We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Totally Fine” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gran Versalles Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Gran Versalles Hotel to your Saves list
Gran Versalles Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Covarrubias 4, 28010 Madrid, Spain (Chamberi)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #148 of 448 Hotels in Madrid
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Totally Fine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

This hotel was just fine for the price. Clean and comfortable. The staff was not especially helpful but they were not useless either. We did not do the breakfast buffet because they are only open till 11 and we slept in alot. (Late nights are the norm in madrid!) We liked the cafeteria across the street. There is a lady there that spoke great english and was pretty nice. There is also a starbucks. The best part is its location to a subway stop. I was impressed with the cleaning staff as they always managed to get the room clean even though we were sleeping in so late. the only drawback was the noise. The walls are on the thin side, but it didn't bother me too much. my internet connection was great. there are two computers downstairs with printers if needed.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cherylkathleen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

701 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    188
    351
    129
    20
    13
See reviews for
101
321
41
94
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rzeszow, Poland
Level Contributor
150 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

We got spacious room, matching what we wanted. Location is good, but you need 15 minutes on foot to reach old city centre. Breakfast was good, but not anything exceptional. Beds were comfortable enough. However, they advertise high-speed internet connection and even if you will be able to connect, forget about any speed at all. It's like using modem 10 years ago. Plus, you get disconnected every 10 minutes.
Another story are the pillows, very hard, long and rather uncomfortable. Cleaning staff a bit noisy and not very polite.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandy, Utah
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Another review said the staff were older, yes, they were but, they were professional and pleasant to us. the Hotel iteself was comfortable and clean. There were English language newspapers in the lobby as well as fruit and umbrellas to borrow when it rained. We were able to purchase some tours from the front desk. We did have some charges made to us that were incorrect and the front staff corrected the problem with no discussion when we checked out. We did order a dinner from the resturant in the hotel. I WOULD NOT EAT THERE! THE FOOD IS MICROWAVED! NOT PREPARED FRESH. They were pleasant enough to remove the charge from our bill when I complained that we could not even eat the meal. They did so without making us feel uncomfortable. We really appreciated that fact. They were professional top to bottom. Everyone on the front desk spoke english well. There are resturants across the street. There is a market one block east and one block west. (turn right out of the hotel go to the end of the block turn left go one block turn right and it is on the left side. We were able to snacks and drinks there. There are only English speaking news channels on the TV, so one evening we found a Theatre that showed the movies in English.(V.O- Version originale) Got to see the new James Bond movie in English. Most of the small resturants don't open until 8:30pm. The two across the street are open all the time. I'm asian american.
There is a self serve laudry an 8 min (timed it)walk from the hotel as you head south toward the Grand Via. The Gran Via is an additional 10 min further south. There is a bus stop right around the corner as well as a metro stop. Everything was close. We bought a 5 day tourist pass at the airport that got us into town and with one transfer got to the Alonzo Martinez metro stop. It was reasonable and easy to use. We were able to use a car transfer company to get us to the airport for an early morning departure for 24 euros. We had a great time in Madrid but, watch your purse. My wife got pickpocketed on the metro.
This is a definite yes as to a return stay at the Gran Vesalles. The biggest reason. The front desk staff were attentive and responsive to our needs and concerns. A huge plus when you want things to be perfect for your stay

Room Tip: We had a room that faced the street. It was a tad hot for us so we opened the window. this neighbo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jdcoach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Clean hotel and Convenient to the metro.Not a bad place at all to rest your tired feet after a long walk and sightseeing. The pillows are extra heavy and very hard. I ended up with a stiff neck!
Old and not too friendly front desk staff but efficient. They all look grouchy and in their retirement stage of their lives and nothing good to look forward to!
Not much going on around the area.There are good cheap restaurants in the vicinity . The buffet restaurant around the corner from the hotel was good for the price of 9.95 Euro.
It is strange that they put the computer right in front of the elevator where everybody can see what your are writing, no privacy there.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chobun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Hotel Gran Versalles in Madrid is a very clean, well run hotel situated a short walk from the Alonzo Maretinez Metro station and roundabout. This means that all parts of the city are accessible, and every taxi driver knows exactly where the Alonzo Martinez roundabout is. Even so, my wife and I walked to the Gran Via (city centre area) on at least one occasion.

I have nothing but praise for the hotel. The reception staff is composed of seasoned, helpful and well experienced individuals who seemed to be completely comfortable conversing in several languages. Our room was generous in size by large European city standards and contained all of the things we could have wanted in the way of hair dryer, trouser press, mini-bar, TV with what seemed like a hundred channels or so, desk and chair, free wi-fi service, and so on.

The breakfast was good, but the crowning feature for me was the total absence of street noise or any other kind of noise in the night. In many city hotels this can be a real problem, but not in the Hotel Gran Versalles, or at least in that part of it in which we stayed.

Lastly, we were very pleased with the total cost of our three day stay. I can award five stars here without any hesitation, and I can say that I would not want to stay anywhere else in Madrid when and if I visit that city again.

Room Tip: We stayed in a room that overlooked a small internal courtyard. We had no noise at all but I cannot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Seamus M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

This was our second stay at the Gran Versalles. The location was great for us - we wanted an area that was within walking distance of the city centre without being right in the middle of all the noise and bustle. The hotel is about 10-15 minutes walk from the Gran Via but there is a Metro stop nearby (Alonzo Martinez). The area felt very safe, even at night. The room was nice and clean, and the bathroom had a good range of supplies (including a comb and toothbrush, should you need them!) There was also a safe and a well stocked mini-bar. We found the staff at reception to be helpful and pleasant. The one negative, as far as we were concerned, was the girl working in the bar, who stopped just short of being downright rude. Don't let this put you off the hotel, however - you're not dependent on the hotel bar as there are plenty of good eating and drinking places nearby. (In fairness, the snacks we had there were good so it was a pity that the waitress wasn't!)

We had an excellent breakfast every day at the the Cafe Santander (turn left when coming out of the hotel, then left again and it's on the other side of the crossing.) It's also open late at night and has a good selection of snacks and meals. Cerveceria Santa Barbera has tasty food and we also liked a nearby bar called Bulevar.

Going on the tourist bus is a good way of getting a general idea of the city. If it's sunny it's worth visiting the Retiro gardens and we would also recommend making time for a drink or two in the Plaza Mayor (we found the Torre del Oro bar to be a good place to soak up the sunshine!). Cafe Gijon on Paseo de Recoletos (a cafe with historical literary connections) is brilliant for people watching - not cheap but the tarta de Santiago is lovely, and the menu del dia there is really good value. Its also well worth visiting the Mercado de San Miguel market just off the Plaza Mayor to see (and taste!) an amazing array of food. (There are good toilets there as well!)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MAGCaerdydd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
62 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

The hotel was very clean. The cleaners did a thorough job each day. The location is great. The only downside is that there is no soundproofing at all. You can hear everything that is going on in rooms around and above you.
Overall it is a good place but not a four star hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank toronto520
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Chamberi
NH Alonso Martinez
NH Alonso Martinez
#77 of 448 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 stars 542 reviews
Chamberi
Agora Juan de Austria
Agora Juan de Austria
#247 of 448 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 stars 230 reviews
Chamberi
Sercotel Gran Hotel Conde Duque
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chamberi
INNSIDE Madrid Genova
INNSIDE Madrid Genova
#65 of 448 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 stars 536 reviews
Chueca
Petit Palace Santa Barbara
Chamberi
Innside Madrid Luchana
Innside Madrid Luchana
#55 of 448 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 stars 527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Versalles Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Versalles Hotel

Property: Gran Versalles Hotel
Address: Covarrubias 4, 28010 Madrid, Spain
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Chamberi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#101 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
#104 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Gran Versalles Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gran Versalles Hotel is in the centre of Madrid, near Alonso Martinez Square and the wellknown neighbordhood called Chueca. You can reach Gran Via Street or Serrano Street in a short walk, or take the metro at Alonso Martinez Station, just round the corner, with 3 lines (4,5 and 10) which will bring you shortly to any place in town, even to Barajas Airport in just 30 minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Gran Versalles Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Gran Versalles
Gran Versalles Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing