We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Decent hotel - with room for improvements ...” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Gran Atlanta

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Gran Atlanta
Ranked #410 of 444 Hotels in Madrid
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Decent hotel - with room for improvements ...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel as it lies within walking distance from Bearnabeu. The hotel was located perfectly for the purpose of our stay and the metro is close by too. The grand entrance is nice, but the rooms definitely needs some sort of upgrade if they want guests to consider this a 4-Star hotel. The tv in our room was outdated, so were the beds and bed sheets. The staff was friendly and helpful. The breakfast menu was somewhat limited if you do not eat pork, but we managed. All in all an OK hotel, but with room for improvements.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank DKLAD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

464 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    103
    165
    110
    68
See reviews for
38
116
71
143
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

We traveled in the first week of Feburary, with weather surprisingly good! We got off at the nearest metro station and to be honest it's a little tricky to find the hotel! Perhaps before you travel; use google maps and print out the route on foot! Luckily we used the maps on my phone and found it just a street away from the metro station.
Lovely grand entrance, and brilliant staff!
Breakfast was yummy-with a small cooked breakfast, fruits breads, juices, cereals and LOADS of pastrys! The churros were tasty :)
There is a Lidl up the road, to get any essentials, and a huge shopping centre at the other end of the street.
Only complaint would be the very thin walls - this wouldnt have been a problem, but we had a very noisy spanish couple next to us!
Would stay again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Faye G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Varese
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

Honestly,i don't understand why this hotel has 4 stars. everything is old, the rooms are horrible, small, full of dust. breakfast is to expensive and not good as it should be (yes it's full of stuff, but not quality). the structure is very outside the centre, ok the metro is near, but if you want to visit the city it's to out of reach (because you can only go one time in the morning and come back in the evening, and staying all day out without the possibility of take a rest is very weary, and it's really a shame don't go out in the night in such a bustling city!)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Madrid hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

If you are going to watch Madrid play its a 10 min stroll away, if you rent a car and drive use the hotel car park, the street parking will earn you a fine of 90 euro so 13 euro a day is the cheaper alternative though a bit steep.
Breakfast is the only meal provided by the hotel and if you like a hot breakfast give it a miss, if your OK with toast and cereal, fruit and cold meats give it a go but don't build up your hopes. the "waiter" has to be the most miserable man i have ever met.Customer service forget it, i think that he deliberately had a sour face to stop you coming in again and getting his room messy as he would have to tidy up after you.
Most o the other peoples bad comments are true, thin walls( you could hear the people next door using the toilet ), no tea coffee in room, but it was clean if dated, there was plenty of hot water for a bath/shower. how it got the stars it has i don't know, it must be on the facilities, phone ,lift, mini bar, A/C etc. Definitely not on the over all hotel. look if you are on a budget, can get it cheap and not staying long it would do but DO NOT go with any expectations you will regret it.

Room Tip: Don't go
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heraklion, Greece
Level Contributor
42 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012

our family of four stayed there for one night fortunatly.i would not like to stay there more than that.it was clean,but everithing is so old and ugly.we stayed in two rooms and we could speak throu the wall.few metro stations are around and pink line going to the airport is near.there are a lot of shops and restoraunts in the area if you need something.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marianao49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

The hotel does have a very old fashioned interior, the room was clean but did not have a fresh climate. Television of bad quality and room very noisy. Breakfast simple, staff during breakfast not friendly. Conclusion is that this hotel is not a four star hotel, maybe one or maximum two stars. We will not come back anymore and not recommend anyone to visit this hotel.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Krisda1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vilnius, Lithuania
Level Contributor
68 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012

+ Good location: very close to metro ¨Alvarado¨, which takes you directly to Paseo del Prado, and close to metro ¨Nuevos Ministerios¨, which goes to Barajas airport. Safe and quiet neighbourhood.

- No way 4-star hotel! An echo of passed glory. Oldfashioned in design and tired furniture, doors. Wi-fi was not working properly the first night.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank w4nd3rluster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madrid hotels
0.0 mi away
Espahotel Plaza Basilica
Espahotel Plaza Basilica
#300 of 444 in Madrid
3.5 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Madrid
Holiday Inn Madrid
#280 of 444 in Madrid
3.5 of 5 bubbles 724 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Infanta Mercedes
Hotel Infanta Mercedes
#286 of 444 in Madrid
3.5 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Senator Castellana Hotel
Senator Castellana Hotel
#259 of 444 in Madrid
3.5 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
0.4 mi away
4C Bravo Murillo
4C Bravo Murillo
#225 of 444 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
0.6 mi away
AC Hotel Aitana
AC Hotel Aitana
#166 of 444 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gran Atlanta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gran Atlanta

Property: Hotel Gran Atlanta
Address: Calle Comandante Zorita 34, 28020 Madrid, Spain
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#188 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Gran Atlanta 4*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel Gran Atlanta, situated in the heart of the business and financial district of Madrid, one of the most charming European capitals, is the ideal place to stay for business trips.The hotel is located at number 34 calle Comandante Zorita.The hotel has a large lobby decorated in a traditional Spanish style. The paintings, tapestries and antiques in the lobby are authentic. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Gran Atlanta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Atlanta Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing