We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad”
Review of Hotel Praga

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Praga
Ranked #313 of 438 Hotels in Madrid
Reviewed March 17, 2013

I too did the Cosmos 9 day trip and was in this place for the last two nights. The prior Cosmos travelers poor review weighed heavily because I too am a vegetarian.

But glad that the hotel wasn't as bad as I feared.

Pros: friendly staff, bus right in front (daytime to Sol - 20+ minutes depending on traffic), Metro a 10 minute walk, plenty of restaurants in the vicinity, supermarket and ATMs in same block, part of a residential area (which was safe even when my girlfriend and i returned around 1 am) and finally - affordable!

Cons:
1. taxis in front seem to show tourists around even when they dont ask for it (ride to Sol to Hotel Liabeny @ Sol, where I am currently staying for three days, cost euro 12 vs around 7. No traffic but the driver took us around Atocha and Prado museum, which are away from Sol. I didnt complain because i did want to see Madrid around)
2. thin walls and carpet
3. front facing rooms can hear traffic on street.

Last two are the main reasons I am giving it a 3 and not 4 star.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NYCdesi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,312)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Praga
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

200 - 206 of 1,313 reviews

Reviewed March 8, 2013

This was the last hotel on our 9 day Cosmos "jewels of Spain & Portugal tour and was very unsatisfactory! Although the rest of the room seemed clean, the carpet had multiple stains. Our view was a rear window overlooking hundreds of apartments and a rooftop. Our floor had multiple noisy high school tour groups. The restaurant had nothing without meat and when we declined having just salad the waiter summoned what appeared to be the restaurant manager who very bluntly told us "we don't have vegetarian food"! We left and attempted to find food in the area only to encounter a television crew video taping multiple police vehicles and an army of police who were handcuffing and taking away numerous men from a bar just a few doors away from the hotel. We didn't feel safe and went back to our room without eating. We were happy to leave the following morning and would certainly not recommend this hotel to anyone. We will write to Cosmos Tours to express our dissatisfaction with their choice of Praga Hotel!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Juandalust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

We went to Madrid to Watch Man United v Madrid and we decided to stay for a week.
The downside of this hotel is the location of it. We payed €50 from Barajas Airport to the hotel and its about 20km to centre aswel. We met a few local people and used bus just outside the hotel to town really cheap €1.5.

Very clean, good size rooms floor 1 and great wi-fi (free).

Overall good hotel apart from the location if you intend to go to places..

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amahmudi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2013 via mobile

Arrived here with a school party triple rooms were very basic,quad room was better
Facilities were basic,bar was empty
A little out of the way for trips to Real Madrid
Cleaner was really not happy at the rooms being messy!!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stavels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2013 via mobile

I was reprehensive when I saw a 4 star hotel offer rooms so cheaply, but the quality was very good.
The only downside to the rooms was the bad insulation which forced us to heat via AC which dried the air out completely.
The food in the cafeteria was of varied quality (hamburgers were good, pork chops were awful).
I have to stress that the value was amazing for the little money we paid.

Thank Phlexonance
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Having spent 3 nights in this hotel couldn't fault it !! spotless rooms cleaned everyday clean towels . Breakfast buffet very good value hot & cold choices highly recommended
Very good location 10 minute walk to metro good cafes and resturants

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fran114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2013

We have just spent three nights in this hotel and thoroughly enjoyed it. Rooms were lovely and everywhere was spotlessly clean, breakfast was buffet style with hot and cold choices, very good value for €10. All staff were very helpful, in a good location 10 minute walk from metro into the centre of Madrid €1,70. Would thoroughly recommend ! We all asked for an extra pillow and that was at our rooms within 10 mins.

Room Tip: Our room was at the front on the main road but because of the quality of the curtains we were oblivi...
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Teresa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Isis Hotel
#391 of 438 in Madrid
208 reviews
Retiro
Hotel Agumar
Hotel Agumar
#242 of 438 in Madrid
911 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Gran Legazpi
#264 of 438 in Madrid
327 reviews
Hotel Claridge
#61 of 438 in Madrid
901 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Praga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Praga

Address: Calle Antonio Lopez 65, 28019 Madrid, Spain
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#172 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
Price Range: $67 - $232 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Praga 4*
Number of rooms: 420
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Praga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Praga Hotel Madrid
Hotel Praga Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing