We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“comfortable, convenient - friendly” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Melia Castilla

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Melia Castilla
Ranked #56 of 446 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Tallinn
Level Contributor
47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“comfortable, convenient - friendly”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012

Very Friendly staff as in in all Melia hotels - which really is the most consistent i have seen in any chain.

The Melia in Madrid is huge - you would imagine since lots of customers walk through the service would be poor, but it was as good as always.

location: good if you are there for work - it is located where most offices are. to get to central Madrid it is a small can ride (around 10-15 Eur)

Fitness: well equipped gym (just some free weights and one multi gym along with couple of treadmills). Fresh towels, apples and water always there.
Unfortunately they close their pool anytime other than summer. which was disappointing since the temperature was 21 when i was there (pretty warm)

Rooms: tad old but well kept, cleanliness maintained well

events: they organized some great drinking games

Food: very consistently good food throughout my stay of 4 days

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kiwi_traveller_Nick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaCastilla, Assistant Manager at Melia Castilla, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Dear Kiwi_traveller_Nick,

We realize that you stayed in our hotel when a big congress was taken place and you could enjoy the exciting life of the hotel that it is usual in these occasions.

We appreciate all your comments and we are happy to see that our staff worked hard enough to reach your expectation about service.

Regarding with the location comment, we would recommend you, for your future visits, to use the metro, as it is very fast, confortable and cheaper than a taxi ride (about 3 € per round-trip ticket)

We hope you to visit us again to show you our new spaces and rooms.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,395 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,263
    815
    225
    60
    32
See reviews for
465
491
117
1,119
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
248 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012 via mobile

I stayed here due to a conference that I was attending at the hotel. Got in really late and was given my room key.

The room itself was big and had a separate hall area as well as basin area separate to the bathroom.

The room however did not smell that good. The bathroom was the problem and the entire place smelled musty.

The bed was comfortable and the size of the room impressive. However the actual bathroom is not configured nicely. The toilet is not in a convenient place and you are forced to hug the toilet roll dispenser when sitting on it. The combined shower and bath are small.

The coffee shop at the entrance is really nice had morning coffee and croissant there. The milk coffee was really amazing as was the service from the very kind gentleman.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Jasonleg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaCastilla, Assistant Manager at Melia Castilla, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Dear Jasonleg,

Firstly, we would like to thank your valuable time that you have spent to send your comments through Tripadvisor.

We have to apologize if you had any problem with your bathroom during your stay. We have already checked our incidents book of the last 2 months and the only problem that we had similar that you mention was successfully solved in 15 minutes. We would like to confirm to you that we have manteinance staff 24/7 available and we would like to invite you to contact them always you would need for support in your next stays.

On the other hand, we would like to thank you again for your very kind comments about our staff and facilities.

We are expecting to welcome you to the Meliá Castilla hotel again in the future.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2012

I previously stayed at this hotel and really enjoyed it. I travel all over Europe every week and believe that this hotel has the best breakfast that you will find anywhere. I will be there again from next Monday to Wednesday.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NoelGarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaCastilla, Assistant Manager at Melia Castilla, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Dear NoelGarry,

It will be a great pleasure to receive you again, here at your second home.

As you know it is possible to choose more than 100 different types of products which most of them are identified by calories.

We are very happy for your comments and be sure that we will follow working in the same way.

Receive a cordial greeting.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
85 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012

A very busy hotel when I was there, a few conferences but apart from a short wait for a table for breakfast everythiong was excellent.

More a business hotel as it is a little away from the major atractions but not too far away from the Metro- which is even better than London Tube. I saw lots of young people get up to offer their seats to other people- being a Londoner I was shocked as the last time I saw this behaviour on the tube it was me standing up to offer a seat.

Food at the hotel was excellent and the rooms quite and comfortable- even the wi-fi worked well on the 9th floor most of the time.

Large but friendly could not ask for more especially as i turned up with no reservation and stgill got a good rate.

Search out some of the local bars a cafes for some atmosphere and good Jamon

Room Tip: Not much to choose as the views are not great from any floor, noise levels were quite low
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jbrussellgreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaCastilla, Assistant Manager at Melia Castilla, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Dear jbrussellgreen,

Firstly I would like to thank you for your excellent feedback.

These comments make us very happy and encourage us to continue working in the same way.

According to the "tube" It's a great pleasure to know that foreign people receive a cordial treatment from ours compatriots.

We’ll be pleased to see you again to offer you our best service.

Receive a cordial greeting.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virginia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

Very small but well equipped standard rooms, aging but well maintained, well equipped for business, slightly removed from core areas such as Sol, Salamanca, and other more interesting neighborhoods and districts which are about a 9 euro cab ride away. The staff simply never dissappointed. Given the world class food in Madrid it usually makes little sense, from both a cuisine and value perspective, to settle for a hotel's restaurant, but Melia did not dissapoint with the former, and was fair with the latter. Fitness center could be better equipped, it had only cardio, and a dumbell set with a single bench. Aging showed in the rooms, mainly upon close inspection. value is just ok given a) the small size of the rooms, and B) the king bed was two twins pushed together so if you are sensitive to pressure points while sleeping, you are basically on a twin...

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PhillyFoodieVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaCastilla, Assistant Hotel Manager at Melia Castilla, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Dear PhillyFoodie,

First of all, we would like to thank your comments about our staff and facilities.

On the other hand, we would like to take the opportunity to inform you that we have 7 different room types with twin, queen and king size beds, for this reason we would invite you to tell us your preference in your next stay in order to proportionate you your accommodation needs.
We appreciate that you mentioned that our staff is “outstanding”, we will give this information to all of them in order to congratulate them for their everyday effort.

We hope to see you soon again in Meliá Castilla hotel.

We will keep at your disposal.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012 via mobile

Quality hotel close to restaurants and the business district. Quick access to the Bernabeau stadium and short taxi ride to the airport.

Good service with a large breakfast buffet hot and cold selection.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris J Booker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaCastilla, Assistant Hotel Manager at Melia Castilla, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Dear Mr. Booker,

We appreciate your comments in Tripadvisor, there are very usefull to realize where the hotel is very well located in relation to the most important points in the city.

We are glad to see that you enjoyed our breakfast buffet, hoping that it reached your expectations.

See you soon in Meliá Castilla hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Ontario Canada
Level Contributor
74 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

My husband and I spent our last night of our Spanish Holiday on Sept. 14, 2012. Although it was a bit far from airport and they were no longer offering a shuttle service (for $$) we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The front desk staff and bell boys were extremely helpful upon check-in and check-out and our dinner that evening was amazing. The paella was to die for and the service was first class. The room was newly furnished, clean and large. The bar by the pool for drinks before dinner was quiet (you could not hear traffic), the service excellent and the best martinis I have had in a very long time. Breakfast buffet had everything you could want, including freshly prepared eggs and a wide selection of other foods. Service was fast and pleasant as we were a bit rushed to check-out and get to the airport. Our overall experience at Melia Castilla was great and we would definitely return. As previously mentioned, a shuttle service (for a fee) would be beneficial as the taxi prices are very high and
there was a 18Euro difference in price from our taxi trip to Melia and taxi trip from Melia.
Overall, 5 Star hotel.
Belle M and Richard T - Cambridge, Ontario, Canada

Room Tip: If you are a Melia MaS member - no charge - you can get a room upgrade as well as emails with specia...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Belle T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaCastilla, Assistant Hotel Manager at Melia Castilla, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Dear Mrs. Belle T,

We are really happy to see that you enjoyed your Spanish Holidays in Madrid and you stayed with us and discovered our newly furnished rooms.

We appreciate your words about our restaurant, our front desk staff and our buffet breakfast, we are always working in order to improve our passion of service.

We will be very proud of welcoming you again to our hotel in a near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madrid hotels
0.4 mi away
NH Collection Madrid Eurobuilding
0.2 mi away
AC Hotel Cuzco
AC Hotel Cuzco
#155 of 446 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 671 reviews
0.4 mi away
AC Hotel Aitana
AC Hotel Aitana
#162 of 446 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Eurostars Madrid Tower
Eurostars Madrid Tower
#74 of 446 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,858 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hesperia Madrid
Hesperia Madrid
#14 of 446 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,198 reviews
1.6 mi away
NH Collection Madrid Abascal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Castilla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Castilla

Property: Melia Castilla
Address: Calle Capitan Haya 43, 28020 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in Madrid
#19 Business Hotel in Madrid
#30 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#43 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Melia Castilla 4*
Number of rooms: 915
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Melia Castilla is considered one of the most emblematic hotels in Madrid, with an appealing blend of perfectly balanced classic and contemporary styles, where peace and urban life are accomplices to delight our guests.The excellent location, a few minutes from Paseo de la Castellana, 15 minutes from Barajas airport and IFEMA exhibition centre, near Chamartin train station and the Real Madrid Santiago Bernabeu football stadium, makes the Melia Castilla the perfect choice for your visit to Madrid. Complimentary WIFI and 24-hour Gym. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Melia Castilla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Castilla Hotel Madrid
Melia Hotel Madrid
Melia Hotel Castilla

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing