We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location, not so great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Petit Palace Londres
Ranked #127 of 444 Hotels in Madrid
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“great location, not so great hotel”
Reviewed August 22, 2012

We stayed here in October 2011. The location was awesome and we loved having a tiny little balcony to step out onto. The room was extremely small - would have to step over our suitcases everytime we walked around the bed. Overall, it was fine for us, only staying in Madrid for 2 nights, but I would definitely not recommend it for a long stay.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amoorhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

781 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    202
    378
    122
    52
    27
See reviews for
213
323
26
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2012

The best thing about this hotel is that it is at the centre of Madrid but also not noisy at night. Very friendly staff and lovely roomy room. The metro station is just outside as are the shops, cafes and restaurants.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patrick O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
121 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2012

While the rooms are clean and relatively pleasant at first glance, there are simply too many negatives for me to recommend this property to friends or family.

ROOM: First, my room on the 3rd floor was plagued by a hot sewer smell that seemed to come up through the bathroom plumbing. Indeed, this is an issue I encountered in streets, stores, and the subway throughout the Puerto del Sol area in which the hotel is located.
When I mentioned the problem to the front desk on my first day the girl behind the counter looked at me like I was crazy and the gentleman working with her said they would send up maintenance. Whether or not maintenance ever looked into a problem they likely couldn't fix anyway, I don't know; I waited 40 minutes for someone to arrive and decided to leave for lunch rather than waste my entire day waiting around in a smelly room. It was suggested that I ask if it was even possible to switch rooms the next day; at that point I was unpacked and annoyed with no guarantee this wasn't a hotel-wide issue so I figured I'd endure it as I wasn't going to be in the room for any purpose other than sleep, anyway.

I had to keep the bathroom door closed at all times, choke my way through a shower, and finish hairdrying and makeup application near the bed after closing the bathroom door. In order to get some fresh air circulating and reduce the smell I opened the french doors that led out to my balcony; this is not an option overnight, however, as the area is quite the "happening" place with revelers below the balcony until 3-4am.

AREA: In fact, the area is the other reason I would not recommend this hotel. It was not really my cup of tea. Yes, you are in reach of many shopping, dining and entertainment venues and yes, you have spectacular access to the Metro. However, with a lot of people and partying comes a lot of thieves and...well let's just say, "interesting"...people. Yes, I was targeted by a thief (who was unsuccessful) while eating al fresco near the hotel. I found that the dining options and safety (especially for solo female travelers) in other areas were superior, anyway.

Yes, it is noisy but that is to be expected with the "Times Square" of Madrid; this would have been perfectly tolerable (as the french doors do close out most noise) had the room not smelled like the sewer thereby requiring the doors to be open much of the time to gain fresh air.

GETTING THERE: Further, due to the prevalence of petty thieves and drunks and the fact that you must drag your luggage a block to the non-pedestrian area to catch a cab to the airport, I would think carefully about if you need assistance with your luggage and other circumstances surrounding your arrival or departure times-- especially if traveling alone. I had to catch my cab at 4:30am and fortunately the taxi was able to make an exception and meet me at the door at that time of morning....he loaded my bag into the trunk as a gentleman unzipped his pants and relieved himself in the alley next to the hotel's front door. Nice.

I was grateful for the safety measure that required that one must be buzzed-in for entrance into the hotel. Otherwise, I was unimpressed with the bleak lobby and hallways, overpriced breakfast, staff that was largely not interested in being friendly nor helpful (with the exception of one brunette front desk clerk who I appreciated greatly). This, combined with the gritty location and apparent plumbing challenges soured my view of this property. I would recommend spending more and staying in the Salamanca or Plaza de Oriente areas of the city. Had I not pre-paid, I would have fled to another hotel immediately.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GirlOnAGlobe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
124 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2012

I had stayed at the Petit Hotel Londres in 2001, and booked again in 2012 knowing that it is within walking distance of all of the best food, nightlife, and sites in Madrid. My experience in 2012 was much different than mt stay in 2001. I had booked the same type of room, but was given a very small room in the corner of the hotel.

The quarters were extremely tight for my husband and I. Other family members that we were traveling with had booked the 4-person room. The quarters were also a bit tight but had a balcony with a great view. Our bed had the side of it up against a wall, so you could only get into the bed from one side. There was less than 3 feet of walking space in the room. Even the shower was tiny. You have to squeeze your knees into the shelf under the sink in order to sit on the toilet. We visited Madrid in May 2012 and it was 90 degrees all week during our stay. The hotel did not have any air conditioning on and it was EXTREMELY HOT in the room. We called the front desk and asked them to turn on the air conditioning and they advised that they "were not aware that the weather would be so hot and would be turning on the air conditioning the next day". It was very difficult to sleep because the window opened inward toward the room and the corner of the window was 3 inches from my head when I was laying in the bed. I was scared that I would hit my head on the corner of the window if we kept it open. We asked to change rooms and they advised us that it was not possible. One of the windows in my room opened into a cement wall! The air conditioning was finally turned on.

Now, there are also good points to this hotel. The main positive attribute is the location. This hotel is one block from SOL, the center for all of Madrid's biggest parties, festivals, parades, pep rallys, and demonstrations. We saw a number of amazing sites in sol just by chance while walking to & from our hotel. We walked right into the Team Atletico pep rally, the San Isidro parade, & the "Occupy Madrid" demonstrations. These are all sites that we would have missed had we not stayed in this location.

Room Tip: Tell them you want a view of the street & get a room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sheila f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura C, Departamento de Ventas Online at Petit Palace Londres, responded to this review, June 12, 2012
Dear Guest ,

Thank you for leaving us your constructive feedback on Tripadvisor.

I am sorry you had an uncomfortable stay in our hotel and for the inconveniences. Some of the rooms are small but are well appointed and cleaned to a high standard.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel when you are next visiting the area.

Kind Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Level Contributor
70 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2012

We stayed here for 5 nights whilst in MAdrid on business. Although I would not chose to stay there if I was on a romantic stay, with colleagues it was perfect.
The room was clean and tidy and yes it is in a fantastic position for the city, literally minutes walk from Sol.
The bed was comfy enough and breakfast was excellent!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank asty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura C, Departamento de ventas online at Petit Palace Londres, responded to this review, May 23, 2012
Thank you for your wonderful detailed review. Our team are delighted that you enjoyed their service and look forward to welcoming you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2012

Firstly, I have no idea why people are complaining about the noise here. If you book a hotel right in the centre of a capital city then it's hardly going to be a haven of tranquility! Here's a tip - close the window if you dont like the hustle and bustle of city life!

This is a reasonably priced, perfectly located hotel with modern, clean rooms and great character!

The staff were helpful and friendly, even though I dont speak a word of Spanish, the beds were incredibly comfortable and the rooms a reasonable size, modern and well maintained.

The shower was fantastic and the free laptop in each room was a godsend. Who needs guidebooks when you have a world of information right there in your hotel room?

Breakfast is served on the hotel roof which is a great touch, there's a little courtyard you can sit out if the weather is nice and enjoy some fresh air, the selection is great and it's well priced.

Our room overlooked Calle de Galdo, and yes the streets are busy but close the window and the sound is blocked. To the point where I didnt even notice the Madrid Marathon was going on right under our window!!

Overall, this is a fantastic hotel if youre looking for somewhere well priced for a city break.

Room Tip: if you don't want noise, go to the countryside
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Swaley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura C, Departamento de ventas online at Petit Palace Londres, responded to this review, May 7, 2012
Thank you for your very complimentary review of Petit Palace Londres.Our team are delighted that you enjoyed their service and look forward to welcoming you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2012

Based on a Kirker package, this 'centrally located' hotel was advised to us and our family of 4. Yes, it was a good location - city center, shops, metro - but the size of the room, the poor quality of the mattresses, broken shower and the overall bad smell quickly showed us why never to book a family room in a 3 star property. No cushy moments, here, after walking the Madrid streets. Shame on Kirker!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TracyAP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Centro
Petit Palace Puerta Del Sol
Centro
Petit Palace Tres Cruces Centro
Centro
Petit Palace Opera
Petit Palace Opera
#132 of 444 in Madrid
853 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Hotel Moderno
Hotel Moderno
#90 of 444 in Madrid
1,017 reviews
Centro
Hotel Europa
Hotel Europa
#37 of 444 in Madrid
2,309 reviews
Centro
Petit Palace Plaza del Carmen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Petit Palace Londres? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Petit Palace Londres

Property: Petit Palace Londres
Address: Calle Galdo 2, 28013 Madrid, Spain
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Centro
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #127 of 444 Hotels in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Petit Palace Londres 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Petit Palace Londres! A charming city hotel found in the heart of Madrid City Centre - a truly privileged location right next to the famous Puerta del Sol, Royal Palace and Gran Via. Superbly located in the most commercial area of Madrid, between Preciados and Carmen street, one of the most charming hotels in the area is to be found, the Hotel Petit Palace Londres of three star category. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Petit Palace Londres reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Petit Palace Londres Madrid
Petit Palace Londres Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing