We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The guest experience gets better and better”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Melia Castilla

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Melia Castilla
Ranked #56 of 444 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Toulouse, France
Level Contributor
52 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“The guest experience gets better and better”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2014

I travel very frequently to a few cities in the world and only in Madrid I keep coming back to the same hotel. Their staff is committed to a level of service rarely seen nowadays and that makes all the difference.

Good breakfast (including an egg station), good and reasonably priced room service. Very comfortable beds, extremely clean bathrooms. Rooms are very well isolated from the noise outside and in the hallways. Nice swimming-pool and decent fitness-room (it could be bigger, but it is rarely crowded). Fantastic conference facilities. Oh, and wifi everywhere.

Location wise, it is not city-center, but it is very close to the airport and you can get to the center fairly quickly with public transportation. Also, there are enough good restaurants in the area with different price ranges, be sure to ask for recommendations and directions at the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clarisita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Javier_Alcalde, Adjunto a Dirección at Melia Castilla, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Dear customer,

We appreciate your kind descriptions about our activities and services.

We all try to do our best and your opinions encourage us to continue working in this way.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards.

Javier Alcalde
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,683 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,417
    915
    252
    64
    35
See reviews for
535
538
130
1,261
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Livingston, New Jersey
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2014

Overall good hotel. They allowed us to check in early. Family connecting rooms were very useful as we were traveling with children. Good breakfast. It is about a 12 Euro cab ride from the main tourist attractions of Madrid. Walking distance to the Real Madrid stadium.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jaanuandme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Javier_Alcalde, Assistant Manager at Melia Castilla, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Dear customer,

Thanks for the time dedicated to send us your kind comments.
You make us very happy for sharing your experience with all Tripadvisor users and we expect you come soon.

Receive a cordial greeting.

Javier Alcalde
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2014

The staff are extremely friendly and kind. The location is great and they have great facilities for conferences. Overall a very satisfied customer. Will most certainly be using them again. Very highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jlrd10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Javier_Alcalde, Adjunto a Dirección at Melia Castilla, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear customer,

You make us very happy for your nice comments and to know that everything was under your expectations. We also are very pleased for sharing them with all users

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Receive a cordial greeting

Javier Alcalde
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2014

stayed here for a conference in March this year. Hotel a bit old and dated but okay for a few days. A bit out of city centre but easy to get around by metro or bus. supermarket nearby and close to stadium and el cortez inglis department store not to far away. The only gripe I have is that there aren't very many restaurants outside of the hotel (seems to be mostly office blocks) and the restaurants that we did see were closed on weekday evenings. reception and front door staff helpful and friendly

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank iluvkerits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Javier_Alcalde, Assistant Manager at Melia Castilla, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Dear client,

Thanks for your comments and for sharing them with all users.

We are located in the north of Madrid just 15 minutes from airport and down town and very well connected.

We are doing a great effort working in rooms and we'll take in mind your opinion about the noises between connected rooms.

We are surrounded of very well known restaurants which are open mostly the whole week. Please, let us our Concierge Desk recommend you next time.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon, recibe a cordial greeting.

Javier Alcalde
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2014

Stayed at this hotel in April... Was attending a conference there... I cannot find a single fault... I am a wheelchair user with a severe food allergy, and I was treated with the greatest courtesy, and kindness by everybody... Nothing was too much trouble, and as I couldn't eat from the buffet (risk of cross contamination with nuts!), I enjoyed several fantastic meals cooked particularly for me... And the fruit platters I had instead of pastries at break times were just fantastic... One of those alone would be enough to encourage me to return... Thank you to the chefs... I ate really well... Particular thanks to Oliver for all his help...... He took me 'under his wing' and made sure I had my every need and want, met!... Always had a smile on his face despite the long days he was working during the event... He's one in million, a keeper... Think the hotel should clone him!...

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DubTBITW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Javier_Alcalde, Assitant Manager at Melia Castilla, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank your very much for your nice comments and feelings about the hotel. You felt really pampered and that is the most important thing for us.
Do not hesitate I will tell the chefs about your comments and I completely agree about Oliver´s cloning. We´ll try it !!

It´s a really pleasure and hope to see you back anytime at The Melia Castilla.
Yours sincerely.

Javier Alcalde
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Levittown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2014 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel for business and it was not as luxurious as some I have stayed at before. The room was clean and the food was good which is what really matters but I did feel the experience was lacking. The hotel room and bathroom seemed a bit dated and unfortunately it is not near the heart of the city. You have to take public transportation.

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie8228
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Javier_Alcalde, Assistant Manager at Melia Castilla, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Dear guest,

As you know Melia Castilla Hotel is strategically located in the financial area of the city, a few meters from the Paseo de la Castellana and close to Real Madrid Stadium.

The hotel is located 6,83 miles far from the airport, 3,72 miles far from the trade fairs and 1,86 miles far from down town. You´ll find subway stations and bus stations close to the hotel to arrive down town in less than 15 min and cabs 24 at the main entrance.

Thanks so much for your kind comments. We´ll work hard to improve and we will try to surprise you next time and get your five points.

Kind regards,

Javier Alcalde
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2014 via mobile

We spent two nights in this massive hotel at the end of may with Flying Blue rewards miles vouchers.
Since the hotel is massive and since we were not directly paying the room rates we were afraid that they would give us some tiny dark room in the worst corner...
That was not the case. It seems like all rooms have nice size and light and standards.
Room was fairly clean and bathroom very clean.
Room was rather big considering what you usually get in big European capitals, including Madrid on a 4 star hotel with good location.
Location of the hotel is maybe not the best for tourism, but ideal for business, or shopping, or, in our case, for visiting friends.
Swimming pool was not operative, seemly due to some refurbishing works.
Gym was in good condition although it seemed small considering the size (number of rooms) of this hotel.
Parking was expensive and parking lift not working properly.
Lifts for rooms were however fast, and comfortable.
Room service was fast.
We didn't try the breakfast nor restaurants.
And important feature of the room was perfect noise isolation from the street. In fact the room was very quiet, which is something we loved.
We wouldn't mind to repeat experience.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Bejar-Horii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Javier_Alcalde, Assitant Manager at Melia Castilla, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Dear guest,

All the people coming to The Melia Castilla are important. It doesn´t matter how did you make your reservation, where you are from... You are very important for us, of course !!

We feel really satisfied about your comments and we celebrate that you felt a nice experience.
We are really finishing some changes at the swiming pool area and we´re opening very soon with a new fascinating terrace - bar.

Hope to see you back soon and we´ll work hard to improve and get your five points next time !!
Yours sincerely,

Javier Alcalde
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madrid hotels
AC Hotel Cuzco
#166 of 444 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 728 reviews
San Blas
Melia Avenida America
Melia Avenida America
#172 of 444 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 962 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Hotel Indigo Madrid - Gran Via
Eurostars Madrid Tower
#85 of 444 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,006 reviews
Arguelles
Melia Madrid Princesa
Melia Madrid Princesa
#65 of 444 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,041 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Castilla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Castilla

Property: Melia Castilla
Address: Calle Capitan Haya 43, 28020 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in Madrid
#19 Business Hotel in Madrid
#29 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#43 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Melia Castilla 4*
Number of rooms: 915
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Melia Castilla is considered one of the most emblematic hotels in Madrid, with an appealing blend of perfectly balanced classic and contemporary styles, where peace and urban life are accomplices to delight our guests.The excellent location, a few minutes from Paseo de la Castellana, 15 minutes from Barajas airport and IFEMA exhibition centre, near Chamartin train station and the Real Madrid Santiago Bernabeu football stadium, makes the Melia Castilla the perfect choice for your visit to Madrid. Complimentary WIFI and 24-hour Gym. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Prodigios Interactivos SA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Melia Castilla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Castilla Hotel Madrid
Melia Hotel Madrid
Melia Hotel Castilla

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing