We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“So much better” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Praga

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Praga
Ranked #299 of 448 Hotels in Madrid
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“So much better”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Much improved! so much better than last time I stayed here less than 12 months ago, refurbished rooms ... excellent buffet breakfast .... reception staff still not smiling ... lol. Not close to Plaza Mayor or palace but just EU8-EU9 dollar taxi ride to hotel door. Or ride bus number 23 direct to Plaza Mayor, just check with the driver where to catch it back from.
Walk the streets ... enjoy the cheap prices ... Madrid is much cheaper than Australia.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chardygal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,038 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    411
    374
    112
    61
See reviews for
225
381
70
74
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NYC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

I too did the Cosmos 9 day trip and was in this place for the last two nights. The prior Cosmos travelers poor review weighed heavily because I too am a vegetarian.

But glad that the hotel wasn't as bad as I feared.

Pros: friendly staff, bus right in front (daytime to Sol - 20+ minutes depending on traffic), Metro a 10 minute walk, plenty of restaurants in the vicinity, supermarket and ATMs in same block, part of a residential area (which was safe even when my girlfriend and i returned around 1 am) and finally - affordable!

Cons:
1. taxis in front seem to show tourists around even when they dont ask for it (ride to Sol to Hotel Liabeny @ Sol, where I am currently staying for three days, cost euro 12 vs around 7. No traffic but the driver took us around Atocha and Prado museum, which are away from Sol. I didnt complain because i did want to see Madrid around)
2. thin walls and carpet
3. front facing rooms can hear traffic on street.

Last two are the main reasons I am giving it a 3 and not 4 star.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NYCdesi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

This was the last hotel on our 9 day Cosmos "jewels of Spain & Portugal tour and was very unsatisfactory! Although the rest of the room seemed clean, the carpet had multiple stains. Our view was a rear window overlooking hundreds of apartments and a rooftop. Our floor had multiple noisy high school tour groups. The restaurant had nothing without meat and when we declined having just salad the waiter summoned what appeared to be the restaurant manager who very bluntly told us "we don't have vegetarian food"! We left and attempted to find food in the area only to encounter a television crew video taping multiple police vehicles and an army of police who were handcuffing and taking away numerous men from a bar just a few doors away from the hotel. We didn't feel safe and went back to our room without eating. We were happy to leave the following morning and would certainly not recommend this hotel to anyone. We will write to Cosmos Tours to express our dissatisfaction with their choice of Praga Hotel!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Juandalust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Madrid hotels

Ipswich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

We went to Madrid to Watch Man United v Madrid and we decided to stay for a week.
The downside of this hotel is the location of it. We payed €50 from Barajas Airport to the hotel and its about 20km to centre aswel. We met a few local people and used bus just outside the hotel to town really cheap €1.5.

Very clean, good size rooms floor 1 and great wi-fi (free).

Overall good hotel apart from the location if you intend to go to places..

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amahmudi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013 via mobile

Arrived here with a school party triple rooms were very basic,quad room was better
Facilities were basic,bar was empty
A little out of the way for trips to Real Madrid
Cleaner was really not happy at the rooms being messy!!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stavels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013 via mobile

I was reprehensive when I saw a 4 star hotel offer rooms so cheaply, but the quality was very good.
The only downside to the rooms was the bad insulation which forced us to heat via AC which dried the air out completely.
The food in the cafeteria was of varied quality (hamburgers were good, pork chops were awful).
I have to stress that the value was amazing for the little money we paid.

Helpful?
Thank Phlexonance
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Newmarket, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Having spent 3 nights in this hotel couldn't fault it !! spotless rooms cleaned everyday clean towels . Breakfast buffet very good value hot & cold choices highly recommended
Very good location 10 minute walk to metro good cafes and resturants

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fran114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Hotel Gran Legazpi
#264 of 448 in Madrid
3.5 of 5 stars 223 reviews
Isis Hotel
#396 of 448 in Madrid
3.0 of 5 stars 154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Retiro
Hotel Agumar
Hotel Agumar
#245 of 448 in Madrid
3.5 of 5 stars 733 reviews
San Blas
Holiday Inn Madrid - Calle Alcala
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Praga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Praga

Property: Hotel Praga
Address: Calle Antonio Lopez 65, 28019 Madrid, Spain
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#167 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Praga 4*
Number of rooms: 420
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, HotelTravel.com and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Praga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Praga Hotel Madrid
Hotel Praga Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing