We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Emperador Hotel Madrid
Nearby Hotels
$178
$159
NH Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Catalonia Las Cortes(Madrid)
$245
$234
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$385
$335
Westin.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Hotel Regina(Madrid)
$123
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$148
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
$234
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Maydrit Hotel(Madrid)(Great Value!)
$86
$77
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$152
$126
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$348
$315
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$294
$278
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (2,414)
Filter reviews
2,414 results
Traveler rating
793
988
420
140
73
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
793
988
420
140
73
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooftop poolclub roomplenty of sunbedsgreat poolgreat locationlobby barcentral locationsun loungersper daywithin walking distanceroyal palacesanto domingotour busplaza mayormetro stationcity breaklong weekend
Filter
Updating list...
927 - 932 of 2,414 reviews
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Gran Via is like Times Square in NY ... bright lights, hordes of people and lots of noise. Hotel is right in the middle of all the excitement, which continues all day and through the night. Our room was large, well furnished and very clean. It faced directly on to the Gran Via and was very noisy, but the view from our French balcony compensated for the constant din. It felt very upbeat and seemed like everyone was having fun enjoying life.

Service at front desk and from Housekeeping was a little haphazard, but our issues were addressed immediately.

The Club Room is a horrible ... a dark, creepy, empty partitioned piece of a larger room. Bar consists of 5 dusty bottles of unrecognizable rot gut liquor and 1 beer tap. No mixer, no lemons or limes. There are wine glasses, but no wine. "Snacks" consist of a bowl of potato chips and some peanuts. Just awful. If, for some reason, you have the desire to upgrade to club access, DON'T DO IT! It is a waste of money and an insult to the hotel guest.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the Gran Via are noisy all the time, but the rooms are larger than those facing the courtyard.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marji H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmperadorHotel, Public Relations Manager at Emperador Hotel Madrid, responded to this reviewResponded December 26, 2012

Dear Client,

Firstly, we would like to thank you your stay at Emperador Hotel in Madrid, and your interest showing your opinion here. We do appreciate to receive your feedback in order to help us to continuously improve our service and quality standards.

We are very happy to know you were satisfied with the convenient location of the hotel, your room and the cleaning in our facilities.

About the Emperador Club, we regret to hear that your expectations have not been fulfilled. On behalf of all our staff, we would like to apologize for the inconveniences suffered during your stay.

On the other side, we would like to inform you Emperador Club is a complimentary service in superior rooms. The upgrade to superior room includes excellent views over Gran Vía, bigger size of the room or special amenities in room, among others. Emperador Club is a self-service bar replaced several times a day by our bar staff. Nevertheless, we are already working in your review of the Club. The management and staff of the hotel are completely involved in getting a total satisfaction of our guests, and we regret to read this from you.

We hope that we can compensate you in some way during your next visit to Emperador Hotel in Madrid.

We are looking forward to seeing you again in your next visit to Madrid.

Yours sincerely,
Hotel Emperador

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2012

Busy Gran-Via location on a corner near Santo Domingo metro is lively at all hours, with loads of fast food, shops, the Lion King playing in theater nearby and men handing out invites to side street girly bars at night. Inside, marble lobby and grand old stairway leads to conference rooms and a tourist shop. My courtyard facing room was quiet, clean ("disinfected" label on toilet first day) and the antique-effect furniture and gold pattern on red carpet give a high-brow charm to this grand hotel. Emperador is more ambitious than most solid businessman hotels but is made more ordinary in October when the pool in pictures closes at end of Sept for winter. Don't be fooled by the gym/ spa: in basement is a lonely set of machines tossed together in corner room just to say they have a gym.
Internet and Buffet breakfast was included in my room rate, but not worth the posted charge for each if it is not included.. Service was clumsy if not careless: I did not get coffee offered one day, another day they offered thrice in 5 minutes.
Then check-out gave me a bill with rates which were different from reservation, different again from check-in, and different from credit card amount debited.

Room Tip: inner courtyard facing rooms have no streetlight or noise at night
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alex S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmperadorHotel, General Manager at Emperador Hotel Madrid, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2012

Dear Guest,

First of all, we would like to thank you your stay at Emperador Hotel in Madrid. Also for give some minutes of your precious time to show here your opinion.

We always appreciate to receive feedback from our clients as this helps us to continously improve our service and quality level.

We regret to hear that your expectations with our hotel have not been fulfilled. On behalf of all our staff, we would like to apologize for the inconveniences found during your stay.

Regarding our location, we are very sorry you couldn't enjoy other advantages to be here, in the city center, such as Royal Palace, Plaza de España or Sol, among others.

Concerning the gym, we would like to inform you it is a new training equipment, with new machines purchased recently.

Once more again, please, accept our apologies about the inconveniences suffered. We always try to do our best for the satisfaction of our guests, and we hope that we can compensate you in some way during a next visit to Madrid.

Please do not hesitate to contact us for any further queries.

Yours sincerely,
General Manager
Hotel Emperador

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Just back from Madrid Stayed there for 3 nights. The room was a bit smaller than we expected but overall i liked this hotel. Was very easy to find from the Airport / metro stop just outside and it was clean. No tea and coffee which was a bit disappointing though. The hotel location is just excellent it is so central very busy area. The pool was cloased but overall we had a great stay here in this hotel. Beds were very comfortable bathroom was lovely and it was veru quite for such a busy area and city centre location had a wonderful nights sleep!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sara A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmperadorHotel, General Manager at Emperador Hotel Madrid, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2012

Dear Guest,

From our Quality Department , we would like to thank you your stay at Emperador Hotel in Madrid. We appreciate also you have dedicated a part of your precious time to give us your opinion. This is very important for us, as this helps us to improve continuously our facilities and services.

We are delighted to know your general stay and experience with us was satisfactory.
Please, don't hesitate in contact us if you need any queries

We are looking forward to seeing you in your next visit to Madrid.

Yours faithfully,
Hotel Emperador

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2012

stayed march 2011
room very comfortable especially the beds
lounge area lacking atmosphere
would stay again
great location
madrid was superb
it rained every day but we still loved it
you need to get used to traffic noise on gran via its 24/7

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank debbiemkThirsk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmperadorHotel, Public Relations Manager at Emperador Hotel Madrid, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2012

Dear client,
Firstly, we would like to thank you your stay at Emperador Hotel in Madrid. Likewise, for dedicating some minutes of your precious time to show your opinion about it. For us, it is very important to receive feedback from our clients as it helps us to continuously improve our service and quality level.

We are delighted to know your general visit with us was good and we hope your visit during your next visit to Madrid.

Please do not hesitate to contact us for any further queries.

Yours faithfully,
Hotel Emperador

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

First impression of the Emperador is very good,lovely reception and lounge area, although small in comparison to some others. The standard rooms are very basic and disappointing although clean. The pool area is very good and nice to relax in at the end of the afternoon.

Room Tip: Probably the only way to ensure a good room is to book an executive or to ask for an upgrade on check in.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank poppie28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmperadorHotel, Public Relations Manager at Emperador Hotel Madrid, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments about your stay at Emperador Hotel in Madrid. We always do appreciate to receive feedback from our clients as it helps us to continuously improve our service and quality standards.

About your comments of room, we would like to inform you that all areas of the hotel, including lounge are and rooms, have been recently renovated. However, we thank you your review to have a general idea of all tastes of our clients.

We hope that we can compensate you in some way during your next visit to Emperador Hotel in Madrid.

Please do not hesitate to contact us for any further queries.

Yours faithfully,
Hotel Emperador

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews