We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, good service”
Review of Wellington Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Wellington Hotel
Ranked #50 of 438 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 20, 2013

We stayed here in November, 2012. While the old part of the hotel seems a bit obsolete, the new wing has been done very well. The location is central, the staff friendly and amenities good. The reception and entrance do feel luxurious. The is a taxi stand right next to the hotel which makes it very convenient. The front desk staff is very responsive nada makes you feel very welcome. A good option to stay in Madrid

Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Abhijeet K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos S, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Wellington Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2013

Dear Abhijeet,

Thank you very much for constructive comment and high rating. We really appreciate you taking the time to share your experiences with us. We are delighted to see that you had a pleasant stay in our hotel and that you liked our location, staff and services. We are glad to have met your expectations and we look forward to welcome you again in the Wellington Hotel in a near future.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,461)
There are newer reviews for Wellington Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

498 - 504 of 1,461 reviews

Reviewed March 20, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 4 days in 2013. My husband was on a business trip and this was the perfect choice of hotel.. The Salamanca neighborhood is wonderful, and within easy walking distance of the most interesting attractions.
The hotel staff was superb and incredibly professional; the rooms were lovely, comfortable, and charming. There is an old world glamour to this hotel that is rare these days. We are now going back for a 4 day visit and are sincerely looking forward to The Wellington Hotel. There are great little restaurants nearby, and very close to the Rastro Park.
We live in Mallorca so we will definitely become regulars at The Wellington Hotel

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hakobama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos S, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Wellington Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2013

Dear Guest,

We would like to take this opportunity to thank you very much for your kind words and for writing this nice review about the Wellington Hotel. We are very happy to know that your recent visit in Madrid has been so pleasant and that you would choose us again. We highly appreciate your comments about our location, staff and rooms because guest satisfaction is our number one priority. We hope to welcome you again in a near future.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2013

I cannot express enough how wonderful this hotel is. We have been staying at this hotel now for upwards of 10 years every time we visit Madrid. nothing is too much trouble. all the saff from doorman to manager are just perfect hosts. the food is excellent and the service faultless. no hesitation whatsoever in highly recommending this hotel. also perfectly situated for some of the best restaurants and shops in Madrid.

Room Tip: no such thing as a bad room at the Wellington. every time we have stayed it's been a different r...
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jayne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos S, Quality, Marketing and Communication Dept. at Wellington Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2013

Dear Jayne,

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your kind comment about our Hotel, staff, service, food and location. We are glad to see that every time you visit Madrid you choose the Wellington Hotel. Looking forward to welcome you in a near future. Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013

I spent three days at this wonderful hotel on my way back from a conference in Barcelona. Location was perfect and so was the room. Lovely decorated, with high quality linens and bedding, super clean and cozy. Very friendly staff. Breakfast was expensive but very well served. Will certainly book this hotel the next time in Madrid!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Iris Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos S, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Wellington Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2015
Google Translation

Estimado cliente,
Agradecemos sus comentarios y nos alegramos de que haya disfrutado de su estancia en el hotel, especialmente de su ubicación, personal y servicios.
Esperamos poder darle la bienvenida próximamente.
Un cordial saludo,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

I’ve stay at Wellington during a business trip and is the best place to stay if you are traveling on business and also trying to enjoy the travel on your free hours. It’s near everywhere.
Also, it has an ambience of traditional luxury and a great breakfast .

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank enjoyTravelling2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2012

Well-placed hotel close to park, museums and shopping with friendly staff, nevertheless, although the hotel retains a charm and elegance reminiscent of past times, rooms do not correspond to what one would expect of a five-star hotel. My room was in theory, a quiet one as it overlooked the interior patio. However, the sound-proofing, where one's next-door neighbour was concerned, left a lot to be desired - running water from their bathroom, snoring!!!! could be heard clearly and meant that on three out of four nights I spent there, I didn't sleep well and was woken up early in the morning. Furthermore, although the bathroom was a good size ( the only problem was the shower head which was impossible to move to re-direct jet of water) the room was quite small, a bit scuffed around the edges and the clothes rail in the wardrobe was too high for someone of average height let alone someone a little shorter.In a hotel of this level I would also have expected if not tea/coffee-making facilities, then at least complimentary mineral water. Regarding the fridge, the problem was not so much the fact that it was so full that guests could not store their own items, but that there was a notice saying that if anything was moved it would be charged directly to their account ; in short, unworthy of a five-star hotel .

Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
Thank ASm B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2012

I spent the last 3 days of my 4weeks long trip through Italy and Spain last August, and was very unimpressed! I was excited because it is a 5 star hotel, but although the architecture and decor of first floor is beautiful, the hotel is very dated and plain ugly and sad looking in the hallways.

They nickel and dime everything - the tv SUCKS and so does the wifi.

The pool was great and the beds WONDERFUL, but that is about it.

You cannot use the mini fridge to store anything, such as water you bring from outside, orr fruit, etc because if you so much as move any of the items in the fridge, they will charge you. Everything is connected to a sensor or something like that.

The front desk staff was just HORRIBLE! So unfriendly, short and unwelcoming! It was like they were doing us a favor by renting us a room.

The location is ok if you like quiet. At night it was desert - not many eating options.

The door "boy" was great and very friendly btw. I traveled with my two y old and didn't have any issue regarding that, aside the fact I could not use the fridge to store snacks for her.

Madrid itself was great!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank J R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Barrio de Salamanca
NH Collection Madrid Colon
Barrio de Salamanca
Gran Melia Fenix
Gran Melia Fenix
#35 of 438 in Madrid
2,163 reviews
Barrio de Salamanca
Hotel Hospes Puerta de Alcala
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Gran Melia Palacio de Los Duques
Huertas
Hotel Urban
Hotel Urban
#24 of 438 in Madrid
1,976 reviews
Huertas
The Westin Palace Madrid
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wellington Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wellington Hotel

Address: Calle Velazquez 8, 28001 Madrid, Spain
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Barrio de Salamanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Madrid
#19 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#29 Business Hotel in Madrid
#33 Family Hotel in Madrid
#39 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
Price Range: $131 - $936 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Wellington Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 251
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wellington hotel represents luxury, elegance and hotel tradition since its origins in 1952. Its decoration and select details allow the visitor to enjoy an unforgettable stay. Located in the stately Salamanca nieghbourhood and close to Retiro Park, its location combines elegant residences, exclusive fashion brands, art galleries, antique shops and prestigious restaurants. Within walking distance to the so-called Art Triangle: The Prado and Thyssen Museums and the Reina Sofía Art Centre. Its 250 rooms in a classic and elegant style offer a warm environment which guarantees the maximum comfort and quietness. All rooms are equipped with linen sheets, pillows à la carte and an exclusive amenities selection. Suites provide a greater luxury. Located in the most privileged area of the building, they have been decorated with the best of tastes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wellington Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wellington Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing