We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Centrally located, but very lacking”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Eurostars Casa de la Lirica
Ranked #170 of 440 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 25, 2012

I booked a 5 night business stay via our corporate travel system as the hotel is very central. I booked a King Bed suite, B&B rate with 'welcome drink'. Upon arrival I was told that the hotel had overbooked, and I would either have to take a single room (which when inspected was the size of a walk in wardrobe), or move to a partner hotel 15 minutes out of the city, the compensation for which would be - free breakfast for the duration of my stay! After a lengthy stand off and engaging our travel team I eventually agreed to the single room for one night, before moving to my rightful room for the remainder of my stay. I also got my entitled breakfast but no discount for the nights inconvenience. I really would not recommend this place based on my experience. Oh and I never got my Welcome Drink either!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CC_Craig72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (848)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

183 - 189 of 848 reviews

Reviewed September 23, 2012

The location is extremely central.
I was in one of the rooms facing the inside, so no view and slightly dark, but extremely quiet.
Breakfast was good, with a reasonable variety of options.
The room and bathroom were in a good state.
I only had a minor issue with the shower temperature, which couldn't be fixed because I was there during a bank holiday.
It's an average 4* hotel. No particular fantastic surprises, but no bad surprises either.
If you manage to get a reasonable rate, it's definitely worth it.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EmmanuelBologna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

We arrived on a Friday morning and checked into a room which at first seemed to be nice and quiet. Starting at 11 PM on Friday night we had loud noise right below our windows ( singing, yelling, kicking bottles, screaming, etc.) until 6 AM on Saturday morning and the only person who slept was our daughter because she was sleeping on an extra bed in the adjoining sitting area.

On top of the sleepless night, at 7 AM we started to have water leak from the room above into our room. My husband immediately called the front desk and the man from the desk who came up seemed clueless and told us that we had to move rooms. Since there was a patch in the same spot as the leak, this wasn't the first time. My husband also asked about the noise and we were told that there was a disco in back of the hotel which was open from 11 PM-6AM on Friday nights. It did not seem logical for the disco to be open on just Fridays and when we asked whether he was sure it was only on Friday nights he assured us that was so.

The room that we moved to was right under the last room and sure enough on Saturday night starting at 11 PM we had the same noise and didn't sleep again. The next morning( Sunday) my husband was livid and complained to the young woman at reception and again he asked whether that was it or was there noise everynight. She was more honest and said that it was only on Fridays and Saturdays which proved true. She did look frazzled and we thought that we were not the only ones to complain about the noise.

If you need a large room for a family, etc you have to be in one of these larger rooms looking out on Aduana ( bring earplugs). A friend stayed at the hotel and said that her back room was quiet but very small for 2 people.

There was no free WIFI and if you don't want to pay the expensive hotel rates, you have to walk over to a fast food store or something with free WIFI.

Some of the staff is more helpful than others. Generally the women at the front desk were much sharper.

If you are with a family you might want to consider that there are a lot of streetwalkers in the area.
Our friends from Madrid told us that the area is notorious for it and my husband and daughter observed the "action" first hand.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

I recently stayed at this hotel. 2-3 minutes walk from Sol you'd be hard pressed to find anywhere more central. True it is up a sidestreet but if you were to find the 30 second walk from the main street to the hotel in any way threatening (as some earlier reviewers appear to have) you're much better off staying at home & watching Crimewatch. I paid a very reasonable price for an inside room (rather dark as you'd expect) that was just adequate in size for 2 people. Can't comment on breakfast (though there are numerous cafes within a short walk). The varying temperature of the water in the shower, allied with some noisy Spanish school children (par for the course in August in Spain!) were the only negatives.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Patchesonelbows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

We were moved to this hotel as there was a problem with our room at the Ada Palace that we were booked intro. Transfer was prompt by taxi. Check in very efficient. Breakfast was a buffet with plenty of choice. Staff were very helpful with all our questions we asked , hotel in ideal spot for sight seeing and metro stations.would highly recommend this hotel from our 3 night stay in Madrid

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Madrid
1
Reviewed August 3, 2012

Was a nice stay in Madrid, but our first room was so noisy . It was dififult sleep
The problem it's a disco just behind the hotel

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2012

Limited service. No Wi-Fi in room. Breakfast OK - good coffee but some of the fruit was old and dry as though it had been out for days.

Can't comment on location as booked for work so was close to the office.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AJ_5555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Centro
B&B Hotel Puerta del Sol
B&B Hotel Puerta del Sol
#11 of 440 in Madrid
164 reviews
Huertas
Hotel Eurostars Plaza Mayor
Huertas
Catalonia Puerta del Sol
Catalonia Puerta del Sol
#38 of 440 in Madrid
764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Iberostar Las Letras
Iberostar Las Letras
#46 of 440 in Madrid
1,673 reviews
Centro
Petit Palace Plaza del Carmen
Centro
Vincci Capitol Hotel
Vincci Capitol Hotel
#182 of 440 in Madrid
1,548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eurostars Casa de la Lirica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eurostars Casa de la Lirica

Address: Calle Aduana 19, 28013 Madrid, Spain
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Centro , Sol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#121 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
Price Range: $93 - $297 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Eurostars Casa de la Lirica 4*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eurostars Casa de la Lírica is located just 150 m from Puerta del Sol, the largest area of stores and shopping centers of Madrid and situated in the Art Triangle of the city (Prado Museum, Reina Sofia Art Centre and Thyssen Bornemisza Museum)A total of 83 rooms 6 of them Junior Suites equipped with complete bath, shower with hidromassage column,telephone, individual air conditioning, international channels TV, free WiFi, minibar (chargeable) and free safe and room service.Our Charm : Elegance combined with maximum comfort ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Agoda, HostelWorld, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Eurostars Casa de la Lirica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maria Elena Palace Madrid
Hotel Maria Elena Palace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing