We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Madrid is great, it's people and places, i.e. this hotel!”
Review of Hotel Praga

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Praga
Ranked #304 of 442 Hotels in Madrid
Reviewed July 9, 2012

We stayed at this hotel before we returned to the U.S. and it was splendid. We were next (around the corner from the famous Museo de Jamon (Ham museum) and the food there was delicious; I paid $1 U.S. for a great subway like sandwich with authentic spanish ham plus tomato's (which you have to pay extra for). So, we only had one meal at the hotel which was very tasty. The service was excellent with courteous employees eager to make us feel welcome. They have internet and helped us find a flamenco show.
It was also of course situated near famous El Prado Museum and Reina Sofia Modern Art museum. The plaza across the way also had informal eateries, great beer at the outdoor patio next to Sofia museum, and other nice tourist traps that didn't trap you too badly! The hotel was very clean and the price was really reasonable for its proximity to great places and great food.

Room Tip: I can't recall the room but it was a double and it was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelpnut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,410)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

240 - 246 of 1,410 reviews

Reviewed July 9, 2012

We stayed here during a Cosmos tour. The hotel was the worse of all the hotels on the tour. The good was location easy access to Plaza Mayor. Breakfast buffet not good. If you are not on a tour stay away!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Beachcondowner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2012

This hotel is very popular with tour groups - probably because it is a good value for the money and it is very well run. It is in a residential neighborhood but easily accessible via bus (Rte 23) or the Metra (Green line). The park behind it is a treasure - take an early morning or late evening walk for a pleasant getaway. The rooms are OK - but clean and well maintained. The TVs are old - but they do have a clock display - which is missing in the other hotels we stayed on this trip, The front desk was very helpful when we needed to fax a document to the states, and we also kept a few bags in storage (6 Euro ea) when we left for a few days. The best part of the hotel is the street it is on. Quite a few topas restaraunts and local bars. Not the kind where you see alot of tourists - but they treated us well when we showed up, The tour groups cause a buzz in the smallish lobby, and the busses clog the street - but other than that - this is a nice litttle slice of Madrid life,

Room Tip: Ask for one away from the elevator as it makes a lot of noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lovestoroam78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2012

Relaxed so much that even felt asleep in the bath,


Got some room service and it was very quick. No one really speaks english but who does in Spain?

Is close to a great line of the metro and the rooms are clean. A bit dated but nice. beats the small and expensive places in the city town.

Went out clubbing and even managed to get a bus back to the hotel in the middle of the night

Room Tip: get a mate who can speak spanish to ring the reception as they can offer cheapper rooms than online...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MyselfLondonLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2012

I booked this hotel as a present for my son and his girlfriend and paid for it in advance, they found he biggest problem they had was on check in the hotel asked for the card that the payment was made with as I was not there this caused a problem. They were eventually told they could check in but the phone in the room would be disconected and they would not be able to have any room service or tv. This did spoil their stay and should have been explained a the time of booking

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
2  Thank SpainInthesunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2012

A lot of stores, restaurants in area frequented by locals so they were cheaper at prices for middle class locals. A block from main city river with pleasant clean recreation, children playgrounds, jogging paths, etc. along both banks which were 10 Km. long as told by tour guide. Near one professional soccer stadium. Taxi easy to find ans buslines avaialble. Taxi rides about 7-8 euros to The most popular ares of world class museums, Retiro park, busy business districts and governmental offices.

Room Tip: Good place to be in area where affordable local price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scenic2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2012

My boyfriend brought me here for 3 nights for a city break in Madrid. The location is convenient to the bus and metro. The bus stop is right outside the door and really regular and the metro is 5-10 mins walk from the door. Take a walk up to the metro staying on the same side of the street as the hotel and take one of the side streets on the right down to the river and a lovely river walk, which we discovered on our last morning.
Breakfast is great, lovely choice and fresh cut fruit, choice of yoghurts, meats and cheeses.
The room itself was a little tired and not that large but the linen and bathrooms were spotless. A few local restaurants nearby which are good value. Overall the hotel was great value for money.

Room Tip: Take up the breakfast offer of €8 for the buffet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Eimes30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madrid hotels
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Madrid-Piramides
0.6 mi away
Hotel Gran Legazpi
Hotel Gran Legazpi
#250 of 442 in Madrid
353 reviews
0.5 mi away
Isis Hotel
Isis Hotel
#396 of 442 in Madrid
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Hotel Mercader
Hotel Mercader
#301 of 442 in Madrid
251 reviews
2 mi away
Hotel Ibis Budget Madrid Calle 30
1.1 mi away
NH Madrid Ribera del Manzanares
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Praga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Praga

Address: Calle Antonio Lopez 65, 28019 Madrid, Spain
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#175 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
Price Range: $77 - $153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Praga 4*
Number of rooms: 420
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hoteles Santos , Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Praga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Praga Hotel Madrid
Hotel Praga Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing