We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Praga

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Praga
Ranked #314 of 446 Hotels in Madrid
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

The hotel is located outside the downtown area. The closest Metro (Marques de Vadillo) is a 15 minutes walk. 5 stations later and a line change you're in Puerta del Sol. So, location is not a strong point. Breakfast, room, bed and pillow are average. It's a clean hotel and the service is very good.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HMVC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    440
    412
    124
    71
See reviews for
246
419
75
83
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

The hotel pretends to be 4 stars, that's why it is very clean and the rooms are ok for a quick stay in Madrid, breakfast is ok, location is 5-7 min walking distance from metro. It will take you around 25 min to get to the city center using metro. There is a grocery in 2-3 min walking distance and a number of cafes and restaurants as well.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anabelswiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cala'n Porter, Spain
Level Contributor
272 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2012

Meeting & greeted by a miserable older male receptionist around 11pm we had to wait whilst he fluffed around with paperwork until I spoke to him in Spanish and he then decided to assist our check in for our booked triple room.

Allocated a nice size room 328 being adequate but room was freezing cold and being 3 degrees outside was not welcoming for a four star property and please the website does need an update as things look totally different from the day that was made.

Beds were comfortable but under the beds were empty coca cola bottles , rubbish from past guests and cleaning was obviously done by Helen Keller or Stevie Wonder because I was appalled at the dust and lack of cleanliness in bathroom & bedroom.

On choice I would not stay here again as there are other properties of better value
within Madrid and that offer far better cleanliness, service and are pleased to welcome guests
In a time of recession .

Room Tip: Book another hotel !!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2012

We had 3 single beds in our room which was comfortable, clean and had a good shower in the spotless bathroom. The lighting was dim by the window but we could all sit happily on the other two beds. Free wi-fi was welcome - just had to ask at Reception for the code which lasted the length of our stay and worked on more than one computer at a time. The staff were friendly and spoke good English. We ate breakfast out in the local cafes- atmospheric and busy one on Calle Antonio Leyva by the Metro station. We found the bus and metro clean, cheap and easy to use and felt very safe. We enjoyed being in a local neighbourhood rather than in a tourist area. The hotel seems to have been upgraded since some of the previous posts.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Murphys346
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012 via mobile

The hotel was very nice, the bedrooms were clean ( I always carry my own blanket ) the restroom very clean but small for three people, but it worked. The breakfast buffet wa great a big selection each day we were their. The bus and taxi were located right outside the front door, if you take the bus keep your purse close to your body. Great shopping Madrid has so many malls but they are called " centro comercial". A must see is Plaza Mayor great place to walk around and do some window shopping, plus some very large stores near by. Toledo Spain is a must, before I forget restaurants open at 8:00pm just in case your like us early eaters. Great

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Rosa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2012

This hotel is nothing like the pictures displayed on their website. I stayed there with my children who were given a room right outside the lift doors. The rooms are very poorly lit - so much so that you can't read a book; views from rear windows are ghastly (washing and terrace debris from the block of flats opposite); bathrooms just about adequate, but hardly any room to swing a cat in. In the bedrooms TVs antequated; old beds; no duvet covers (duvet sandwiched between two sheets). The room my children stayed in smelled old and musty. There is nothing in the area of interest - indeed to find a 'suitable' place for brunch we had to walk for twenty minutes. I will not even mention the attitude of some of the staff when approached for anything.

Highlight of our stay - the lovely, delightful staff in the hotel's restaurant/cafeteria. Delivering service with a smile is not something you see ofte in Madrid. Will not be booking that hotel again unless they have a complete and thorough overhaul.

Room Tip: Book another hotel - unless the refurbish.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nathalie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Madrid hotels

Milton Keynes
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Stayed with 5 friends on a sightseeing visit to Madrid, the hotel is much bigger than any we have used before but very clean and comfortable. The walls seem to be a bit thin so can hear everything going on next door :) Wasnt really a problem. The breakfast was buffet style hot and cold and tea, coffee and juices for 8 Euros was well worth it. Short bus ride into the centre, would definately stay again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MandieMiltonKeynes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Isis Hotel
#380 of 446 in Madrid
3.0 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
Hotel Gran Legazpi
#263 of 446 in Madrid
3.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
Retiro
Hotel Agumar
Hotel Agumar
#258 of 446 in Madrid
3.5 of 5 bubbles 783 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Nuevo Madrid
#181 of 446 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 740 reviews
San Blas
Holiday Inn Madrid - Calle Alcala
ILUNION Suites Madrid
#109 of 446 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Praga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Praga

Property: Hotel Praga
Address: Calle Antonio Lopez 65, 28019 Madrid, Spain
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#174 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Praga 4*
Number of rooms: 420
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Hotel Praga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Praga Hotel Madrid
Hotel Praga Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing