.

The hotel is conveniently located in the heart of the city. Like every big city in the world, there are many people around here. Nevertheless, Gran Vía is a good area plenty of culture, shopping and leisure options.

About Internet, you can find a special kind of package, with wifi included, in our official website.

With reference to the breakfast, the extra is only for gourmet choice. You can have a complete, healtly and good meal with the breakfast included.

We apologize again for the inconveniences suffered during your stay. We will inform the appropiate department to consider any convenient improvement.

Please do not hesitate to contact us for any further queries.

Yours sincerely,
Hotel Emperador

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2013

Two couples just back from a weekend in Madrid. Booked this Hotel through EasyJet and the info and the picture from their website; the Hotel website and the Tripadviser reviews we looked at before hand swayed us, the Hotel didn't let us down. As soon as you walked in the rotating door it was a haven of calm, especially if you had been out in the shops during their sales! We were told we had been upgraded because our rooms were facing the road but we didn't find it a problem at all as the windows were very well "double -glazed." One couple also hasd a balcony looking onto the Gran Via. We were there on a room only basis but the staff were extremely helpful and friendly and nothing seem a bother for them. When we were waiting for our pick-up to the airport they even enquired who we had booked the pick-up with and phoned them to check that they were on their way to us! We were there in February so the Hotel 's rooftop pool was closed, it opens May to October (it cold and a bit windy.) That was our only wish, that we had been able to get out onto the roof and have access to the pool but it probably wouldn't have been practical anyway. Maybe next time when the weather is warmer as I'm sure there will be a next time. This Hotel is so handy for all the shopping and within walking distance of the Puerto del Sol; the Palace and the Plaza Mayor...probably more but we didn't do any more on our first day and took the Tourist bus the next which I would also recommened. (21 euros for one day and 25 for two. You might get it cheaper if you book online.)

There are plenty of places to get breakfast near the Hotel and lots of small bars and restaurants, if you are looking for a place to drink, the low cost bar "Copas Rotas" is about a couple of streets up the incline to the right on the Gran Via and they sell what I would call modern tapas; wine and beer for a euro! Cocktails were 4 euros but the Gin and Tonics made from a full miniture bottle and tonic were the best we've ever tasted and it was a treat to watch the barmen /women making them.

If you go to this hotel you should enjoy it.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BAP41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Great location walking distance for all major sites & eating places, really cheap city to visit which surprised us lots of really nice eating places close by also shops etc, Not really a Museum person but the Naval museum is well worth a visit

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank cathandnal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews