We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Spring stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Gran Versalles Hotel
Ranked #148 of 435 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
somerset
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Our Spring stay”
Reviewed April 22, 2013

We stayed 3 nights in the hotal, very central but in a quiet, residential area. Within walking distance of he Puerta del Sol (20 min), 2 min from an underground station and easy connection to the Airport. Excellent room. Breakfast not that good though - best place was 10 min walking distance in Calle Fernando VI called Mama Framboise.
We cycled around Madrid for 3 hours, with a guide who took us to places we would not have found. It waa a great experience. We used Trixi.com located in Calle de los jardines.
We will be back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank inge06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

902 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    257
    448
    152
    26
    19
See reviews for
139
402
56
120
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2013

If you want a quiet hotel but not too far from the center, this hotel is perfect. It's a 10 - 15 mins walk to Gran Via and to Sol. It may be too quiet for those who prefer to be in the hustle and bustle of things though. I've also styayed in the center (near Puerto del Sol and Gran Via) so I know it's a trade-off as it can be too lively and noisy for a good night's sleep unless you're a heavy sleeper. The walls are a bit thin since I could hear voices from the neighboring room, but not loud enough to be annoying. My room was spacious and had twin beds. I loved the rain shower, the double sink and toothbrush and razor, since I had forgotten both items. There is a supermarket 5 mins away. The Colon Plaza and Hard Rock cafe are a short walk away. I wasn't crazy about the buffet breakfast selection plus the coffee was too bitter (ask for a cappuccino instead) and the next morning I went to a Starbucks a block away instead. I had booked through the hotel site but the link to cancel was confusing - I was informed at the time of booking that I could cancel up to 12 hours before, but when I clicked on the link several days before arrival (I wanted to check the policy), it gave me a confusing message that the room was a non-refundable internet rate. Could be an issue with English meaning that one couldn't cancel IF the guest had booked a special rate but next time I will book via booking.com which gives the same prices and more user-friendly. The weather was slightly warm and the air conditioning wasn't working even though the reception kept saying it would to be fixed. It wasn't too much of a problem in early April with the window open, but if you're going in warm weather, email them in advance to make sure they will have A/C! They were pretty good about answering emails when I had questions. The staff all spoke English and very helpful if you need directions.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrusselsSprouter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Clean, comfortable and a good value for money. Recommended for short stays. Excellent connection to metro system. Walking distance from Malasaña. If you're looking for a quieter location than Sol and you're on somewhat of a budget, this is a good choice.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hopefullyanonymous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nyon
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Stayed there for a football game in February. It was nice to be a bit outside of the main Fan-zone. The hotel is nicely decorated, staff was perfectly friendly and the rooms were a good size with comfortable beds. Showers were not too strong though, so it took some time to get the shampoo out of your hair... but I was not in a hurry. Our room was quiet and nice - we could sleep in 0 thereby missed breakfast. Very conveniently situated near the underground station, but also within walking distance to a lot of places. It was also very affordable. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2013

I stayed there for 5 nights, rooms is basic but quite good, restaurant is very small, and variety of breakfast definitly needs to be improved.
They rearly speak English, hotel is very cosy, and it is good area but not around shopping area, for drinks you dont have alot of varities, it is small hotel if you have no luxury requirments, go there, last note: I think HK should pay more attention to the room cleaning

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sanaa r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights, which was very convenient to get to by public transport from the airport (4.70 Euros for a single Metro ticket; line 8 (pink line) to terminus, Nuevos Ministerios and then line 10 (navy blue line) south to Alonso Martinez. The ticket machine at the Metro is easy to use and takes credit card. Allow yourself 45 minutes to 1 hour to get from airport to hotel, 30 mins for the metro if the connections are good and about 15 mins walk, 10 of which was needed to get between airport terminal and metro! Hotel was a few minutes walk from the station and located 20 minutes walk from Gran Via and a further 10 minutes walk from Plaza Mayor. We liked the area and felt safe, did not experience any hassle at all and we did wander off the beaten tracks several times.
Hotel and bedroom were clean, we were in room 405 a quiet room facing the court-yard with good Wi-Fi connections, we actually slept with the window open as we found the room warm, however as experienced by other light sleepers the walls were thin and we could hear our neighbours next door and the person above us. This would be the down-side of this hotel as I am a very light sleeper. It didn't bother my husband who can sleep through anything.
We loved the shower and all the toiletries on offer (comb, toothbrush, razor were included), and used the fridge to store our own water bottles and sandwich fillers!
We only had breakfast once here, cost us 9 Euros each plus VAT, which was for a "eat as much as you like buffet breakfast" (cooked breakfast was a selection of scrambled eggs, yucky bacon, some sort of meat and veg casserole which tasted ok), a selection of continental style cereals which we didn't try as not to our liking as looked too sweet and with not much texture, lots of sweet pastries, bread rolls, sliced white and their version of sliced brown bread which can be toasted, meat and cheese selection, fresh and pickled salad, a variety of fresh and dried fruit, a selection of yoghurt pots, a choice of 3 fruit juices and plenty of hot beverage choices.
We made use of the hotel computer opposite the lifts but it was so so so so slow.
All the receptionists were excellent - spoke very good English.

Room Tip: I've already given some tips but maybe try the top floor so that you don't get to hear peopl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DRMR119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spain
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Nice hotel, good location, terrible wifi. The rooms are a good size, location is central as it is 2 metro stops to Gran Via. The only downfall to this hotel is the wifi signal. It was difficult to maintain a signal from the second floor and not much better from the lobby. I would recommend staying here if accessing the internet is not of importance.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Thaimex81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Chamberi
NH Alonso Martinez
NH Alonso Martinez
#70 of 435 in Madrid
860 reviews
Chamberi
Hotel One Shot Luchana 22
Hotel One Shot Luchana 22
#67 of 435 in Madrid
666 reviews
Chamberi
Hotel Sardinero Madrid
Hotel Sardinero Madrid
#83 of 435 in Madrid
719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chueca
Eurostars Central
Eurostars Central
#153 of 435 in Madrid
454 reviews
Chamberi
Sercotel Gran Hotel Conde Duque
Chamberi
Agora Juan de Austria
Agora Juan de Austria
#265 of 435 in Madrid
292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Versalles Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Versalles Hotel

Property: Gran Versalles Hotel
Address: Calle Covarrubias 4, 28010 Madrid, Spain
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Chamberi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#103 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#103 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Gran Versalles Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gran Versalles Hotel is in the centre of Madrid, near Alonso Martinez Square and the wellknown neighbordhood called Chueca. You can reach Gran Via Street or Serrano Street in a short walk, or take the metro at Alonso Martinez Station, just round the corner, with 3 lines (4,5 and 10) which will bring you shortly to any place in town, even to Barajas Airport in just 30 minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Gran Versalles Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Gran Versalles
Gran Versalles Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing