We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very cosy - one of my favourite in Europe”
Review of Melia Castilla

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Melia Castilla
Ranked #60 of 436 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Paris, France
Level Contributor
44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“very cosy - one of my favourite in Europe”
Reviewed December 2, 2013

very nice location, although very big, the inside and rooms are very cosy. Everything done in the decoration to make you feel comfortable. Nice staff. Quite expensive, especially breakfast, even if it is a nice one, but the overall opinion is very positive. I'm always happy when I know I travel to that place !

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Framboise R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Javier_Alcalde, Assistant Manager at Melia Castilla, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Dear Framboise,

You make us very happy knowing that you've really enjoyed your stay. This encourage us to continue working hard for our customers.

Receive a cordial greeting.

Javier Alcalde
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,830 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,491
    968
    265
    66
    40
See reviews for
555
569
135
1,340
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Buehlertal, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 26, 2013

Travelling on business purposes to Madrid, our company selected the Melia Hotel for me. It was the first time I stayed in this hotel. Reception and services were very professional and friendly. The room functional but nevertheless nicely decorated. Wifi functioned perfectly as well as all the other technical equipment. The bathroom was spacious and equipped with all required items. All rooms were clean. Food I can't comment since we had dinner outside. I will return to the Melia Hotel during my next business trip still this year.

Room Tip: cannot comment on this
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jutta W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Javier_Alcalde, Assistant Hotel Manager at Melia Castilla, responded to this review, November 30, 2013
Dear Jutta,

Firstly, we are very glad to see that we could reach your expectations in your first visit, as our goal is always to offer the best service to all our Guests.

Besides, we appreciate your kind review about our staff and our facilities and we hope, as you say, you to come back to Melia Castilla in your next visit to Madrid.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2013

Stayed here for a conference located in the hotel. Hotel looks nice, quite smart though decor looks like 90s hotel vogue to me, and could do with a brush up. Staff were a bit odd, their English was pretty terrible, which is unusual for a conference hotel. ROoms were Ok but a few things didn't work, ac, ice machines in corridors.

Breakfast was pretty decent but catering for the conference lunches was just terrible. Location is OK though not central, but short walk to a metro.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Owen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Javier_Alcalde, Assistant Hotel Manager at Melia Castilla, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Dear Owen A,

First of all, we would like to thank your comments and your honest opinion about our service and our facilities.

For the hotel Management is always a pleasure to receive this kind of review in order to improve our service and the training of our staff.

We are looking forward to seeing you very soon.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
101 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights to attend a conference at the hotel. Hotel is located about 20 minutes from the airport but is probably another 15-20 minutes to the city center. So, depending on your perspective this can be great (for conference) or inconvenient (tourist). There is nothing much around the hotel that warrants exploration. The hotel appears to be well maintained with supportive staff (adequate); the room is rather small (too many doors - there are 3 within the room itself) which made me feel a little claustrophobic. Room contained a good size safe (that fitted a lap top), well-stocked mini bar and free wireless internet service - thank you. The hotel housed 3 restaurants that provided amply-sized portions of good food that was also well-priced. The conference facilities were well laid out and well supported by the staff. There is a small gym (probably too small for the size of the hotel) but was under-used during my stay. All in all, a fine hotel for a conference but would have liked it better if it was more centrally located.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Seng100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Javier_Alcalde, Assistant Hotel Manager at Melia Castilla, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Dear Seng100,

Regarding to your comments, we would like to inform you that we are really very well conected to the city center, as there are 2 tube lines and several bus stops directed to the downtown, for these reason, we are a very good option for tourists too.

We are the biggest hotel in Madrid and one of the hugest in Europe, for this we can afford to host from big congresses to small groups of tourist and families, as we have all the facilities that all of this types of customers need during their stay in the city.

We hope you to visit us again to show you all our new facilities and the rest of the rooms that we offer to our Guests.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2013

The Melia Castilla was the final stop on our honeymoon. We arrived in Madrid much later than we thought we would as travelled here by bus from Logrono. We decided to eat in the hotel due to the time of night and ate at the bar beside the pool. Could not fault the food here at all. The rooms were amazing, so spacious, was more like an apartment without a kitchen! The hotel is about a 10 minute walk from the nearest metro stop and hotel staff were always very friendly & helpful. The hotel was directly across the road from a pole dancing bar and we did spot a few working girls on our way from the metro back to the hotel at night but at no point did we feel unsafe. The hotel did have an outdoor pool. It wasn't very big and don't expect to get a sun bed as there were only a few but we didn't come to madrid to sunbathe so it was fine for a quick swim and cool down before hearing back out again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ali2311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Javier_Alcalde, Assistant Hotel Manager at Melia Castilla, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Dear Ali,

We would like to apreciate your comments about our hotel and we are very glad to check that you felt very comfortable in Meliá Castilla.

We would like to take the oportunity to congratulate you about your wedding and to give to you and your partner the best wishes in your new life. By staying in our hotel we feel an important part of your honeymoon, for this reason we are proud to have given the service you deserved during your stay.

We are at your disposal and we are looking to hosting you in a near future.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerez De La Frontera, Spain
2 reviews
Reviewed November 12, 2013

Musea, shopping and a flamenco show is a must when staying in Madrid, but at the end of the day one feels tired enough to have a peaceful rest in a spacious Premium Room of the Melia Castilla.The hotel is situated in the busy financial district of Madrid, but at the end of the day the whole neighbourhood is quiet and peaceful. If you feel like taking the Metro, there is a station nearby. The avenida Castellana is close, but does not at all disturb the clients at the hotel whose rooms are quite insonorized. Going through reception is only a matter of minutes and you're in your room before you know it. In the morning breakfast is impressive. I consider it the BEST breakfast in Madrid. Try to name anything you would like to eat, you cannot, for there is always something to every's taste. Besides, service is quick and waiters are very kind and helpful. Example of service : when we arrived, the safe was not working properly. I called reception and they promised me to send someone as soon as possible. To our surprise the handyman knocked on our door minutes later and as he saw no way of repairing right away, he brought us a new one. Half an hour to fix the problem. Sure you'll have to wait till next day in other five stars hotels.
And if you like to experience first class gastronomy, try the best Andalousian Restaurant "El Espigon", hundred meters to the left, on leaving the hotel, across the street. Superb dining and excellent wines. But don't forget to reserve, for it's almost always full. You won't regret it.
Have a nice stay. Anyway, our next trip to Madrid will be soon, as we like the town, as it will be,as always, at the Melia Castilla.

Room Tip: Book a premium room if your budget allows it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hubert w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Javier_Alcalde, Assistant Hotel Manager at Melia Castilla, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Dear Mr. Hubert,

We are truly grateful for your wonderful review of Meliá Castilla hotel. After reading it, we feel proud of ourselves and of striving everyday to offer the best service to all of our Guests.

We are glad to see that we are an important part of every trip you do to Madrid and we hope to continue being your home in the city.

When we receive this kind of congratulation, we always inform to all our team, as it is a very good sign that means that our effort worth it.

We hope to see you very soon in our hotel, "your home in Madrid"

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tenafly, New Jersey
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for a week on a business trip and had a pretty decent experience. Everyone was professional and friendly. My room was clean and good size in European standard. I had drinks, lunch and breakfast at the various food establishments with in the hotel and the experience was good even they were a bit expensive comparing other places nearby.

It is not as centrally located and about 20 mind away from downtown. It's a good place to stay for business trip.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank D L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Javier_Alcalde, Assistant Hotel Manager at Melia Castilla, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

After reading your review, we would like to thank you for your time and for the very good opinion about our hotel.

As you mention, we are very good located, as we are in the business area and only 20 minutes from the downtown.

We hope you to visit us very soon.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madrid hotels
San Blas
Melia Avenida America
Melia Avenida America
#167 of 436 in Madrid
1,036 reviews
Eurostars Madrid Tower
#95 of 436 in Madrid
2,063 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
AC Hotel Cuzco
#170 of 436 in Madrid
744 reviews
NH Madrid Zurbano
#113 of 436 in Madrid
555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Castilla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Castilla

Property: Melia Castilla
Address: Calle del Poeta Joan Maragall, 43, 28020 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in Madrid
#19 Business Hotel in Madrid
#29 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#48 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Melia Castilla 4*
Number of rooms: 915
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Melia Castilla is considered one of the most emblematic hotels in Madrid, with an appealing blend of perfectly balanced classic and contemporary styles, where peace and urban life are accomplices to delight our guests.The excellent location, a few minutes from Paseo de la Castellana, 15 minutes from Barajas airport and IFEMA exhibition centre, near Chamartin train station and the Real Madrid Santiago Bernabeu football stadium, makes the Melia Castilla the perfect choice for your visit to Madrid. Complimentary WIFI and 24-hour Gym. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Prodigios Interactivos SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Melia Castilla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Castilla Hotel Madrid
Melia Hotel Madrid
Melia Hotel Castilla

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing