We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good if you are going for Football”
Review of Hotel Praga

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Praga
Ranked #310 of 435 Hotels in Madrid
Los Angeles, California
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Good if you are going for Football”
Reviewed June 20, 2013

I went there to see an Atletico de Madrid game and the location was great for that. It wasn't in the prettiest part of Madrid but the transports were good enough to get you where you wanted to go easily. The Hotel itself wasn't extraordinary, the building is extremely uninviting but the food was good and the staff very friendly. The room was nothing special but it was clean and good enough for 2 nights. Next time, if I am not going to go to Vicente Calderon, I'll go somewhere else.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LuLu V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,281 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    478
    478
    141
    82
See reviews for
287
465
89
101
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Colchester, Essex United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
183 reviews
150 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights at the start and end of an Archers Direct Tour, along with about 10 other coach tours, as busy noisy hotel in a working class district of Madrid, far from the centre. it is an OK area with lots of bars and restaurants with 2 supermarkets bvery close. he number 23 bus takes you into the centre for 1.5 E or buy a T10 card for 9.60, this gives you 10 trips on any public transport and you can share it between 2 or more people. Rooms were tired and our room on the 3rd floor was none too clean either. to be fair the beds were very comfortable and the linen clean.
Hotel is very noisy, excitable stag and hen parties and lots of tour companies.
Food OK, lots of choice. WiFi a rip off at 5E per night.

Room Tip: stay at the back if you want a quiet room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauren K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan PR
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

Had to stay one night here before joining a 7day tour with Europamundo. It is always too crowded with people coming and going to excursions, must wait an eternity to use their three elevators when a tour has come or is leaving. The three elevators are too small, the carpets are old and dirty. And walls are too thin, we could clearly hear a neighbor´s conversation till almost 1 am!!! Stay here if you are joining a tour, otherwise, stay somewhere else, Madrid transportation is excellent.

Stayed May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jalenis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2013

I checked in on 28th may and checked out on 31st May 2013 (just came back from spain ) we reached hotel from airport after flying for 16 hours from india in evening, me my wife with two young kids got two rooms 405, 406 after standing infront of them for at least half an hour,first thing we were shocked to know that no one can speak English on reception very rude to talk, their behaviour wasn't good hotel rooms r in very bad condition.very small rooms. lifts are in very very bad condition and the breakfast is not at all good. Now any one going there to stay I will suggest please for god shake don't spoil ur money. I stayed in marbella for 4 days in hotel nh alanda pretty good hotel, in barcelona at abba sants hotel very good and very good location but in madrid worst hotel is praga. Bhupendra Rathore india

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank justdoitonce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Madrid hotels

California
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2013

No free WiFi, no English-language television channel, small drab room in need of renovation, significant street noise, unpleasant front desk staff, inconvenient location. We will not return to this hotel undeserving of its four-star designation.

Room Tip: Ask for a renovated room on the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeahSpencer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2013

I stay in this hotel every time I go to Madrid, the hotel is located close to local shops, great food and public transportation. the price is fair and the accomodation are great. will stay again when I go back to spain.

Room Tip: if you use to having a big american style bed just asked for a bouble room and pushed the beds toget...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heidy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2013

Our shower drain backed up into the bathroom through a floor drain. It smelled quite bad. This was room 312. We were so tired that we just went to sleep and in the morning let the desk staff know. They offered to have someone come look at it but we wanted to shower and get going. I asked for another room to shower in and they said no. I said, ok we will get out of the room. I asked where breakfast was and the gentleman pointed me to the salon and told me 11 Euros. I was going to ask for a free breakfast but didn't bother. We left and had breakfast somewhere else.

The front desk staff seemed overwhelmed and as if dealing with me was a problem. There was no visible management and I questioned the staff training for customer service. Morale may be an issue here. I bet the room still has plumbing problems. Hotel Praga seems like the type of place you come to for drinking with your mates and then go to the football games.

I realize that things will happen, however I think some sort of acknowledgement or offering would have been appropriate. Nothing was mentioned or recognized. I think I am done with big hotels, it will be smaller family run operations. I didn't feel like putting the energy in to strongly advocate for myself at the Hotel Praga.

One thing I didn't get. Why are there two men in uniform standing in the lobby? They didn't greet us, they just stood around. Didn't help with luggage. Were they security or????

Room Tip: Don't stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dignity1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Isis Hotel
#385 of 435 in Madrid
206 reviews
Retiro
Hotel Agumar
Hotel Agumar
#247 of 435 in Madrid
886 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Blas
Holiday Inn Madrid - Calle Alcala
Hotel Gran Legazpi
#254 of 435 in Madrid
319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Praga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Praga

Property: Hotel Praga
Address: Calle Antonio Lopez 65, 28019 Madrid, Spain
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#171 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Praga 4*
Number of rooms: 420
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Praga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Praga Hotel Madrid
Hotel Praga Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing