We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grand, but would benefit from some modernisation”
Review of Wellington Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Wellington Hotel
Ranked #49 of 440 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 25, 2012

I guess this hotel is pretty old. It has the space that modern hotels don't have with an open central area for the lifts and wide corridors. I arrived at night for a business meeting the next day and so did not really get to explore. My room was comfortably large and had a well fitted out bathroom. You don't see many bidets these days. The shower had a large head which I appreciate and they provide a full accessories kit. So, no worries if you forget your toothpaste! Although it was November I found the room too warm for my liking and turned the air conditioning down. This didn't seem to make any difference. I also found the pillows a bit hard and combined with the heat did not have a great night's sleep. A few more sockets would have been appreciated. I couldn't stretch the cable for my laptop over to the desk. This and the aircon is the modernisation I referred to in the title. The breakfast buffet was comprehensive although while there was pineapple and peach juice there was no grapefruit juice which I would have considered more popular.

I seem to have dwelt on my niggles but actually I enjoyed my short stay here very much as its spaciousness gives a sense of comfort.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AJMacD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,510)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

527 - 533 of 1,510 reviews

Reviewed November 23, 2012

The hotel is located in the expensive Salamanca district (Brits could compare it to Kensington, with lots of pricey boutique shops etc.). It's on the outskirts of central Madrid and it was a 20 minute walk to the centre of Madrid (Sol). We tended to eat in central Madrid as there was more choice and better prices than the restaurants in or around the hotel. Our room faced the internal courtyard and although the view was uninspiring, the room was very quiet and the motorised black out blinds ensured we had a good sleep. Retiro park is very close as are the museums (but the main archaeological museum is closed at the moment). The room was an OK size and clean but there was an odd mix of modern and older styles. The gym is located across the central courtyard and was fairly well equipped.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights with work. Hotel is spacious and clean and in a great location just off the park. Hotel is slightly dated in room layout (not many plug sockets) and bathrooms, whilst spacious, look like they were built in the 1980s. Breakfast is somewhat lacking with limited choice of "fresh" items e.g. fruit.
Free wifi helps.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VincentChase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2012

This hotel is special. It is not the most modern, even though they give each guest IPads to use while you visit, but somehow you can feel it's fabulous history. There are photos of famous past guest in the lobby and some very unique sitting areas throughout the hotel. My room was very large with an incredible bathroom.

Frankly, my 8 year old and I stayed in the Wellington because it has an outdoor pool and pools are hard to come by in Madrid. Madrid in August is hot. The pool and lounge area are magnificent; deep blue and cool. Did I mention Madrid is hot in August? Well it is, and if you are traveling with children there is only so much of the heat they can tolerate.

The front of the hotel has a giant upright bull statute, probably 12 feel tall, dressed as a bull fighter which makes for a great photo op. The door men and reception people could not be more accommodating. Although this hotel is a little uppity , it is very kid friendly and I most definitely would recommend it. They even have bikes that you can use to tour the area.

The location is about 3 blocks from one of the grandest parks in Madrid and the Prado is only about 5 blocks. Quiet at night but very safe.

FYI - We ventured 2 blocks away on Velazquez and found several excellent inexpensive cafes. Great breakfasts and lunch.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank laurie h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

This is a 5-star property just opposite the Retiro Park, within walking distance of the Prado Museum (20 mins), as well as the Thyssen & the Reina Sofia. Very well furnished, with large AC rooms & en suite bathrooms with twin-wash basins & a bidet. Free WIFI for the first 24 hrs., rooms serviced twice daily. A large dining room on the ground floor with quite an OK spread for breakfast, though no eggs-to-order counter or alternate cuisine.
A well-equipped Fitness Room, but opens only at 10am on weekends. Good facilities for business conferences & meeting rooms. Taxis available throughout the day at the Stand just opposite the Hotel, and Bus Stops & Metro (Retiro) are close by.

I missed coffee/tea service in the rooms, and strangely, no complimentary bottled water in the room. An electric iron in the room would have been more convenient & cheaper than the Pressing service. Also WiFi should be complimentary throughout one's stay in this class of Hotel.

Room Tip: An upper floor room away from the road is much quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TLP-KUMAR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Had a very enjoyable stay at The Wellington! Breakfast was wonderful, especially the flan!
Our room was very large, however air conditioning could be improved. Had to call maintenance in to work on getting room cooler. He changed the vent and it seemed to help a bit. They did come to the room immediately and were very accommodating!
Location is great, beautiful area of town and walking distance to many attractions and restaurants.

Room Tip: We were on the side street but the view was very nice and it was extremely quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CTGUY799
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

if you like the formaility and hotel tradition of old europe this hotel has it. that feeling that you will be well taken care of and no question asked is too silly to be answered whether in spanish or any other language. the professionalism of all who are employed at this property is outstanding. one has the feeling that memebers of the staff have been there a long time. although a regular i have never eaten there as the location is barrio salamanca is exceptional for both dining and shopping...the bed is comfortable but the rooms can be small. only complaint is a noisy neighboring discoteck on ave. vasquez. on weekends the loud music continues to 4:00A.M. ask for a room facing the side street..sleep quality on this trip was poor..

Room Tip: again ask for a room facing the side street
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dave b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Barrio de Salamanca
Gran Melia Fenix
Gran Melia Fenix
#35 of 440 in Madrid
2,226 reviews
Chamberi
InterContinental Madrid
InterContinental Madrid
#36 of 440 in Madrid
1,926 reviews
Centro
Gran Melia Palacio de Los Duques
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barrio de Salamanca
Barcelo Emperatriz
Barcelo Emperatriz
#14 of 440 in Madrid
610 reviews
Huertas
The Westin Palace Madrid
Chueca
URSO Hotel & Spa
URSO Hotel & Spa
#16 of 440 in Madrid
483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wellington Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wellington Hotel

Address: Calle Velazquez 8, 28001 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Barrio de Salamanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Madrid
#19 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#29 Business Hotel in Madrid
#33 Family Hotel in Madrid
#39 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
Price Range: $156 - $524 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Wellington Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 251
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wellington hotel represents luxury, elegance and hotel tradition since its origins in 1952. Its decoration and select details allow the visitor to enjoy an unforgettable stay. Located in the stately Salamanca nieghbourhood and close to Retiro Park, its location combines elegant residences, exclusive fashion brands, art galleries, antique shops and prestigious restaurants. Within walking distance to the so-called Art Triangle: The Prado and Thyssen Museums and the Reina Sofía Art Centre. Its 250 rooms in a classic and elegant style offer a warm environment which guarantees the maximum comfort and quietness. All rooms are equipped with linen sheets, pillows à la carte and an exclusive amenities selection. Suites provide a greater luxury. Located in the most privileged area of the building, they have been decorated with the best of tastes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wellington Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wellington Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing