We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, clean rooms, helpful staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Tryp Madrid Plaza Espana Hotel
Ranked #243 of 440 Hotels in Madrid
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed June 6, 2012

Above defines this place. Hotel is simple, nothing fancy, but clean rooms, staff is very nice and helpful and location is great, that combined with a good price, makes it a really nice place to stay in Madrid. Highly recommendable unless you are looking for high end places. Specifically, location and staff makes the difference (my elderly parents were staying there before I arrived, and the staff went beyond their way to help me communicate with them every time I called).

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank regular-traveller25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angel G, Gerente at Tryp Madrid Plaza Espana Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2012

Dear Guest,

First of all, I would like to thank you for having chosen us for your last stay in Madrid, as well as for taking the time to post your opinion on Tripadvisor.

We appreciate your comments regarding your stay at this hotel. I will trasmit to all the staff your kind comments and particulary to reception desk.

Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,010)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

142 - 148 of 1,010 reviews

Reviewed May 7, 2012

this hotel is right by the Gran Via, which is the main street of Madrid. Lots of shopping. Also, it is close to Plaza de Espana. A lot of tours leave from this plaza. Our room was clean but furniture are outdated. Need some make overs.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pkim8728
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angel G, Gerente at Tryp Madrid Plaza Espana Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2012

Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you in the name of all the Tryp Madrid Menfis staff for your feedback.

Your positive comments will help us with our continuing effort to improve the service quality for our guests. Our location is the best because our guest are so close to the most interesting cultural centers and threathes.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2012

We enjoyed staying in the hotel. Staff is very friendly and speaks good English. WiFi is available on the first 3 floors. Rooms were clean and well decorated. There is some repair going on outside but as we were not in the hotel during the day it did not disturb us. Prices are very reasonable. Breakfast was perfect with very good choice of food, especially pastry.
The only complaint - there was no bottle opener anywhere in the hotel:-)

Room Tip: WiFi available up to the third floor in premium rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Konstantin1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angel G, Gerente at Tryp Madrid Plaza Espana Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2012

Dear Guest,

First of all, I would like to thank you for having chosen us for your last stay in Madrid, as well as for taking the time to post your opinion on Tripadvisor. We appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the hotel. I will trasmit to all the staff your kind comments. Our full breakfast buffet is one of the most characteristicpoint of our hotel.

We are looking forward to welcome you back to the hotel.

Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 29, 2012

What was excellent is location just on gran via entering Piaza de Spagna. So the connection subway possibilities are great. By few houndred meters there are another subway station.

The rooms are not so big but minibar thanks to M&M promotion and booking by official website were free. The breakfast offer was good - not huge but not to small.

The staff was like in Spain - maniana:)

Around there is a lot to do - restaurants and pubs. On the corner there is Fridays.

By the walk You can easily get to SOL, OPERA, PLAZA DE SAN MIGUEL.

For price of 80euro per night with minibar and breakfast for 2 I recomend but not more.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ieasabel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angel G, Gerente at Tryp Madrid Plaza Espana Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2012

Dear Guest,

On behalf of myself and all the staff of the hotel, I would like to thank you for having chosen us for your stay in Madrid. Our hotel is in the hub and our guest choose us for this reason. We are so close to the most importants cultural centers and treathes.

We hope to see you again in the hotel.

Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2012

Te hotel is located really good.

Few steps from Plaza de Espana.
Plaza de Espana subway station ( connecting station of red, yellow and navy) is just few steps from hotel - 50m.
There is also Green and bue line close to the hotel.

By walk You can get from there to Opera, Sol, San Miguel squer with it excellent market / tapas bazaar square.

The rooms were not so big and modern but clean.
There was no sound to hear from outside.

The breakfast offer was big and good.
Minibar with beers was included.

The staff was ok but quite slow.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ksiazemati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angel G, Gerente at Tryp Madrid Plaza Espana Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2012

Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you in the name of all the hotel staff for your feedback. Our hotel is in the city centre and our guest choose us for this reason. Our full breakfast buffet is perfect for our guest beacuse we offer them the best pastry, fruit or juice. We hope to see you soon again in the Tryp Madrid Menfis.

Yours sincerely.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2012

visited for three nights 17th to 19th February. This is a slightly old-fashioned, comfortable hotel with friendly and helpful staff. The breakfasts are excellent. Not recommended for those seeking ultra modern surroundings.

Room Tip: Request a quiet room, whilst bearing in mind that this is difficult in the middle of Madrid
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank paula048
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angel G, Gerente at Tryp Madrid Plaza Espana Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2012

Dear Guest,

First of all, I would like to thank you for having chosen us for your stay in Madrid, as well as for taking the time to post your opinion on Tripadvisor. We highly appreciate your comments, thanks to them we continously strive to strengthen the points that need to be improved.

We are looking forward see you soon again.

Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2012

I arrived with my partner on the Thursday night of the 9th of February 2012. It happens alot as people assume, but we were given a twin room (id booked a double with hotels.com) The man on the desk could not have been more helpful and apologetic and even up graded our room to a beautiful double overlooking the main grand Via. Bathroon was a bit small but managable and with room service, satalite tv, mini bar and free wii fi, it was very comfortable, You were always greeted by a friendly "Hola" leaving and entering the hotel at any time. Widows were virtually sound proof securing a sound sleep, I dont like heating from an aircon unit as its quite drying on the throat but I can appreciate this is more convienient than seperate heating and air con.The maid was discreet, thorough and seemed to work around the guests as opposed to hereself. With the metro outside the door everwhere in the city is easy to access and its just one tram change to the airport. I got the 5 day tourist pass covering trams and buses for 19 euros which is great value. Its ideally located for a short walk to the chuccea district. We loved our stay here, and hope to go back ( when warmer) :)

Room Tip: The rooms ending in 01 on each floor are closest to elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Declan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angel G, Gerente at Tryp Madrid Plaza Espana Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2012

Dear Guest,

On behalf of all the staff of the Tryp Madrid Menfis, we would like to thank you for having chosen us for your stay in Madrid, as well as for taking the time to post your opinion. I will trasmit to all the staff your kind comments and particulary to reception desk.

Our hotel is in the hub and our staff is our most important characteristics for our guests. We hope to see you again in "warmer time".

Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Malasana
Tryp Madrid Centro
Tryp Madrid Centro
#274 of 440 in Madrid
1,022 reviews
Malasana
Senator Gran Via 70 Spa Hotel
Ayre Gran Hotel Colon
#147 of 440 in Madrid
1,880 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
ILUNION Suites Madrid
#91 of 440 in Madrid
1,020 reviews
NH Madrid Ventas
#58 of 440 in Madrid
835 reviews
Centro
Room Mate Mario
Room Mate Mario
#44 of 440 in Madrid
1,938 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tryp Madrid Plaza Espana Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tryp Madrid Plaza Espana Hotel

Address: Calle Gran Via 74, 28013 Madrid, Spain (Formerly Tryp Madrid Menfis Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Malasana
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Green Hotel in Madrid
#153 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
Price Range: $97 - $236 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Tryp Madrid Plaza Espana Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tryp Madrid Plaza Espana lies in the heart of Madrid, among the high buildings and shops on Gran Via, and just a short walk from Plaza de Espana, the royal palace, Puerta del Sol, the Retiro park and the main museums. This perfect location makes Tryp Menfis the perfect place for your business and leisure stays. Whether you are alone or with your family, you are never more than a stone's throw away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Prodigios Interactivos SA, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tryp Madrid Plaza Espana Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Melia Madrid
Sol Melia Menfis Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing