We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient hotel in Gran Via”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Emperador Hotel Madrid
Ranked #147 of 442 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 18, 2012 via mobile

The Emperador Hotel is an old classic European style along Gran Via in Madrid. It's location is excellent - the metro is at the doorsteps and the Trapsatur office is just adjacent to it. The hotel is showing signs of ageing with faded carpets, chipped wooden furniture and broken mirrors. If you are looking for a convenient place to stay in Madrid along Gran Via at €100, then the Emperador will be a reasonable choice.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aukahkay62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmperadorHotel, Public Relations Manager at Emperador Hotel Madrid, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for giving us your comments about your stay at Emperador Hotel in Madrid.

We are delighted to know you were satisfied about the convenient location of the hotel, in the heart of the city and next to the shopping venues and cultural offer in Madrid.

We regret to hear that your expectations with our property have not been totally fulfilled. The hotel is continuously improving and we had been grateful to hear about your opinion directly at the Front Desk to can mend it, because this is not the general situation of the hotel.

The management is extremely interested about the opinion of our guests, and all staff is involved in getting a complete satisfaction from you.

We apologize again for the inconvenience. We hope to have the opportunity of seeing you in your next visit to Madrid

Yours sincerely,
Hotel Emperador

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,360)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

894 - 900 of 2,360 reviews

Reviewed November 7, 2012

Booked a singe room through easyjet while in Madrid on business. Some of this hotel has been refurbished. I was given one of these rooms that was dirty, smelly, noisy, hot and dark. They dump single travellers in these rooms

Room Tip: Some rooms face the service well, so view is concrete wall. Get a refurbished room!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Frankb123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Wonderful 4 day stay in the Emperador. Exceeded expectations in every way. Fantastic location on Gran Via, very convenient for sightseeing, shopping and dining out in the evening but no disturbance from city noise at night so good nights sleep.

Very attentive staff but never intrusive. Booked 2 connecting rooms - provided as requested. Extremely comfortable beds and large rooms. Well appointed bathrooms.

Great bonus of rooftop pool - perfect after a hot day of sightseeing.

Didn't eat in hotel as booked room only. Not a problem as spoiled for choice with many excellent restaurants nearby.

Would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LondonReadytogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmperadorHotel, Public Relations Manager at Emperador Hotel Madrid, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2012

Dear Client,

Firstly, we would like to thank you for your comments about your stay at Emperador Hotel in Madrid. We always do appreciate to receive feedback from our clients as it helps us to continuously improve our service and quality standards.

All the staff is working always with the aim of getting a complete satisfaction from our guests. We are happy to know you enjoyed very much your stay.

Please, any suggestion or request you have, don't hesitate in contact us

We hope to see you in the hotel in your next stay in Madrid

Yours faithfully,
Hotel Emperador

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

Couldnt ask for a more convenient location on Gran Via right next to a subway stop. Short walk to Puerta del Sol and lots of fun neighborhoods. Room very clean and large by European standards, staff very helpful. Would stay there again!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Buffirish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmperadorHotel, General Manager at Emperador Hotel Madrid, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2012

Dear Guest,

Firstly , we would like to thank you your stay at Emperador Hotel in Madrid. We appreciate also you have dedicated a part of your precious time to give us your opinion.

We always do appreciate to receive feedback from our clients as it helps us to continuously improve our service and quality standards. Your opinion is essential for us.

We are delighted to know your stay with us was nice, and we hope your visit during your next visit to Madrid.

Please, don't hesitate in contact us if you need any queries

Yours faithfully,
Hotel Emperador

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2012

We stayed at the Emperador & the staff coudn't be nicer, the place clean and spacious. Right in the heart of old Madrid. Just don't eat breakfast, though, as they gouge you 20 Euros for a continental.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Suz H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmperadorHotel, General Manager at Emperador Hotel Madrid, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2012

Dear Client,

Firstly, we would like to thank you for your stay at Emperador Hotel in Madrid and for dedicating some minutes of precious your time to show your opinion on this website.

We are delighted to know your general stay and experience with us was satisfactory. All the staff at Emperador Hotel is involved in geting a better experience of our guests. Due to this fact, we would like to know about any inconvenience you could have in our facilities.

Regarding the breakfast, we would like to inform you the Emperador Buffet Breakfast is not only offering continental breakfast, but also is including a wide variety of gourmet cheeses and Iberian cold meat. Also hot meal such as bacon, eggs, omelettes and crepes, among others.

Please, any suggestion or request you have, don't hesitate in contact us

We are looking forward to seeing you in your next visit to Madrid.

Yours faithfully,
General Manager
Hotel Emperador

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2012 via mobile

The location is what makes this place.
The rooms are spotless but need a refurb to a more contemporary look.
Wifi is €13 per day. If you only want to check your mail and don't want to pay, go to the McDonalds across the street. You can get a coffee and use their free wifi.
Service is the usual for Spain, pretty efficient but not overly friendly. Porters didn't offer to take our luggage to our rooms. They didn't offer to take our luggage out to our taxi when we left.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Senorsanchez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmperadorHotel, General Manager at Emperador Hotel Madrid, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2012

Dear Señor Sanchez,

Thank you for giving us your comments about your stay at Emperador Hotel in Madrid. We do appreciate to receive your feedback in order to help us to continuously improve our service and quality standards.

We would like to inform you we offer a kind of room with wifi included. You can find it in our website, with other inclusions.

Regarding your comments of the service, we will report on this to the appropiate department in order to amend it. We always try to do our best . Because of that , we apologize for not doing in this time.

Please, accept our apologies. We hope that we can compensate you in some way during your next visit to Emperador Hotel in Madrid.

Sincerely,

General Manager
Hotel Emperador

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2012

The location is spot on,but the hotel is a bit too expensive.and didn't get what i really like about the view. I request a city view along the road but instead the guy give me a view but it was a view from side of the hotel not very happy with it .

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmperadorHotel, General Manager at Emperador Hotel Madrid, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2012

Dear guest,

Thank you for your comments about your stay at Emperador Hotel in Madrid. We always do appreciate to receive feedback from our clients.

We are very happy to know you are satisfied with our convenient location and the services in the hotel. We hope you had enjoyed a nice stay in Madrid with us.

Regarding the view of the room, we would like to inform you we offer different kind of rooms with views over Gran Vía, for example, Club Rooms. You can find all the information in our website.

We hope that we can get your complete satisfaction during your next visit to Emperador Hotel in Madrid.

Thank you very much again for your feedback. We are looking forward to seeing you in your next visit to Madrid.

Yours sincerely,

General Manager
Hotel Emperador

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Centro
Hotel Indigo Madrid - Gran Via
Centro
Dear Hotel Madrid
Dear Hotel Madrid
#77 of 442 in Madrid
1,778 reviews
Centro
Hotel Mayorazgo
Hotel Mayorazgo
#154 of 442 in Madrid
2,140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Hotel Preciados
Hotel Preciados
#26 of 442 in Madrid
4,039 reviews
Centro
Catalonia Gran Via
Catalonia Gran Via
#197 of 442 in Madrid
1,550 reviews
Centro
Iberostar Las Letras Gran Via
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Emperador Hotel Madrid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Emperador Hotel Madrid

Address: Calle Gran Via 53, 28013 Madrid, Spain
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Centro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#102 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
#126 Business Hotel in Madrid
#151 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
Price Range: $124 - $260 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Emperador Hotel Madrid 4*
Number of rooms: 232
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Emperador Hotel in Madrid is perfectly located in the lively Gran Vía of Madrid, only a few minutes of the main tourist attractions in the capital. It offers 232 guestrooms, meeting rooms and an amazing rooftop with terrace and swimming pool in season. Other services in the hotel: gym, souvenirs shop, hairdressing, steam bath and valet parking, among others. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Priceline, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Emperador Hotel Madrid reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Madrid Emperador Hotel
Emperador Madrid
Hotel Emperador

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing