We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Wellington Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Catalonia Goya(Madrid)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
TOTEM Madrid(Madrid)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
View Hotel
  • Room Service
Reviews (1,563)
Filter reviews
1,563 results
Traveler rating
902
460
126
51
24
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
902
460
126
51
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsretiro parkbull fightersoutdoor pooltraditional hotelsalamanca neighborhoodfive star hotelgrand hotelmarble bathroomroom servicewonderful hotelclub roomthe ritzreception staffcommon areastwo blocksbreakfast buffet issuperior room
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
504 - 509 of 1,563 reviews
Reviewed September 14, 2013

Truly a 5 stars. Vogue was having a fashion show when we were there so felt underdressed. Room was superb. Bed was extremely comfortable. Air conditioning system is underpowered and I could see the rooms being hot in the summer. Retiro park is really only site you can walk to. Need take cab or bus everywhere else. Hop on hop off bus stops outside the hotel. The pool is great but very cold. Hot tub is better inside the spa. Massage was average in quality.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traveler14830
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos S, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Wellington Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2013

Dear Guest,

From the Wellington Hotel, we would like to thank you very much for sharing your experiences with us. We highly appreciate your comment about the rooms, location, swimming pool and spa, as they motivate us to improve continuously and to offer our guests a 5-star service.

We are delighted to see that you had a pleasant stay and we would be honored to welcome you again the next time you visit Madrid.
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Found staff very helpful...rooms were great. Chose this place for the swimming pool amenities so we could chill out. Why is it allowed that people can reserve sun lounges and leave the area for hours+... Ridiculous when it is a shared venue! Lack of respect for other fellow customers...and we saw other customers bring this to the attention of staff...it was not resolved...we left and they used our seating....but really if you leave the pool area...you get to the back of the line for the limited sun lounges...empty lounges are for everyone. A sign to state this and the Pool Attendents swift action to clear lounges for others use would fast remedy this! Drinks were expensive...we probably would have bought some rather than none if costs were reasonable!

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank jk27164551
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos S, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Wellington Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing the Wellington Hotel during your recent visit in Madrid and for taking the time to share your experience with us.

We apologize for the inconvenience caused about the pool. Comments like yours, helps us to improve every day and motivates us to continue provide a 5-star service to our guests.

We hope to welcome you in a near future.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

We spent 4 days in Madrid during our annual holiday in Spain. Madrid is a beautiful city and 4 days is too short to discover it. So we will definitely return. First of all, the Wellington Hotel is in a superb location and for those, like us, who are interested in sightseeing the open top bus stops right outside which is excellent especially in July when it's HOT! It is also right beside the Parque del Retiro which is beautiful, very cool with lots of shade and boating on the lake is great fun for all ages.

The reason I didn't give this hotel a 5 out of 5 is because of the reception staff. A good welcome is key to a hotel stay. Now that welcome can be different ... I'm not looking for hugs here or an over the top, loud, sugar coated welcome either! But I would expect, at least, a WELCOME TO THE WELLINGTON HOTEL style of greeting. Perhaps it's a language thing but our welcome was a request for our passports and credit card!

A couple of other issues with how reception dealt with problems. We had an email from the hotel which confirmed a superior room with additional bed for our son in the new part of the hotel. The request for the new part was as a result of recommendations from other travelers on this site. Unfortunately when we were shown to our room it was in the old part of the hotel. We contacted reception and were told that the new part rooms could not accommodate a 3rd bed and it felt like we were fobbed off when they showed us a smaller room in the new part. We decided to stay in the old part. But it is annoying when you see the review from Ema who posted photos of her trip to hotel in April of this year where they clearly stayed in a new room with a bed for her little boy and lots of space!!

The other problem was my nightdress was mistakenly taken away by the chambermaid. When I notified the reception there was no apology, they just asked was it white. I told them yes and they said it was probably taken with the towels. Another 'ouch' moment! OK not such a big deal and mistakes happen but it was inconvenient and I liked that nightdress!! They took our details and told us that they would investigate the problem and contact us. I heard nothing and emailed them when I got home and had to escalate the problem because, once again, I felt that the front of house staff were not dealing with the problem in the correct way.

I am very happy to say that the matter has been sorted by an extremely helpful Director at the hotel and because of that I would say we would definitely stay there again.

The rooms are lovely, clean, good size and even though we faced onto the street, we found it very quiet. The breakfast is really good with lots of variety. The pool area is good for a hotel that is in the heart of the city and overall the staff are friendly.

A 5 star hotel should have guest needs and comfort at it's heart. The Wellington just has to dial this up in reception and the guest experience would be perfect!

Room Tip: the rooms in the old and new part are lovely but if you like modern go for the newly refurbished area.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MerryC_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos S, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Wellington Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2013

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for choosing the Wellington Hotel during your recent visit in Madrid and for taking the time to share your experience with us. We apologize for the inconvenience caused. Comments like yours, helps us to improve every day and motivates us to continue provide a 5-star service to our guests. We hope to welcome you in a near future. Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013

everything at this hotel was excellent, staff were helpful, room was very comfortable, very large bathroom. I had a room facing the pool it was very quiet could even sleep with the window open. I would stay here again when in Madrid.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Ben G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos S, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Wellington Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing the Wellington Hotel during your recent visit to Madrid and for taking the time to share your experiences with us. We are delighted to see that you had a pleasant stay in our Hotel

Looking forward to welcome you again in a near future.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013

We stayed for three nights, and apart from the noise of the lift going up and down all night, found it to be a very comfortable hotel. We stayed in one of the 'older' style rooms, which was very nice. The downstairs lounge and bar area is charming, with good service. Breakfast was impressive. We were lucky enough to be staying during the bull fights (which I don't like), but loved seeing the matadors leaving from the hotel. A piece of Spanish culture. Being near the park and museums was a bonus.

Room Tip: Do not get a room near the lifts! They creak and rumble all night.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Horse91dancer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos S, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Wellington Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2013

Dear Guest,

We would like to take this opportunity to thank you very much for your fantastic comment about our Hotel, the room and breakfast. We are glad to see that you had a wonderful time between us.

Looking forward to welcome you again in a near future.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews