We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“A little out the way....” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Praga

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Praga
Ranked #303 of 448 Hotels in Madrid
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“A little out the way....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

Checked into the Hotel Praga at the start of a Cosmos panoramic tour of Spain. The room was very basic, although clean and tidy. The bar drinks were a little overpriced, but local bars were right outside to compensate for that. The hotel is a fair distance away from the centre to walk, although not too expensive in a taxi to reach. It was a comfortable couple of nights stay.

Room Tip: Try the bars just outside to the right of the entrance, great Tapas, and very reasonably priced drin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank babin85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,070 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    422
    388
    116
    63
See reviews for
236
393
73
75
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

I was travelling alone, so the size of the room was good enough for me, and the washroom was very nice. The only thing I did not like was the fact that you have to pay €5 each day for wifi, and this hotel is a bit far from the centre of Madrid. Nevertheless I was satisfied with my stay.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Trig89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoseAP, General Manager at Hotel Praga, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Thank you very much for your opinion. We are working to improve our facilities and services, therefore, we will shortly necessary changes to offer free wi-fi to all our customers. The distance to the city center is avoided by public transport on the doorstep, both day finishing in the Plaza Mayor and night in the Plaza de Cibeles. I look forward to having you again as a guest of Hotel Praga.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

I checked in on 28th may and checked out on 31st May 2013 (just came back from spain ) we reached hotel from airport after flying for 16 hours from india in evening, me my wife with two young kids got two rooms 405, 406 after standing infront of them for at least half an hour,first thing we were shocked to know that no one can speak English on reception very rude to talk, their behaviour wasn't good hotel rooms r in very bad condition.very small rooms. lifts are in very very bad condition and the breakfast is not at all good. Now any one going there to stay I will suggest please for god shake don't spoil ur money. I stayed in marbella for 4 days in hotel nh alanda pretty good hotel, in barcelona at abba sants hotel very good and very good location but in madrid worst hotel is praga. Bhupendra Rathore india

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank justdoitonce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Madrid hotels

Level Contributor
223 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile

Started a two week Spain adventure at this hotel and had no complaints. The room was very clean, excellent shower, room a nice size and the beds were fine.
The buffet breakfast, included, was the usual with a few hot items, fruit, juice, pastry etc.
Nothing fancy but certainly more than acceptable.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Jack H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

This hotel has created an obvious niche for itself as a clearing house for touring groups. Our mistake was to book in for 3 nights prior to the start of a COSMOS Tour. After a long flight the last thing we needed was indifferent & unhelpful staff. Having specifically asked for a non somoking room upon requesting this to be changed new 'keys' were provided for another room on another floor with the request to return the original ones when we had completed our move. Hotel is stuck in a 1960's time warp definatetely reflected in decor of public areas & rooms. The lifts/elevators are full with 2 people & their luggage and are painfully slow. No local tourist type info is provided in the rooms nor in the foyer. A request to the desk yeilded a single A4 photocopy of a map with the suggestion to catch a 23 bus outside the hotel to the Plaza Mayor where there was a Tourist Bureau! We did this & sorted ourseves out no thanks to the hotel.
Breakfasts were good (need to be to feed the throngs!). but found the only meal in the attached restaurant very disappointing. Fortunately we found a number of eating establishments in the area which more than satisfied our needs.
Not a good start nor impression for 5 weeks in the Iberian Peninsula. Fortunately our worst hotel by a country mile was our first one. The sad thing is that no one seemed to care.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank houhoek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Verwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013 via mobile

We arrived at the hotel on a Saturday afternoon in June as the 1st night of a Cosmos tour of Spain. The hotel is not in central Madrid but some distance away at the outskirts. An easy bus ride into Madrid itself but too far to walk. The area was nice and a short walk takes you to a very peaceful park area with walks, benches, flower gardens and a river through the middle. Quite a surprise but certainly a pleasant one.
The hotel doesn't have any kind of a view so it doesn't matter if you get a room at the front or the back although the back is surrounded by private apartments so who knows what kind of a view you could see (or be!)

Our room was a good size twin with minibar and a small safe (key from reception) plus a very nice bathroom. The bathroom was modern and clean, no smells as another reviewer had found and plenty of towels etc. Air conditioning worked brilliantly!

No free Wi-fi but it was available for 5 Euros for 24hours. As we were 'roaming' I didn't risk checking mobile signal strength.

I had not expected too much based on some of the reviews but had no complains at all. Buffet breakfast was extremely comprehensive (and included in our tour) with a good selection available although the 'hot' items were warm at best.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank purplesuzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

I went there to see an Atletico de Madrid game and the location was great for that. It wasn't in the prettiest part of Madrid but the transports were good enough to get you where you wanted to go easily. The Hotel itself wasn't extraordinary, the building is extremely uninviting but the food was good and the staff very friendly. The room was nothing special but it was clean and good enough for 2 nights. Next time, if I am not going to go to Vicente Calderon, I'll go somewhere else.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LuLu V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Retiro
Hotel Agumar
Hotel Agumar
#250 of 448 in Madrid
3.5 of 5 stars 751 reviews
Hotel Gran Legazpi
#270 of 448 in Madrid
3.5 of 5 stars 234 reviews
Hotel Claridge
#51 of 448 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 stars 711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Blas
Holiday Inn Madrid - Calle Alcala
Hotel Nuevo Madrid
#187 of 448 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 stars 675 reviews
ILUNION Suites Madrid
#124 of 448 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 stars 544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Praga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Praga

Property: Hotel Praga
Address: Calle Antonio Lopez 65, 28019 Madrid, Spain
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#168 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Praga 4*
Number of rooms: 420
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Praga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Praga Hotel Madrid
Hotel Praga Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing