We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$175
$167
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 20% below average rates

The price you found is 20% lower than this hotel's average rate of $210/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$272
$157
Only YOU Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 19% below average rates

The price you found is 19% lower than this hotel's average rate of $193/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$168
$150
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of $171/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

NH Madrid Nacional(Madrid)
$117
$97
NH Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 29% below average rates

The price you found is 29% lower than this hotel's average rate of $137/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$106
$96
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 17% below average rates

The price you found is 17% lower than this hotel's average rate of $116/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$92
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Savings alert! 35% below average rates

The price you found is 35% lower than this hotel's average rate of $141/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hotel Catalonia Plaza Mayor(Madrid)
$112
$89
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 35% below average rates

The price you found is 35% lower than this hotel's average rate of $137/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hotel Atlantico(Madrid)
$177
$148
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Savings alert! 21% below average rates

The price you found is 21% lower than this hotel's average rate of $188/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Catalonia Las Cortes(Madrid)
$135
$108
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 38% below average rates

The price you found is 38% lower than this hotel's average rate of $174/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$248
$234
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of $280/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (1,606)
Filter reviews
1,606 results
Traveler rating
931
470
126
52
27
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
931
470
126
52
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsretiro parklinen sheetsoutdoor pooltraditional hotelsalamanca neighborhoodfive star hotelmarble bathroomgrand hotelroom servicewonderful hotelclub roomthe ritzcommon areastwo blockssuperior roomreception staffbreakfast buffet is
Filter
Updating list...
544 - 549 of 1,606 reviews
Reviewed May 4, 2013

Very nice hotel. hotel is traditional but everything is in order. Food and drinks are good and not to expensive.The hotel is located a few minutes norh of the Retiro park and the Retiro metro station. You can walk easily to the east side of the centre, but taxi's are allways in front of the hotel. We booked the hotel all so for the swimmingpool, which looks nice, but was closed. The staff stated that it is because of a Madrid rule that pools outside can be open only from June 15th. We stayed beginning of May here.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank versteje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos S, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Wellington Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2013

Dear Guest,

We would like to take this opportunity to thank you very much for your kind words and for writing this nice review about the Wellington Hotel. We are very happy to know that your recent visit in Madrid has been so pleasant. We highly appreciate your comments about our Hotel, location and food. Regarding to your comment about the swimming pool, we apologize for any inconvenienced caused. The swimming pool opens just in summer season.

We hope to welcome you again in a near future.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2013

Hotel well located. Bit tired but still a great hotel. Rooms roomy, we had a balcony, beds good, staff friendly, language barrier difficult however we found that throughout Spain . Gymnasium well geared. Room quiet, slept well.

Room Tip: Don't always take the cheapest option when choosing your room.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wendy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos S, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Wellington Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2013

Dear Wendy,

Thank you very much for your nice comment and hight rating. We are glad to see that you liked our rooms and fitness center and we are honoured to have met your expectations.

Looking forward to welcome you again in the Wellington Hotel in a near future,

Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2013

My parents came over to visit me last week and I booked a superior for them. The hotel was clearly part of the holidays for them, from the interiors to the linen and bath robe in the (big) bedroom: everithing with a singular touch that says someone did think about the details.
The hotel is not brand new, but also those feeling to be exactly in the same place where the King Juan Carlos was right before, made me feel good and somehow part of the picture.

This is also my second home in Madrid. The gym is a private one, open for external memberships and always with no crowd or line. The spa is nice too. The best part is surely the external pool in summer time: salted water (reverse osmosys system) and cobalt blue, it gives you a singular water asset when you swim under water: can't explain, need a try!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pierosg s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos S, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Wellington Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2013

Dear Piero,

Thank you very much for sharing your experiences with us, for your lovely comment and high rating. We are delighted to see that you and your parents enjoyed our facilities and liked our Spa and swimming pool area. Once again, we are very glad to have met your expectations and we look forward to welcome you again in the Wellington Hotel in a near future.

Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2013

We had booked for a celebratory family holiday and were drawn to the Wellington by the spa and pool photos on the website, as well as the general appeal of the location and mostly favourable reviews online. Contrary to other reviewers, we found the service and staff to be great, friendly and helpful. The rooms were dated and rather shabby, but not unpleasant, and the beds (all sinles unfortunately in all our rooms despite booking doubles) were very comfy with quality bed linen). Unfortunately, the air con didn't work at all, but as it was not unbearably hot in mid-april, I couldn't be bothered to worry about it.
What really let the place down for us was the clear misrepresentation regarding the spas, pool and leisure facilities on the website. The pool itself was shut- understandable as it was still early season, but it was already in the high 20s when we left and it was a shame not to be able to sit out of an evening in the internal courtyard/poolside bar area. Still, this was disappointing but fair enough, although it may be more transparent of them to mention this on the website alongside all the lovely enticing images of this courtyard area.......We felt a bit cheated that our new bikinis went home bone dry!
What really took the biscuit however, was that the spa area, so flaunted in their advertising, was 25 euros per person per visit, despite being pitifully small and lame; this was not made any more palatable by the spa staff themselves, who were akin to rabid pit bulls guarding a T-bone, to the point where we felt so uncomfortable that we just left, also unfortunately not daring go back to ask about the fitness centre (which to be fair we did later learn is free for hotel guests).
In summary, the Wellington would be fine as a base for exploring the city, but not a place to spend much time. We also skipped the expensive breakfast in favour of the nice cafe-bar around the corner where we were warmly welcomed and fed, therefore cannot comment on the F&B at the Wellington.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EnteEnteEnte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos S, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Wellington Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for chosing the Wellington Hotel during your recent visit to Madrid and for taking the time to share your experiences with us. We are very sorry to acknowledge that you did not find our website pictures, spa facilities and location of your entire satisfaction. Certainly, our swimming pool will not be opened until the beginnning of the summer season.

Once again, we apologize for any inconvinience you may have experienced and we hope to welcome you again in a near future.

Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2013

I'm glad I have chosen Wellington hotel, first of all for its location. Salamanca district is elegant and quiet and we felt safe there. Hop on-hop off bus stops right in the front of the hotel, metro station few steps away, as well Retiro park or shopping area.
The hotel is very clean, with nice rooms and elegant common areas.
We had a newly renovated room - great, but it still had a smell of recently painted walls ( we had to keep the windows open all day long and even at night to feel fresh air).

Room Tip: ask for a newly renovated room
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ema73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos S, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Wellington Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for chosing the Wellington Hotel during your last stay in Madrid. We are happy to see that you liked our location and that you found our facilities and rooms elegant and comfortable.

Regarding to your comment about the recently painted walls in your room, we really apologize for any inconvience caused. We have informed the housekeeping manager and maintance department to find a solution to this problem.

Once again we appreacite your comments as it enables us to improve and to continue offer a 5 star service to our guests.

Looking forward to welcome you again in a near future,

Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews