We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“faded grandeur, excellent service”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Wellington Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Wellington Hotel
Ranked #43 of 444 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
West Byfleet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“faded grandeur, excellent service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

I stayed here on business and was very happy with the Hotel. The Staff were very helpful and professional, though like some of the other reviewers, would not necessarily say they were over-friendly. However, service delivery was excellent at all stages, and it is sometimes nice not to be told to "have a nice day" at every opportunity.

The public areas, restaurant, bar etc were all of a very high standard, well-maintained and managed well. The breakfast, which was included in our rate, was plentiful and of a good standard.

The bedrooms are straight out of the 1970's, and though old-fashioned, are very clean & well maintained. The beds were super-comfortable and I had an excellent night's sleep on both nights I stayed. The aircon was efficient, and with curtains, nets and external blinds, the rooms stayed super-cool, despite 40 degree heat outside.

I didn't use the pool or gym on this occasion as I hadn't realised the hotel had them before I travelled. however, I will definitely use them on my next visit.

I will certainly visit again - excellent value for money and a great location.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fiona A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos S, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Wellington Hotel, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
From the Wellington Hotel, we would like to thank you very much for leaving such a lovely comment about the breakfast, restaurants and public áreas.

We are delighted to see that you had a pleasant stay and we would be pleased to welcome you again the next time you visit Madrid so you can enjoy our SPA facilities and summer swimming pool.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,354 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    764
    416
    112
    42
    20
See reviews for
268
527
84
251
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

We are staying here currently. Avoid all rooms ending with the number 17. You will be woken up at 7am by building work going on above the rooms and a building- goods lift right outside your window. We were given 517 on arrival which is poor service as the hotel clearly knew about the noise issues.

We have now moved rooms, down a floor to room 412 which is quieter. Prior to being given this room we were offered a substandard room (no 543) which was outdated, had marks all over the walls and was much smaller.

It's a shame Hotel Wellington gave us this experience as the communal areas of the hotel seem lovely, very clean and bright. The staff have been hit and miss - some are extremely friendly, some are not at all.

The gym is great, pool area nice and the roof terrace is a good place to sit. The location is also very good.

Perhaps a good will gesture of some kind would have reduced my need to be so frank but unfortunately none was forthcoming.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms ending in 17 until the building work is complete. Room overlooking Calle Jorge Juan are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrchimp_29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos S, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Wellington Hotel, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback about your recent stay with us. In relation to your comment about the improvement works taking place in the 7th floor, we apologize for any inconvenience caused.

We want to thank you your comment about the gym, pool area, terrace and location.

Please accept our apologies.

We look forward to welcome you again at the Wellington Hotel in a near future. Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

My wife and I came to this hotel as part of our European vacation. This hotel is well maintained and very clean. True, the décor is not super modern, but after being in Barcelona for a week in a modern hotel, with a modern room, with funky furniture and weird music, (read my other review on that) it was a good welcome to finally be at a place I can identify with. The décor is classic with a throw back to old Spanish influence. I must point out that this hotel is in the nicest part of Madrid with walking distance to tons of restaurants, bars, ice cream shops, designer stores, bank ATM'S, and a block away from the main park. A MUST SEE.

HITS:
*Rooms are nice, some have balconies and some don't.
*Shower was probably the strongest water pressure I have ever experienced.
*Toilet has a separate sound proof door, for those of you with stage fright.
*LOCATION, LOCATION, LOCATION... can't beat it.

MISSES:
*Staff seemed preoccupied when asked for service.
*The only nice person at this hotel is the door man.
*Hotel is super busy all the time, so don't expect any super special treatment, but they get the job done.

Room Tip: Get a room with a balcony, you get a little table and chairs to enjoy a cigar or cup of coffee in th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jrmlaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos S, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Wellington Hotel, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing the Wellington Hotel in your recent visit to Madrid and for your comment and rating. We are glad to have met your expectations but we are very sorry to acknowledge that you did not find our service of your entire satisfaction.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again in a near future.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

We arrived at the hotel at about 10am after catching a early flight from London and were delighted to be given the keys to our room straight away. The reception staff are professional but not friendly they get the job done without a smile! It was our first wedding anniversary so we paid for an upgrade and the room was lovely. The air conditioning was quiet, the bed huge and very comfortable, we got 2 cakes and some complimentary water delivered to the room as a welcome gift which was a nice surprise. The pool is freezing cold but it was really hot so a welcome treat after walking around in the heat, there was a bit of a battle to get sun loungers in the shade and I think the hotel should buy some more as we ended up lying on the decking for parts of the day. We didn't have breakfast in the hotel as it was crazy expensive but the club sandwich by the pool was delicious. The spa was also expensive 100 euros for a massage which was ok but not really worth the money. The location is great a 15 minute walk to the Prado, 5 mins to the beautiful Retiro Park. Oh make sure you catch the municipal bus from the airport only 5 euros very quick and drops you off 5 mins walk from the hotel.

Room Tip: Room 311 was lovely and worth the 20 euro upgrade each day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chaldane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos S, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Wellington Hotel, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Dear Guest, From the Wellington Hotel, we would like to thank you very much for sharing your experiences with us and for leaving such a lovely comment about room 311 and our location. We highly appreciate your comment about the swimming pool and front desk staffs, as they motivate us to improve continuously and to offer our guests a 5-star service. We are delighted to see that you had a pleasant stay and we would be honored to welcome you again the next time you visit Madrid. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradenton, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

"Old World" doesn't mean a hotel has to be old-fashioned. This is one definitely is. I fully understand that their objective is to emphasize the fact that this is one of Madrid's old palace hotels, but they are living in the past. The furniture in the rooms is outdated, the bathrooms look like 1950s vintage, and the overall attitude of the staff - especially the reception staff - is that they are used to dealing with kings and queens, so we common folk should just wait in line until someone is willing to deal with us.

On the plus side (the only one other than the location): their buffet breakfast is superb.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robertonathan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos S, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Wellington Hotel, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing the Wellington Hotel during your recent visit in Madrid and for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are glad to acknowledge that you liked our breakfast buffet. On the other hand, we apologize for not entirely meeting with your expectations and we look forward to welcome you again at the Wellington Hotel in a near future.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

The hotel staff are very friendly and welcoming on arrival and we were given a room upgrade. The room was very clean, well decorated and spacious with huge windows looking out onto the pool area and terrace. The decor throughout the hotel is well done without being OTT in a kind of conservative 4-5 star way and is in good condition.
We choose this hotel for the outside area - there is a pool, jacuzzi, sunbathing area with loungers and adjacent terrace bar and restaurant. During the weekend we stayed at the hotel, the outside area did fill up, so if you arrive in the afternoon you may not get a sun lounger or a chair. There was a fair amount of towel bagging of seats which was a bit annoying. The staff in the pool area and restaurant where fairly slow but it was not so important as we were lounging around all day.
There are a few bars etc close to the hotel but the busy, going out areas of the city are a short cab ride away.
The terrace restaurant was fairly pricey - as was room service. However two EUR 7 lates ordered to the room (no coffee maker) turned out to make three cups each so actually good value.
This hotel is a good choice if you feel like a city break but want some outdoor space to chill out during the day. Minor peeve was that there was no complimentary water in the rooms.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StarfishLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos S, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Wellington Hotel, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing the Wellington Hotel during your recent visit to Madrid and for taking the time to share your experiences with us. We are delighted to see that you had a pleasant stay in our Hotel and that you enjoyed our outdoor facilities, decoration and staff. We apologize for not meeting your expectations in relation to the space available in the swimming pool. Due to the high temperature in the city, the swimming pool has been quite demanding.
We look forward to welcome you again in a near future. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

The only reason this hotel is rated 5* is due to the service offered.
- Reception: small but functional, there is sometimes a queue but the staff are very helpful
- Breakfast: good selection of hot/cold food, fruit, cheeses, etc
- Rooms: reasonable size but really need updating. Mine was at the end of a long, dark corridor, it wasn't that clean and the bathroom (whilst large) looked like something from the 1960s
- The telephone in my room wasn't working, but they were very quick at fixing it, which was good
- Outdoor swimming pool which was nice, although overlooked by rooms and other people's apartments
- Room service: not good, poor selection, especially for vegetarians
- Bar: very nice, although note it closes early! Good selection of drinks
- Location: great location, close to various pubs and bars
- Internet access: wifi is available free throughout the hotel (slow speed) or for a fee (faster speed).

I've stayed in a number of hotels, I would describe this as a Parisian hotel with larger rooms. Although a nice hotel, I think it only received 5* due to the services offered as opposed to true luxury.

I would stay here again, but purely because I know what to expect.

Room Tip: My room faced the pool on the upper floors and also had a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UKLondonTravellerN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos S, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Wellington Hotel, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experiences with us and for leaving such lovely comments about our staff, location, rooms and swimming pool. Regarding your comment about the room service, we apologize for not meeting your expectations.

We hope to welcome you again in a near future.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Barrio de Salamanca
Hotel Hospes Puerta de Alcala
Barrio de Salamanca
Gran Melia Fenix
Gran Melia Fenix
#27 of 444 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,963 reviews
Barrio de Salamanca
NH Collection Madrid Colon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Gran Melia Palacio de Los Duques
Huertas
Hotel Urban
Hotel Urban
#18 of 444 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,847 reviews
Huertas
Hotel Villa Real
Hotel Villa Real
#34 of 444 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wellington Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wellington Hotel

Property: Wellington Hotel
Address: Calle Velazquez 8, 28001 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Barrio de Salamanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Madrid
#19 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#29 Business Hotel in Madrid
#33 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
#33 Family Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Wellington Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 251
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wellington hotel represents luxury, elegance and hotel tradition since its origins in 1952. Its decoration and select details allow the visitor to enjoy an unforgettable stay. Located in the stately Salamanca nieghbourhood and close to Retiro Park, its location combines elegant residences, exclusive fashion brands, art galleries, antique shops and prestigious restaurants. Within walking distance to the so-called Art Triangle: The Prado and Thyssen Museums and the Reina Sofía Art Centre. Its 250 rooms in a classic and elegant style offer a warm environment which guarantees the maximum comfort and quietness. All rooms are equipped with linen sheets, pillows à la carte and an exclusive amenities selection. Suites provide a greater luxury. Located in the most privileged area of the building, they have been decorated with the best of tastes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, TravelUp, Agoda, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wellington Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wellington Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing