We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Not quite in 'real' Madrid” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Praga

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Praga
Ranked #307 of 448 Hotels in Madrid
Verwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Not quite in 'real' Madrid”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013 via mobile

We arrived at the hotel on a Saturday afternoon in June as the 1st night of a Cosmos tour of Spain. The hotel is not in central Madrid but some distance away at the outskirts. An easy bus ride into Madrid itself but too far to walk. The area was nice and a short walk takes you to a very peaceful park area with walks, benches, flower gardens and a river through the middle. Quite a surprise but certainly a pleasant one.
The hotel doesn't have any kind of a view so it doesn't matter if you get a room at the front or the back although the back is surrounded by private apartments so who knows what kind of a view you could see (or be!)

Our room was a good size twin with minibar and a small safe (key from reception) plus a very nice bathroom. The bathroom was modern and clean, no smells as another reviewer had found and plenty of towels etc. Air conditioning worked brilliantly!

No free Wi-fi but it was available for 5 Euros for 24hours. As we were 'roaming' I didn't risk checking mobile signal strength.

I had not expected too much based on some of the reviews but had no complains at all. Buffet breakfast was extremely comprehensive (and included in our tour) with a good selection available although the 'hot' items were warm at best.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank purplesuzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,074 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    423
    390
    116
    64
See reviews for
237
396
73
75
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

I went there to see an Atletico de Madrid game and the location was great for that. It wasn't in the prettiest part of Madrid but the transports were good enough to get you where you wanted to go easily. The Hotel itself wasn't extraordinary, the building is extremely uninviting but the food was good and the staff very friendly. The room was nothing special but it was clean and good enough for 2 nights. Next time, if I am not going to go to Vicente Calderon, I'll go somewhere else.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LuLu V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, Essex United Kingdom
Level Contributor
167 reviews
136 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights at the start and end of an Archers Direct Tour, along with about 10 other coach tours, as busy noisy hotel in a working class district of Madrid, far from the centre. it is an OK area with lots of bars and restaurants with 2 supermarkets bvery close. he number 23 bus takes you into the centre for 1.5 E or buy a T10 card for 9.60, this gives you 10 trips on any public transport and you can share it between 2 or more people. Rooms were tired and our room on the 3rd floor was none too clean either. to be fair the beds were very comfortable and the linen clean.
Hotel is very noisy, excitable stag and hen parties and lots of tour companies.
Food OK, lots of choice. WiFi a rip off at 5E per night.

Room Tip: stay at the back if you want a quiet room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LFK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan PR
Level Contributor
99 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

Had to stay one night here before joining a 7day tour with Europamundo. It is always too crowded with people coming and going to excursions, must wait an eternity to use their three elevators when a tour has come or is leaving. The three elevators are too small, the carpets are old and dirty. And walls are too thin, we could clearly hear a neighbor´s conversation till almost 1 am!!! Stay here if you are joining a tour, otherwise, stay somewhere else, Madrid transportation is excellent.

Stayed May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jalenis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

I checked in on 28th may and checked out on 31st May 2013 (just came back from spain ) we reached hotel from airport after flying for 16 hours from india in evening, me my wife with two young kids got two rooms 405, 406 after standing infront of them for at least half an hour,first thing we were shocked to know that no one can speak English on reception very rude to talk, their behaviour wasn't good hotel rooms r in very bad condition.very small rooms. lifts are in very very bad condition and the breakfast is not at all good. Now any one going there to stay I will suggest please for god shake don't spoil ur money. I stayed in marbella for 4 days in hotel nh alanda pretty good hotel, in barcelona at abba sants hotel very good and very good location but in madrid worst hotel is praga. Bhupendra Rathore india

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank justdoitonce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Madrid hotels

California
Level Contributor
36 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

No free WiFi, no English-language television channel, small drab room in need of renovation, significant street noise, unpleasant front desk staff, inconvenient location. We will not return to this hotel undeserving of its four-star designation.

Room Tip: Ask for a renovated room on the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LeahSpencer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

I stay in this hotel every time I go to Madrid, the hotel is located close to local shops, great food and public transportation. the price is fair and the accomodation are great. will stay again when I go back to spain.

Room Tip: if you use to having a big american style bed just asked for a bouble room and pushed the beds toget...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Heidy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Retiro
Hotel Agumar
Hotel Agumar
#251 of 448 in Madrid
3.5 of 5 stars 752 reviews
Hotel Gran Legazpi
#269 of 448 in Madrid
3.5 of 5 stars 236 reviews
Hotel Claridge
#51 of 448 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 stars 711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Blas
Holiday Inn Madrid - Calle Alcala
Hotel Nuevo Madrid
#187 of 448 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 stars 679 reviews
ILUNION Suites Madrid
#122 of 448 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 stars 554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Praga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Praga

Property: Hotel Praga
Address: Calle Antonio Lopez 65, 28019 Madrid, Spain
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#168 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Praga 4*
Number of rooms: 420
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Praga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Praga Hotel Madrid
Hotel Praga Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing