We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Praga

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Praga
Ranked #305 of 445 Hotels in Madrid
Riverside, California
Level Contributor
111 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Good Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2012

I stayed here at the beginning and end of a Cosmos tour. The hotel is in a residential neighborhood, with lots of shops and restaurants nearby. It's an easy bus ride to the Plaza Mayor and an easy walk to/from the bus stop for downtown and Prado museum. There is a market almost next door that sells food, water and alcohol. Previous reviews complained about the staff; we found them to be very friendly and helpful. The hotel is used by various tour groups so the lobby does get crowded. WiFi is expensive 4 euros a day. The breakfast buffet was good. Rooms are a bit small but clean and adequate. We had one with a small balcony on the 7th floor.

Room Tip: Some rooms have balconies...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pachappa2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,213 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    463
    447
    133
    74
See reviews for
270
443
84
92
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
So. Calif.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

We stayed at this hotel before we returned to the U.S. and it was splendid. We were next (around the corner from the famous Museo de Jamon (Ham museum) and the food there was delicious; I paid $1 U.S. for a great subway like sandwich with authentic spanish ham plus tomato's (which you have to pay extra for). So, we only had one meal at the hotel which was very tasty. The service was excellent with courteous employees eager to make us feel welcome. They have internet and helped us find a flamenco show.
It was also of course situated near famous El Prado Museum and Reina Sofia Modern Art museum. The plaza across the way also had informal eateries, great beer at the outdoor patio next to Sofia museum, and other nice tourist traps that didn't trap you too badly! The hotel was very clean and the price was really reasonable for its proximity to great places and great food.

Room Tip: I can't recall the room but it was a double and it was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelpnut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tarpon Springs, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

We stayed here during a Cosmos tour. The hotel was the worse of all the hotels on the tour. The good was location easy access to Plaza Mayor. Breakfast buffet not good. If you are not on a tour stay away!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Beachcondowner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grayslake, Illinois
Level Contributor
222 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2012

This hotel is very popular with tour groups - probably because it is a good value for the money and it is very well run. It is in a residential neighborhood but easily accessible via bus (Rte 23) or the Metra (Green line). The park behind it is a treasure - take an early morning or late evening walk for a pleasant getaway. The rooms are OK - but clean and well maintained. The TVs are old - but they do have a clock display - which is missing in the other hotels we stayed on this trip, The front desk was very helpful when we needed to fax a document to the states, and we also kept a few bags in storage (6 Euro ea) when we left for a few days. The best part of the hotel is the street it is on. Quite a few topas restaraunts and local bars. Not the kind where you see alot of tourists - but they treated us well when we showed up, The tour groups cause a buzz in the smallish lobby, and the busses clog the street - but other than that - this is a nice litttle slice of Madrid life,

Room Tip: Ask for one away from the elevator as it makes a lot of noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lovestoroam78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2012

Relaxed so much that even felt asleep in the bath,


Got some room service and it was very quick. No one really speaks english but who does in Spain?

Is close to a great line of the metro and the rooms are clean. A bit dated but nice. beats the small and expensive places in the city town.

Went out clubbing and even managed to get a bus back to the hotel in the middle of the night

Room Tip: get a mate who can speak spanish to ring the reception as they can offer cheapper rooms than online...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MyselfLondonLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spain
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2012

I booked this hotel as a present for my son and his girlfriend and paid for it in advance, they found he biggest problem they had was on check in the hotel asked for the card that the payment was made with as I was not there this caused a problem. They were eventually told they could check in but the phone in the room would be disconected and they would not be able to have any room service or tv. This did spoil their stay and should have been explained a the time of booking

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
2 Thank SpainInthesunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sugar Land, Texas
Level Contributor
58 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2012

A lot of stores, restaurants in area frequented by locals so they were cheaper at prices for middle class locals. A block from main city river with pleasant clean recreation, children playgrounds, jogging paths, etc. along both banks which were 10 Km. long as told by tour guide. Near one professional soccer stadium. Taxi easy to find ans buslines avaialble. Taxi rides about 7-8 euros to The most popular ares of world class museums, Retiro park, busy business districts and governmental offices.

Room Tip: Good place to be in area where affordable local price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scenic2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Retiro
Hotel Agumar
Hotel Agumar
#249 of 445 in Madrid
3.5 of 5 bubbles 834 reviews
Isis Hotel
#378 of 445 in Madrid
3.0 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
Hotel Claridge
#58 of 445 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 830 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Blas
Holiday Inn Madrid - Calle Alcala
Rafaelhoteles Atocha
#210 of 445 in Madrid
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,086 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Praga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Praga

Property: Hotel Praga
Address: Calle Antonio Lopez 65, 28019 Madrid, Spain
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#169 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Praga 4*
Number of rooms: 420
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Praga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Praga Hotel Madrid
Hotel Praga Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing