We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3 star and lacking”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Petit Palace Preciados
Ranked #122 of 435 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“3 star and lacking”
Reviewed April 18, 2012

Based on a Kirker package, this 'centrally located' hotel was advised to us and our family of 4. Yes, it was a good location - city center, shops, metro - but the size of the room, the poor quality of the mattresses, broken shower and the overall bad smell quickly showed us why never to book a family room in a 3 star property. No cushy moments, here, after walking the Madrid streets. Shame on Kirker!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TracyAP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

834 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    228
    395
    129
    54
    28
See reviews for
222
357
28
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kildare, Kildare, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2012

We booked a family room for a 3 night stay at the end of February 2012. The children were excited by the prospect of bunk beds, however, there is no safety rail on the top bunk and my husband ended up there as the children (and adults)were afraid of falling out in the night. Our room over looked the church side of the street, but quite honestly, looking at the postioning of the hotel I'd say all rooms overlook the streets. Our first night was a Saturday, and to say it was loud is an understatement. Apart from the revellers outside untill the small hours, we had to put up with a police car (or some emergency vehicle with a siren) passing by a couple of times. Even our children complained the next morning, which is highly unusual. The room was very cold and the thermostat didn't seem to work, there were no extra blankets and I ended up wearing a shirt over my pj's and putting my coat on the bed for warmth!
The bathroom was small and tight. The shower very old fashioned not in keeping with the refurb in the bathroom. The toilet was loose and wobbled.
There was free wi-fi and the children received a free dvd, although they both got the same one.
Not a suitable hotel for a family but ideal for party goers and young people who want to be in the centre of everything.
It's location in the Sol area, for sight seeing is perfect, but with that comes the noise...not so perfect! Would move a bit further out of the Sol area with children.

Room Tip: It seems all rooms over look one street or another form the position of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed April 9, 2012

We booked a family room for a 3 night stay in Madrid. The hotel is right in the heart of a pedestrian area, so it took the taxi a while to work out how to drop us off at the door. We had booked a taxi service through AeroCity, which was fortunate as they offer a door-to-door service from Madrid airport. I suspect a normal taxi would have dropped us off somewhere near Sol metro station and expected us to find the hotel ourselves.

The room was small to say the least. The bunk bed was against the wall and there was no safety bar for the top bunk. The twin beds weren't particularly comfortable. The shower attachment in the bathroom was hanging off the wall and didn't really inspire any confidence at all.

Our room had a balcony that looked out onto the Hotel Liabeny. I wish I'd booked that now rather that the Petit Palace Londres. Given the location, it was very noisy at night, which made getting a good night's sleep difficult. The air con wasn't that good, so we were forced to keep the balcony door ajar to get some air into the room.

The room did have a laptop, which entertained one of my kids however if you were hoping to use the laptop to check-in for your flight, forget it, as there's no printer available and the front desk weren't particular helpful or forthcoming in offering the services of their printer.

Overall, the location is great but the stay was terrible.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ramjam275
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2012

Excellent location. Noisy if your room has a window facing the street. Rooms are ok but I wouldn't recommend using the top of the bunk bed as we found that the safety bar easily popped out and the whole thing didn't seem very sturdy. Free internet and laptop use was very nice. Rooms are tiny but so were all the other places I stayed in during my visit to Spain. Elevator was big enough to fit 2 people plus giant backpacks. Front desk staff helped us book bus tickets to Barcelona and were extremely helpful with other questions. Felt very safe the whole time. It was a little pricer than I would have liked, but the location was so good that I was ok with it.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anonymoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2012

All in all a 2 star stay. Location is unbeatable 2 mins from the sol, which is a plus as well as a minus. We basically could not sleep the 5 nights we stayed here. Small elevator we could not fit our luggage in it and had to walk it up to the room luckily we were only on the second floor. It was a safe hotel which is needed considering all the craziness that goes on in sol. It was always noisy with performers, drunks and teenagers partying wee hours of the night. Once my husband had to beg a street performer singing at 2 AM right below our bedroom window. The room was small with hardly 1 foot space between the bed and the walls. The bed was the most uncomfortable one we ever slept on lumpy and hard with two thin lumpy pillows and no sheet or comforter. Bathroom was dirty. The 5 days we stayed there the sheets were not changed even though we requested them. There was no iron in the room and when I called the front desk I was told that there is only one iron that is going around the hotel and may not make it to us in the next hour or so. We paid $160 a night for it and it was definitely not worth it. I understand that the area is expensive and you get what you pay for but in retrospect I would have rather have paid twice as much for a better experience. The pictures are deceiving so do not be fooled stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Aimen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
widnes
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2012

We stayed here fpr 4 nights perfectlocation hotel was good value for money spacious room only problem was we were on the first floor did get noisy at night i suggest you ask got a room higher up apart from that we could fault the hotel was easy walking distince for all main attractions.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank sueandstu22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
855 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 267 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2012

Well where to start...






This is in a top location, and if that is all that matters, then book in ..
the staff were nice at the beginning..The rooms...OMG ..the smallest room I have every been in and the bed sloped towards the floor..I nearly rolled out a few times.almost no room to put your luggage. BUT on the good side! We got alittle box of chocolates on the bedside table and a free laptop with WI fi . Great for when there was no english on TV. Also the Bathroom was really quite nice and modern and roomy.
The breaky room upstairs , with an al fresco area, was quite nice and the food good.
Taxi driver had difficulty getting to the hotel as its in a pedestrian area..and We had all sorts of trouble getting picked up at the end of our stay.. Hotel staff not much help here. We ended up having to run for our lives and nearly missed our flight.
Overall, wouldnt stay there again just because of the shocking room ..

Room Tip: run away unless its an overnight stay just for location and you're out partying all night
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank karen m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Centro
Petit Palace Opera
Petit Palace Opera
#139 of 435 in Madrid
909 reviews
Centro
Petit Palace Puerta Del Sol
Centro
Petit Palace Tres Cruces
Petit Palace Tres Cruces
#80 of 435 in Madrid
925 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Petit Palace Plaza del Carmen
Malasana
Petit Palace Triball
Petit Palace Triball
#68 of 435 in Madrid
748 reviews
Centro
Petit Palace Cliper Gran Via
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Petit Palace Preciados? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Petit Palace Preciados

Property: Petit Palace Preciados
Address: Calle de Galdo, 2, 28013 Madrid, Spain (Formerly Petit Palace Londres)
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Centro
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #122 of 435 Hotels in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Petit Palace Preciados 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Petit Palace Preciados! A charming city hotel found in the heart of Madrid City Centre - a truly privileged location right next to the famous Puerta del Sol, Royal Palace and Gran Via. Superbly located in the most commercial area of Madrid, between Preciados and Carmen street, one of the most charming hotels in the area is to be found, the Hotel Petit Palace Londres of three star category. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Petit Palace Preciados reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Petit Palace Londres Madrid
Petit Palace Londres Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing